skip navigation
Kiss Me Deadly

Kiss Me Deadly(1955)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Kiss Me Deadly Detective Mike Hammer fights... MORE > $20.99 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the Best Noir Thrillers Ever

    • Natacha
    • 8/6/13

    Loved it, beginning with Cloris Leachman running down a road wearing nothing but a rain coat and getting picked up by Ralph Meeker in his cool sports car, to the thrilling ending. Outstanding example of low-budget 50's thriller, with Mickey Spillane's special touch. Love Meeker's character's name: Mike Hammer. Don't miss this one.

  • Ralph Meeker Outstanding

    • Adventure
    • 11/15/12

    Ralph Meeker is outstanding in Robert Aldrich's noir thriller Kiss Me Deadly. I highly recommend this film.

  • Kiss Me Deadly

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/12/12

    A masterful Cold War noir thriller. Meeker is perfect as the brutal "Mike Hammer (What a cool name)," as are Copper, Leachman & Rodgers as the films major "Dames." Director Aldrich makes a quick-paced adaptation of Spillane's trashy novel, filling it with poetry & a strange cavalcade of characters. An all around fantastic piece of film noir with an "explosive" ending. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Wow poppa wow

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 10/11/12

    One of the oddest movies from the 50's and one of the most fun and disturbing. Ralph Meeker is great. The Spillane touch is everywhere in this oddball assortment of crime drama and atomic age parable, with a lot of violence thrown in for good measure. It is sort of a Raymond Chandler story mutated into a nightmare. Goes beyond the Philip Marlowe wallowing in sin and retribution. Everything is even more sordid, morally compromised, and covered with atomic fall-out.I really like the use of the Nat King Cole song and just the whole jazzy feel to the proceedings. Film has strange but mostly effective uses of shadows and sound effects. The ending as most of us know is sort of a compromise that works and does not work.The whole movie reminds me of the line in Fred Astaire's Girl Hunt Ballet where he says "I hate hard!" The movie has an energy that is just this side of being a nightmarish spoof of the old trench coat detective stories. See if you get a chance.

  • Foley

    • C. Renee Henning
    • 11/21/11

    The sound on this movie is just awful. From the very beginning when Christina's breathing goes on and on and on to the coroner screaming when Hammer closes his hand in the drawer. Oh, it's bad. Sound means a great deal in a movie. If it didn't, we wouldn't have awards for best scores.

  • Pure Noir

    • RalpNap
    • 4/3/11

    For my money Ralph Meeker's portrayal of Mike Hammer is by far the best version of this character on film. He is amoral, sadistic and possibly a sociopath with few redeemable qualities aside from loyalty to a small group of friends. Meeker's ability to make us care about this scary private eye is a tribute to his acting talent. Also of note is the performance of Cloris Leachman in the role of the doomed hitchhiker. Aside from the ending which is a bit contrived, this is truly film noir at it's best. A sense of hopelessness and decadence permeates throughout the film and you feel like showering afterwards. Suffice to say you won't be inviting anyone from this film over for brunch.

  • Pura adrenalina

    • Sonia
    • 11/6/10

    Um filme muito bom que deixa um certo ar de mistrio no ar e um dos melhores filmes noir produzidos. No entendi o motivo deste filme no estar em DVD. Um filme que no decepciona quem v.

  • Kiss Me Deadly (1955)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 4/7/09

    This is a great example of how great and powerful a low budget film can be. One of the best film noir films ever, excellent cast, visually impressive and an unforgettable ending. Amazingly tense. Impressive to say the least.

  • Very different, and thoroughly enjoyable!

    • Dave F.
    • 12/12/06

    This picture delivers quite a bit more than one would expect from from the typical "film noir" genre. The B&W photography, use of shadows, shots of indoor & outdoor stairways, has a haunting quality. Characters are well portrayed (all are eccentric in their own ways). The surprising amount of brutality for a 1955 movie, combined with the creepiness of what's in the box, and its release in the final scene, is enough to give this faint hearted viewer nightmares. Enjoy!!

  • Come on this movie swings!

    • W. Pardlow
    • 12/10/06

    A tour de force is what this picture is! Over the top is putting it mildy. But this is Mickey Spillane were talking about here. Subtly isn't what's he's about. And the film is toned down from the book. Alrich's direction moves this picture at a rocket pace. The ending while it is contrived,is definately unforgetable. And Quentin Tarantino borrowed from this picture obviously. Now I have to go back and finish watching it cause its on right now! And later buy a copy.

  • Kiss Me Deadly

    • Hollis
    • 12/9/06

    Contrived, slow paced and poorly acted. No wonder it was so badly received. I won't watch it the next time it's aired.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.