skip navigation
Moby Dick

Moby Dick(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Moby Dick - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Widescreen - YES!

    • Buford
    • 1/1/14

    This film is widescreen (Academy ratio 1:66:1). If you are looking to buy it in widescreen, it is available in a PAL version on DVD9 disc with audio in English, Polish, and Russian, and about 8 different subtitle languages. The English audio track is a non-standard mono while the Polish and Russian are oddly both in stereo. It appears darker and grainier to me than the NTSC version, with noticeable flicker, but some of that can be rectified by adjusting your t.v. set. You'll likely need a region free dvd player to view it. The hardest part will be finding a copy, but it can be done. I unanimously agree and second the motion that this film deserves the full restoration Blu-Ray treatment with commentary track by someone intimately familiar with the history of the film.

  • Most Faithful Adaptation

    • Antonio Huerta
    • 12/18/13

    This film never fails to impress.

  • Great sea adventure

    • Ron bp
    • 6/23/13

    I loved this movie. The way the crew went along with they're Captains orders and the roughness of the whole sea adventure was just awesome.I thought it was so amusing the way that young black kid was skipping and dancing around Queequeg with his tambourine and every few steps, saying his chant. All of the actors played they're parts so well,not just captain Ahab but how about the whalers in the smaller boats ! They played the hard core whaling men of the open sea and showed little fear of these monsterous whales.Could you imagine how that was ,going out and getting right up to those whales to harpoon them and then in a fight for they're lives, take off with such power, pulling those boats like they were as light as a gulls feather ! I give this movie four and a half stars !

  • Moby Dick

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/19/13

    Where do I start with my admiration? Gregory Peck is amazing in this as most all of his roles. He brought passion and pain to the character that showed his greatness. I have been a fan of Ray Bradbury since I was 10. I loved the colorful supporting cast who smoothly propel this story from the beginning. I congratulate Houston for this masterpiece that has instructed so many filmmakers and audiences. I hope adults will watch and enjoy Moby Dick with their children as my parents and grandparents did with me.

  • best version of moby dick.

    • paul caraccio
    • 11/16/11

    saw it in a theatre at 18, Loved it then,love now. I wish they would release the original movie soundtrack by louis levy and orch. I have it by the moscow symphony orch. No comparison to original. Please,someone, do the right thing. Thank You. P.C.

  • Moby Dick

    • Rudy Pavlic
    • 8/8/11

    Aurora is absolutely correct! I saw Moby Dick in the theater.....it was a wide screen production. I hope somebody out there releases it the way it should be seen. I have it, but on a modified for TV edition. This film should be seen widescreen.

  • better than described

    • Aurora
    • 8/8/10

    This web page claims the original aspect ratio of the film is 1:33 but in fact it is more like 1:66 from what I saw!It aired recently on TCM and I was fortunate to not only view it for the first time [finally] but see that TCM indeed aired a widescreen version. Sadly, the information on TCMs website states it was not widescreen, and neither is it even available on home video in widescreen. That is a shame.The film is great, and well worth seeing for both the fine performances and the great cinematography. But if you have it on DVD you are getting a pan and scan version and may not realize this. I have been wanting to see this film for years but was highly skeptical of the 1:33 aspect ratio when I saw it available on DVD. I am glad I finally did get to see it on TCM because it confirmed my suspicions. Hopefully it will be re-released in it's proper format.

  • Moby Dick (1956)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/16/09

    Gregory Peck gives a fine and sincere performance and this is a plus in this adaptation of the literary classic. I would have expected better, it doesn't quite capture the essence of the novel. All in all though, it's a good story and well produced.

  • Gregory Peck makes a fearsome Ahab

    • Jerome
    • 6/5/07

    This is one of Peck's best performances. He truly brings out the Ahab of Melville's book right from the pages. You can see the madness in him and how it plays off the crew. The special effects were also quite good in this movie.

  • O' Thall Whale!

    • Dan
    • 4/4/07

    One of the greats in cinematic acheivements with John Huston's great Direction. Gregory Peck is powerful with his Shakespearean performance. (O' Thall Whale! I Killeth The!)

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.