skip navigation
The Window

The Window(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Window A boy who always lies... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Excellent Noir

    • Natacha
    • 3/10/14

    Caught this by accident while channel surfing during a commercial, and watched it instead of the news because it was that good. Some of the acting was a little over the top, but Bobby Driscoll. who played the small boy, was wonderful. Worth watching just for the cultural differences between 1949 and today. I doubt that the police and parents of a child would be as dismissive today as they were in 1949 when a child swears he witnessed a murder, even if he previously fibbed about some things. I'm also pretty sure the police today wouldn't go to someone's home under the pretense of being a contractor, to gain entry to investigate whether there is physical evidence of a murder. I know people today wouldn't leave a small boy home alone, nor lock them in their bedroom after nailing shut the windows so they couldn't leave. Also, they don't exactly show what the bad guys did to render Tommy semi-conscious, which I'm sure would have violated the Code in 1949. Today, they'd show something graphic probably to the point of being sickening. Also, I don't think the police today would just let some adults take a child away in a car without doing some checking. Also, I don't think a mother today would insist on leaving her small son home alone while she went to help an ailing sister, especially knowing he was frightened and believed the neighbors might hurt him and when begs her to go along. Barbara Hale (Della Street of "Perry Mason") plays the mother. The story is still intriguing and this film is worth seeing.

  • Caught "The Window" and I'm glad I did....

    • Troy Leong
    • 3/29/13

    I caught this movie on TCM one night a month or so ago and now it's one of my favorites. I love noir....and this film has it. I read that the movie was done on a shoestring budget....if it was it sure didn't look like it. I do enjoy watching movies that features New York City...in the olden days. You get to see what that fantastic city looked like. The way it was filmed was very gritty.....and also made the movie quite atmospheric. The little kid Bobby Driscoll was an AWESOME actor...from the middle til the end....I was on the edge of my seat. If you ever see this is going to be on tv....watch it....you'll be glad you did!!!!!!!!

  • The Window- Worth Watching

    • AudreyZ37
    • 2/15/13

    I didn't expect this movie to be great but gave it a chance.It was suspenseful and engaging. I love a mystery. Good movie !

  • The Window (1949)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/23/10

    This is a great example of what you can do on a shoestring budget. Bobby Driscoll is very effective as a boy, known for telling tall tales, witnesses a murder. No one of course believes his story now. Terrific cast, impressive atmosphere and Ted Tetzlaff's direction is taut and precise. The story evolves beautifully and it is short and fast moving. Very convincingly done and suspenseful.

  • The Window

    • Robert Padden
    • 2/20/10

    This movie is one of my favorite picks. I usually watch it again and again.

  • Great Movie

    • Ed H
    • 9/17/09

    I remember seeing this movie in 1970 at my school. It was very suspenseful and shrieked when the killer was after him. Please release on DVD I will enjoy it again.

  • I WAS THERE WHEN THIS MOVIE WAS MADE

    • john hernandez
    • 9/2/09

    IT FUNNY HOW THE BOY WENT FROM 105 ST. TO 103 ST. FROM ONE ROOF TO ANOTHER.

  • A good mystery suspense

    • Linda J
    • 8/17/09

    I remember this film from so many years ago. My husband and I enjoy suspense movies such as this one. Please release it on DVD.Many thanks for the opportunity to voice my opinion.

  • An Excellent Suspense Film

    • ERD
    • 8/13/09

    Using the boy that cried wolf theme, THE WINDOW(1949),RKO films,is an excellent suspense film. Juvenile actor,Bobby Driscoll, gives a realistic performance, as does the entire cast. Well directed. The script is well written, although there are a few times at the beginning when it drags.

  • THE WINDOW

    • sally
    • 7/20/08

    Bobby Driscoll's movies should be released on DVD.

  • HAD TO GO TO WORK....AND MISSED THE BEST PART!!!!

    • BETH CONFER
    • 2/12/08

    Please put the movie on one more time...I had to go to work and missed the ending.it was great!!

  • ALWAYS LOVED IT!!

    • Joe Andolina
    • 11/12/07

    What is it with certain movies very rarely being seen or never released on video or DVD. Especially if it is as good as "The Window"!!! I used to watch it everytime it came on TV back in the '60's, and made sure to record it onto VHS back when. My rergret is not recording it at the SP speed for quality. Would love to own a remastered DVD or even VHS. There are classics, then there are CLASSICS. The Window is a classic film in the truest sence. It still holds up well over the years. Please TCM, do not deprive others of seeing this film, put it on your list to be shown more than once or twice!!!

  • Bring the Window back

    • Vickie Dawley
    • 10/1/06

    This is a great movie with much suspense. Please show it soon and not in the middle of the night where no one can see it. It is worthy.

  • The Window

    • Joe Fritz
    • 8/1/06

    I have fond memories as a child watching this movie, I remember being riveted to the edge of my seat as Tommy is chased throughout the film. When can we see it again?

  • "THE WINDOW" Deserves Open Viewing

    • Gary D. Warner
    • 3/13/06

    It's a wonder as to why this outstanding classic seems to be hidden from view in recent years. The absorbing, suspenseful story boasts excellent performances by a splendid cast featuring Barbara Hale of Perry Mason fame; and Bobby Driscoll's reputation precedes him as one of the finest ever child actors.The plot is a creative twist on the concept of "The Little Boy Who Cried Wolf." Tommy Woodry is a lad known for telling tall tales. His lack of credibility bedevils him after he secretly witnesses a murder.Most worthy fare for TCM programming and video release!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.