skip navigation
The Gallant Hours

The Gallant Hours(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Gallant Hours Admiral William F. Halsey... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A really great movie and more..

    • Reid Potter
    • 9/3/13

    As a kid of the 60`s I had the great chance to just sit and hear all kinds of stories about ww2 . Those were told by the men who were there .Some battles were in the air some on the ground or on the sea. I sat and watched the movie once with my great uncle Robert once. He was a fighter pilot in the marine corps at the time. As he watched the movie he would say that's right or it didn't happen just like that but close. What got me the most was when he would say I knew that guy. Only thing is, That guy was dead and his voice would be soft an low. Not the loud and clear voice I was use to hearing. My uncle flew wildcat fighters and later corsairs. His first overseas unit was vmf211. As for me I find myself humming the movie tune sometimes and I think of all the OLD timers I knew growing up and how lucky I was to have known them. This movie is not just about one man but all the men that were in ww2. thanks for your time. Reid potter.. Yamhill Or

  • Outstanding film

    • Mike Stevenson
    • 7/5/12

    A film in glorious black and white about handling crushing responsibilities that seriously affect others' lives, and living with the consequences, good or bad. A low-key yet powerful performance by Cagney, told through him with decency and humanity, competent work by his supporting cast, and excellent work on the sound AND the score. This is the film for someone who is facing some tough decisions in their life, they can gain insight into the process and confidence in the choice(s) they make. It very well covers the conflict faced by commanders who must balance the human cost of their decisions against achieving the desired results. The casualties aren't the only ones who lose, those who call the shots suffer as well. This film shows that circumstance in fine style. It's a tribute to wise counsel from friends and associates as well. I endorse all calls for this film's transfer to DVD, it only seems to be available in VHS format.

  • Gallant Hours

    • Andy Furchak
    • 12/15/11

    This is a great movie that is rarely shown. Needs to be released on DVD and shown on every military anniversary.

  • The Best WW 2 movie.

    • GYSGT Koon USMC Ret
    • 6/15/11

    THE BEST OPENING, THE BEST MIDDLE AND THE BEST ENDING.

  • stirring

    • Warren Halsey
    • 4/25/11

    I am very proud to be able to claim Willim F. Halsey Jr. on the family tree. This movie displays a stirring portrait of a proud man with great honor, integrity, discipline, reponsibility and respect, haunted by the losses of the men whom he truly loved. The word is that he was loved and respected by his men because he cared about them and they knew it (a true leader). Thank the Lord for men like Admiral "Bull" Halsey, who took the fight to a ruthless and powerful enemy. Near the end of the war, Admiral Halsey was in command of the most powerful fleet ever assembled, Third Fleet, that stretched 40 miles by 9 miles while in cruising formation.

  • The Gallant Hours

    • Ed Dempsey
    • 1/20/11

    Like "Command Decision", this picture shows the stress of wartime decision making and the consequences of the plans it produces. Cagney is at his best and the supporting cast is fantastic. I only wish there was a soundtrack that includfed that sea chanty at the opening. Note that not one minute of combat footage appears. It is all about a life of dedication and service in which any single decision can cost many lives.

  • The Gallant Hours

    • Paul
    • 10/25/10

    This is one of my all-time favorite movies. Cagney's portrayal is mesmerizing and the tale is all too true. Camera angles, lighting, cast, attention to detail, sets, and all of it come together to make a powerful film about leadership, sacrifice, and heroism. Wisdom shines through the dialog and results in a script full of quotable, thought provoking insights. Somebody needs to release this film on DVD and take the effort to really clean up and enhance the brilliant, unique music for a top grade release!

  • The Gallant Hours

    • Ken H.
    • 5/2/10

    My father was in the Navy during World War II, he liked this film because it gave a more accurate picture of the decisions the commanders were faced with. It also showed the results of those decisions. If this movie was shown more often and at times it could be seen by a wider viewing public (not only between midnight and 5AM) you might develop a market for the DVD. I think the story this movie tells was important to Cagney, he did help produce it.

  • The Gallant Hours

    • BigT
    • 5/1/10

    Excellent movie! Once again, Cagney at his best. This film should be available on DVD! On Memorial Day and Veterans Daymilitary movie marathons, you never see this movie shown...why not? It should be one of the first shown on both of these days.

  • Heritage

    • Glade Walter
    • 9/19/08

    Why, in the midst of all that is happening in the world, would you not put on CD, the few historical documentaries the portray the grit and determination of the greatest generation?? Those people were our forefathers and they asked no quarter andgave none.

  • GALLANT PERFOMANCE

    • martyr
    • 7/14/08

    Cagney is just wonderful in this lovingly crafted tribute. His understated performance is pitch-perfect, rendering a quiet, thoughtful image of "Bull" Halsey that endures. There is a memorable scene wherein Cagney, with no dialog or mannerisms, captures with stunning effect the inner torment Halsey suffers. The darkening of his expression is riveting. He is suddenly and momentarily the unpredictable, unsettingly Cagney last seen in "White Heat". The film is that rare war picture with almost no battle scenes. It offers the perspective of those who make the decisions that risk lives and save them, often with the same order.

  • One of the few movies that I remember.

    • Harold Sugden
    • 6/15/08

    Most of the content is a conversation between a Fleet Admiral and his steward. The use of background sound is the best that I can recall. James Cagney is at his best, guided by a director (Robert Montgomery) who was a naval combat officer - with Cagney, they made this motion picture work.(The ratings need a catagory for sound - not just the score.)

  • Please if anyone recorded this please contact me

    • Dave B
    • 2/17/08

    please contact me if you can make me a copy of the movie The Gallant HoursI am trying to buy a copy at a reasonable price and they dodn't exist unless someone has it on DVR...Please my friend is a Captain in the Navy and never saw it!email me at dave7b11@yahoo.complease and thanks!

  • ONE OF THE BEST

    • RAY HILL
    • 2/3/08

    THIS TO ME IS ONE OF MR CAGNEY'S GREATEST FILMS

  • SUPER GREAT MOVIE

    • Mike
    • 2/2/08

    I was fortunate enought to put this movie on my DVR. Since it's airing I've probably watched it 4 / 5 times and still will continue to watch it.I certainly wish the producers of today would make films like this one.I'm now trying to find the book.Mike

  • Patriotic Film

    • William Henderson
    • 1/28/08

    I love military history. This is one of the finest produced.

  • THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE

    • Larry
    • 1/26/08

    The film is more about leadership than warfare.

  • Blood and tears in the Solomons

    • Mike R.
    • 1/24/08

    Great performance by Cagney and supporting actors. The USA came so close to losing "The Good War". Marines and Navy paid the price of victory in the Solomons with their blood; the survivors with their tears.

  • THE GALLANT HOURS

    • craig
    • 1/9/08

    Wish we had naval leaders like halsey now. Cagney always plays characters so real you feel they are him.

  • Excellent WWII B/W picture

    • Ron Chavez
    • 10/11/07

    I wish TMC would show this great James Cagney movie. This wonderful b/w kinda of sorta documentary/movie about Adm. William Halsey was beautifully done.I would really enjoy seeing this movie again. The last time I saw it on tv was 1978 on PBS, Ron

  • One of the best Navy WWII war movies

    • Gene Piatek
    • 5/3/07

    This is one of James Cagney's finest performances and the music by Roger Wagner Chorale is hauntingly beautiful.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.