skip navigation
Hang 'Em High

Hang 'Em High(1968)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Hang 'Em High A mysterious drifter survives... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Film Star/Apprentice Film Maker

    • Sean
    • 1/4/14

    Probably a nice paycheck for the burgeoning film star. Although violent, the film maker was probably attracted to the often MIA-due-process theme of the old west.

  • hand 'em high

    • m. benado
    • 11/29/13

    i subscribe to the now playing magazine. i enjoy watching classic films and look forward each month' magazine. while watching hang'em high on november 29th. the film was so distorted and damaged, that you could not hear the sound nor the film for at least half the show. would you show this film again at another time with a disc that is not damaged.?

  • Let 'em Eat Cheesecake!

    • Meredith
    • 11/29/13

    This was an okay movie. They played the theme music way too much - so much so that it became comical, which was a good contrast to the violence. Also, in trying to see the humor in this film, in one scene Eastwood looks like he shoved his face into a cherry cheesecake.

  • hang um high

    • will
    • 4/22/13

    this is my least favorite clint eastwood film. saw it at the old yonge theatre in toronto and was sqwarming in my seat waiting for it to end. it just seemed to go on for ever. a great cast, although i think ben johnson got short changed on his part. the scenes at the cabin( ala doctor shivago) with the wind and flowers AND ENDLESS staring into inger stevens eyes nearly puts you in a coma( yawn).in fact her acting could put you out cold. a serious editing might have saved this otherwise great movie.

  • Hang 'em High

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/13/13

    A fine American Western for Eastwood after the success of his Spaghetti films with Sergio Leone. Eastwood does his usual squintty-eyed, always in the right stuff a victim of a lynch mob who is deputized by Hingle to capture his would-be killers including Begley & Dern. The film takes a strong stand against capital punishment, even at a time as violent as the setting of the film, the rest of the story is OK, but not fantastic. An entertaining & gripping story about satisfactory revenge. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Spaghetti Western's rule

    • Man with no name
    • 3/12/13

    I love the way it took an Italian director to demythologize the old American western and breath a new live into what had become a stodgy predictable genre. I say good riddance to the old Hollywood cowboy code. Sergio Leone would go onto direct the 2 great westerns of all time "Once Upon a Time in the West" and "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. The soundtrack scored for the film is done by the genius composer Ennio Morricone who would go onto to compose some of the most recognizable scores in cinematic history.

  • Wish I Had The Cranberry Concession On This

    • Robert
    • 12/2/12

    This Film is such a TURKEY- that I wish I had had the Cranberry Concessionat the Theater where it Premiered!Useless, Senseless, Violent Trash.The kind of film that so endears itself to theAmerican Public.They should have cut the prints up into guitar picks- as a much wiser use of celluloid!Good Grief!

  • Eastwood at his most ruthless, until Dirty Harry

    • mike
    • 8/23/10

    Jed Cooper,( Clint Eastwood) a former lawman, buys cattle unaware that he bought the herd from a rustler who mudered the rightful owner of the herd. Cooper is accused of the crime by a lynchmob who hangs him, leaving him for dead. A territorial marshal (Ben Johnson) saves him from certain death and takes Cooper before Judge Fenton (Pat Hingle) who clears him of any wrongdoing, and later deputizes Cooper to bring the lynchmob to justice.Cooper, no doubt has revenge on his mind. This is Clint Eastwood at his most ruthless, until he starred in DIRTY HARRY.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.