skip navigation
A Rage To Live

A Rage To Live(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Rage To Live A woman's insatiable sex... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A rage to live...

    • el debbo
    • 7/26/14

    "Wise wretch! You purchase pain with all that joy can give, and die of nothing but a rage to live." - Alexander PopeWonderful sixties movie: sets, clothes, and compelling storyline. Suzanne Pleshette is perfection in this role, a tale of temptation and consequences. Peter Graves has never looked more golden; more perfection. 5 stars.

  • Need it on DVD

    • Daniel
    • 10/4/09

    Me and my Fiance love this movie would really love for it to be on dvd. and aired on tv again many more times

  • An Old Time Great!

    • Bobbie Luckett
    • 10/15/08

    Aside from Ms. Pleshette being one of my favorite actresses, this movie is one of her most profound acting roles. This is a movie that can be appreciated from now until eternity. Since her passing I've been searching for this title even on VHS. I've had no luck but I know that it was never released. Please do all of her fans and Ms. Pleshette a great favor by releasing this film on home video! I would be well worth your efforts. Thank you.

  • WOW-A wild movie for the Time.

    • Nancy
    • 3/11/08

    I just happened to catch this movie last Saturday on TCM. I decided to watch since Ms. Pleshette has recently passed away. Being a great fan of hers, this title caught my interest. From the first scene I was mezmerized. Great acting and what a taboo subject for 1965! It made Peyton Place look like a Girl Scout Camp. PLEASE SHOW IT AGAIN. I've told all my friends and they want to see it too!

  • An excellent movie

    • mj
    • 3/11/08

    This is a must see movie for singles and married people. would love to have it in my library.

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • jackie
    • 3/8/08

    This is a great movie drama. Please show it again soon so that I can see the entire movie.

  • WONDERFUL MOVIE I WISH I COULD OWN

    • Ellen
    • 3/8/08

    PLEASE run this movie again........I wasn't able to catch the whole movie, but I absolutely love Suzanne Pleshette and the whole story...........

  • The great John O'Hara

    • Victoria
    • 3/8/08

    Every movie or TV show based on the work of the great John O'Hara should be available on DVD. This movie also reminds us of the beauty of the late Suzanne Pleshette. Although the movie moves the story to a more modern time than the novel, it still has impact. This is not a 'Douglas Sirk-esque' melodrama as some reviewers say. It is the story of a woman who is the victim of the sexual double-standard and the sexual jealousy of men. If you enjoyed this movie, read the novel. You'll love it.

  • It's About Time

    • Karen Morris
    • 3/8/08

    For years I've been asking that you put "Rage to Live" on TCM. Last night to my surprise, it was finally broadcast. THANK YOU!! Suzanne Pleshette was and still is one of my favorite dramatic actresses (even way before she was loved for her role as Emily Hartley on "The Bob Newhart Show"). "Rage to Live" thoroughy exposed Suzanne's acting ability and style that she kept me glued to the movie. Please bring this movie back again as a regular broadcast favorite. I'm getting tired of the same old, same old. . .this was refreshing!!

  • "A Rage to Live" Please put on DVD.

    • valerie
    • 3/7/08

    I'm always watching TCM. When i awoke from my afternoon nap, i open my eyes to the TV screen to A Rage to Live. The whole rest of my evening was glued to the set hoping that it will show again. I love that movie. I'm a huge fan of Suzanne Pleshette. Please, Please, make it available on VHS or DVD. Thank you so much for the showing. And please show it more often.

  • 'A Rage to Live' Ahead of its Time

    • Victoria
    • 1/29/08

    'A Rage to Live' portrays a woman as a real human being with the possibility of living her true nature as men are allowed to do. The John O'Hara novel upon which it is based is even more avant-garde as it is set much earlier in time. Some feel that O'Hara was misogynistic and portrayed Grace Caldwell Tate as an undesirable woman. I don't see it that way even if he meant it that way. She wanted to live life even though she was a woman. The lurid ads for the movie buy into the idea that women are either madonnas or ****s. Grace was neither. Please show this movie more often. Now that the star Suzanne Pleshette has died, we need to see her even more.

  • ''A RAGE TO LIVE ''1965 NEEDS TO BE ON DVD.

    • carmine finamore
    • 7/29/07

    Thank you for your showing of A RAGE TO LIVE and in Widescreen . That was great.Please show it more offen. A Dvd releasewould be even better.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.