skip navigation
The Black Stallion

The Black Stallion(1979)

  • Saturday, December 27 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Black Stallion A boy and a horse forge a... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • to better educate many of you

    • minnie fleur
    • 10/26/14

    So many viewers & commentators desperately need to learn why this film is the Gold Standard of filmmaking. The entire film is actually an opera, not just the 1st half, from ship to rowboat. Many viewers seem to lack adequate education in arts & culture. This film is groundbreaking because the 2nd half continues the opera, set in middle-class-town USA, not Europe. Please view the film w/this theme in mind. Try to rescue your IQ score from the infestation of 21st century popular-trash-culture.

  • a gold medal of filmmaking!

    • minnie fleur
    • 10/25/14

    Cinema beauty, & 5 star acting by all! Mr. Rooney is such a strong presence on film, that the music that plays over some of his speech, doesn't take anything away from his effort in that scene. Young Kelly Reno has true natural talent, so it's fitting for him to be next to Mr. Rooney. The coastal scene is an opera about the potential for freedom & strength of youth, & our connection to nature & need for love. The haunting music completes the enchantment.

  • Gorgeous horses!

    • RedRain
    • 10/18/14

    I'm a horse person and I'm from Texas so this film is very personal to me. The star of the film is the black stallion named, in real life, Cass-Ole. He was an Arabian and his color is quite rare. He did have a white star on his forehead and white ankles but they were dyed black for the film. Having been bred (in Texas!) as a show horse, and having won many national titles, he was very valuable and his owners wouldn't allow him to be in any scenes requiring running or swimming. So...the horses you see in the races were actually one of three bays hired for the film. It's also interesting to note that Kelly Reno, the 13 year old who raced the horses in this film, was hired precisely because he could not only race a horse but also do so with his hands outstretched as in the film. The cinematography in this film is some of the best out there in equine films. It's beautiful to watch. The film story itself is improbable but, rather than nitpick, just enjoy it for what it is. This is a great family film and those are rare these days!

  • My all time favorite

    • Susan
    • 9/10/14

    I loved this movie when I saw it in 1979. Yes, it was a little slow or implausible at times, but many scenes were breathtaking in their beauty and the horse and boy moments were magical. I long to see it again on the big screen someday. My TV just can't do it justice. And I want my children and grandchildren to see it on the big screen.

  • I can't be the only one disappointed in this film!

    • Lola Owens
    • 9/4/12

    Am I a scrooge? With FM's intro I was an eagerly anticipating Senior Citizen waiting to be charmed, edified, etc.Granted the scenery was beautiful, the horse spectacular, but really!!!! Did I miss how the life jacket fell off the boy, but he managed to hold onto the penknife? How he never got sunburned? Where was the hidden bottomless pool of fresh water that kept both the boy and horse so hydrated? And where, on that apparently barren scrubby brush island, was there enough feed to keep that horse constantly at a gallop for months on end?And what hidden berries and nutritional plants kept that boy so fit? We haven't a clue.-And then found by Spanish speaking sailors, and then going home to a town that apperently had heard nothing of the loss, then magical rescue of boy and horse. I could go on. -I did love Mickey Rooney AND the horse, but the pretentious, overly ponderous and self-important musical score got on my elderly nerves eventually, and after the ridiculous early morning scene at the track, I just had to give up on this misbegotten adventure. It will never replace National Velvet, or in my mind, that very good effort by Tatum ONeal. (I'm old, so I can't remember the title as the movie took place too recently, to be in my long term memory).

  • classic horse movie

    • w.martin
    • 5/26/11

    excellent, need more movies like that in this day and age!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • This Movie Never Gets Old

    • Craig
    • 5/24/11

    I watch it every time it comes on TCM, I have it on video cassette and I'm going to buy the DVD. Everything that there is to say about this film has already been said. Remarkable performances by Kelly Reno, Mickey Rooney (I can't think of a single performance of his that I didn't like) and Teri Garr. The scenery and locations, sound, the score, the whole production is top-notch. Some movies you can watch over and over anytime...and for me, this is one of those.

  • The Black Stallion

    • susan seabury
    • 12/23/10

    I just watched this movie and it was a beautiful movie!!!! Iam going to buy the dvd right now!!!!

  • Mythical Wonder

    • Kevin Jones
    • 10/20/10

    I felt compelled to watch this alone. It is a movie you want to savor. The story line is implausible at times, but that only enhances the mythical quality of the beautiful tale. I found myself welcoming the gaps in the story and the moments of disbelief because they forced me to take an even bigger leap of faith in the story. The script reads more like a lyrical than a narrative poem. It feels impressionistic not representational. This movie involved me more actively as a participant than any in recent memory.

  • A Wonderful And Visually Stunning Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 10/20/10

    I have seen "The Black Stallion" several times, and I watched it again on TCM Monday 10/18/10 as part of their month long Critic's Choice Festival. It's an excellent story of a young boy's love for a wild black stallion that he tames and eventually trains as race horse. The performances in the two main roles are wonderful-young Kelly Reno as Alec, and Mickey Rooney as Henry, the retired horse trainer. Together they work to train The Black to be the world's fastest race horse, and Henry also trains Alec how to ride, with Alec riding the Black to victory in a match race against two other horses. "The Black Stallion" is very similar to the classic "National Velvet", another great film about a young girl, Velvet (Elizabeth Taylor) who has a great love for her horse the Pie, trains it with the help of Mi (Mickey Rooney), and rides it in England's Grand National Race. The photography in "The Black Stallion" is visually stunning and received an Oscar nomination, as did Mickey Rooney for Best Supporting Actor in his role of Henry. Kelly Reno also deserved a nomination, although I don't think he got one. Excellent film - four stars.

  • Thanks to TCM for airing this

    • gioconda
    • 10/19/10

    I went to film school for 4 years, and never saw this film.It's been allowed to slip through the cracks. TCM's month of having guest film critics screen some of their favorite films has yielded some wonderful surprises. This was the pick of Joe Morgenstern of the Wall Street Journal, & kudos to him.I'd never seen "Black Stallion." The cinematograhy is breathtaking. Worth taking a a look for this reason alone. Kelly Reno only made one movie following this amazing perormance due to a serious car accident. What a shame, because he had real talent & such a great rapport with this gorgeous horse. The story line is pretty unreal, but hey, it's a movie. The scenes on the deserted island are like a dream. All children will love this film. Also can't wait to take it to show my 88 year old mother & her monthly film club group. I know the elderly folks will love it, too. It's truly a film for all ages.

  • Love This Movie

    • Craig
    • 10/18/10

    What's not to like about "The Black Stallion"? A boy, a great horse, the scenery on the island, the music, the relationships between Alec and The Black, Alec and Henry...the racing sequences. All around just a remarkable story well told. A dogs is man's best friend, but where would man be if it weren't for the horse?

  • Delightful film!

    • Laura DeRosa
    • 10/1/07

    This was a delightful film to watch with that wonderful horse and little boy. The music was very touching and beautiful, you just want to hear it over and over. It's an inspirational film as well knowing there isn't anything you can't do in life and to just believe in yourself.Naturally, this film brings to one's attention that, yes, there is an animal world that needs just as much love as we all do. This is one for my library collection for sure.

  • black stallion....great movie

    • jim
    • 5/2/07

    this is another movie that should be on dvd and shown on turner....great acting but mickey rooney, and kelly reno, ...a heart warming movie...

  • Exceptional

    • Donna Menelle
    • 5/1/07

    Please release this beautiful, inspiring movie for purchase on DVD. Todays children need more inspirational films with gorgeous cineamatography from the good old days!

  • Amazing

    • Rich
    • 5/1/07

    What an amazing movie of this boy and the Black Stallion. How we need cineamatography like this that is so engaging and inspiring. Like "Dances with Wolves" it drew me into the story in a way that made me at times forget that I was watching a movie at all.

  • GREAT!!!!!

    • Jan
    • 2/7/07

    The photography is phenomenal. The whole movie was just awesome. The little boy is a "natural". We would really love to have a DVD available so we could show our 11 grandchildren. Thank you for showing it for us to enjoy.

  • Horse Lovers Or Not, Do Not Miss This!!

    • Ginny J
    • 1/27/07

    The Black Stalion is one of the best movies (story, location, scenes) I have ever seen! You will revel in the scenery as the stalion first saves a boy's life, then takes the boy through the waters, along the beaches,and into its heart. And the boy is forever captured emotionally by this lovely, statuesque figure! See how Mickey Rooney picks up his life from where he left it many years ago, as a result of meeting the boy! You will not be sorry that you took the time to seehow this story plays out! And you'll be left with such a warm feeling at the end that you'll never want it to leave!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.