skip navigation
The Party

The Party(1968)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Party - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • J'taime le Party

    • Beckette
    • 9/8/13

    Please air more frequently. The Party is an incredible snapshot in time. Though the movie is resplendent with stereotypes, and Peter Sellers role as an Indian is widely criticized, I love it so. Because there is humanity within the mayhem. What a guilty joy of a movie. Oxoxox to Pter Sellers and TCM for sharing this oh so watchable oddball. A Delight!

  • I Wanna See It Again!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 11/5/12

    Please air "The Party" (1968) with Peter Sellers again soon. With all the bad things going on I'm desperately in need of a good laugh! I also wanna hear that swinging Henry Mancini score, especially the title song!

  • Who played the drunk waiter????

    • Lisa
    • 3/16/12

    ...he was one of the best features of the movie. I disagree that this was Sellers' worst movie. It makes me LOL!

  • The Party

    • joyceandsonny
    • 1/4/11

    Peter Sellers was SOOO Funny in "The Party". I would love to see this one again on TCM

  • What A Swinging Party!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/31/09

    "The Party" has to be one of Peter Sellers funniest films, right up there with "The Pink Panther" and "Dr. Strangelove". Each time I watch it I laugh out loud almost every second. Sellers plays klutzy actor Hrundi V. Bakshi from India who accidentally gets invited to a posh Hollywood dinner party given by the producer of the film he wrecked, and from the moment he arrives he wreaks havoc and hilarity on the guests with his ineptitude. My favorite scenes are the toilet paper disaster in the bathroom, the squab (or whatever it was) flying from Bakshi's plate into the wig of one of the guests, and the house full of soap suds from washing an elephant in the swimming pool. For anyone who hasn't seen a Peter Sellers film (and I can't imagine anyone who hasn't), "The Party", "Dr. Strangelove" and "Pink Panther" are a great introduction to this talented and funny actor.

  • What a (dreadful) Party!

    • ellis
    • 7/16/09

    I normally like Peter Sellers, but this is definitely his worst movie. It's basically a boring series of skits, which wear thin after about twenty minutes. There's no story whatsoever. The drunken waiter shenanigans were awful. Only the British can get away with this kind of tripe, the Americans certainly can't. Peter Sellers (despite being British) is completly wasted in this film. May I recommend his (much better) pictures such as "Dr Strangelove" or "Being There." Or even "The Pink Panther" series or "The Millionairess" (with Sophia Loren).

  • The Funniest Movie Ever?

    • Dale Rogers
    • 7/10/08

    It's hard to believe that alot of people have never heard of this movie. To me it might be the funniest movie ever made. Peter Sellers is great in this pre-Pink Panther movie. It's non-stop laughs from the get go. Do yourself a favour and get the dvd, you will love it.

  • Good Stuff

    • Heino
    • 5/18/08

    Now this is a PARTY that I wish I could have been at. A real good time!

  • A great comedy.

    • Chocolatetiara
    • 4/25/08

    This is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I stumbled on it a while ago, and was unprepared for how totally crazy it was. The bathroom scene is hilarious. If you like Peter Sellers you will love this movie.

  • the party

    • tom
    • 4/25/08

    a very funny movie and watch for the sequence when peter sellers is looking to use the bathroom. Histerical!!!

  • The PARTY

    • Blackhorse
    • 4/23/08

    I've never seen this movie and look forward to catching it tomorrow night.SOunds great , I look forward to it becoming a new favorite.Is it a problem to be addicted to TCM???

  • The Party....

    • jeffrey
    • 2/20/07

    One of my favorite movies ever made. A series of mishaps. Truly a movie made in the 60s - as was I.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.