skip navigation
Phaedra

Phaedra(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Phaedra A tycoon''s restless... MORE > $11.45 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Much thanks to Kinross!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 10/14/17

    Kinross, thank you for telling us how to get that one-of-a-kind soundtrack.

  • I've loved this movie for years.

    • Jeff
    • 10/14/17

    Saw it by chance (by accident) on a local PBS station in the 80's. Everything about it is incredible. Screenplay, actors, acting, music, scenery, set design, costumes, cinematography....it all works. Jules Dassin was a genius. To those back then and some still...that say Perkins was no match for Mercouri.....JUST LOOK...she's beautiful, he's beautiful....he's playing her stepson, a college age virgin. His acting, their acting, their love scene....it all works. Thanks, TCM, for continuing to run Phaedra every once in a while. And a big thanks for adding CC to this evening's screening..! I think that's a recent addition...maybe even a first for tonight. I cannot understand why Criterion doesn't add this beauty to their collection, but thank you TCM for tonight's screening. (And for the great still of Perkins from Phaedra for the cover of your monthly program guide.)

  • Wish Came True!!

    • Courtney
    • 10/14/11

    To all the fans of this movie, it is now on DVD finally!!! Through www.moviesunlimited.com. Just type in the name of the movie and it will come up ready to be ordered. I got my on yesterday and I can not wait to get home to see it!!!!!! One of my favorites.

  • Phaedra

    • Babe Trodick
    • 7/30/10

    In 1962 when I saw Phaedra, I was a premed sophmore at Washington University in St. Louis. On seeing this film, possibly I assumed the young Perkin's role, such that when it concluded, I had to look up the meaning of the word "Catharsis". To this day no word better describes my emotional involvment with this film. And no other film since Phaedra has offered that emotional experience. Now as I have wished to revisit that emotional venue of 48 years ago..... it's truly a Greek tragedy that we can't experience Phaedra again, if only to help gauge how our hearts have managed all these years in sacred relationships outside ourselves........ Babe (born 1942)

  • the ultimate . . .

    • jeann parker
    • 2/18/10

    in 1962 this movie was forbidden to high schoolers by our parents, but we found a way to see it and share the beauty of this love story -- our soundtrack was NOT passed around like our other LPs but guarded and treasured -- i love finding other fans of this ultimate and timeless Greek tragedy. would someone with the ability to finally put this movie on DVD please do the world a favor and do so! for all of us lucky enough to have seen this movie, i know we can close our eyes and see the love scene before the fireplace -- oh!

  • All-time Favorite Movie

    • Lou
    • 2/4/10

    Exquisite - this movie is simply exquisite. Each frame is a visual feast; the music sweeps you away; the acting is riveting. Why has Phaedra disappeared for so many years? Would the current owner please, please release it in digital format. There are a couple of generations that need to be introduced to this true classic and another couple of generations that would love to be captured by Phaedra again.

  • Phaedra,Greatest Love Story Ever

    • Betty Florence
    • 10/28/09

    Oh how I wish you would put this on DVD. Never have I seen a movie like it. The music and the modern day Greek tragedy was powerful. The younger generation should be introduced to this classic. I can't imagine anyone not liking this tremendous film. I saw while in college and have never been able to buy this movie, nor have I ever been able to forget it!!

  • Where is PHAEDRA?

    • Robert Heylmun
    • 4/6/09

    We see other films in which Anthony Perkins has starred and still others with Melina Mercouri but not Phaedra. I can't imagine why not. During the 60s it was nearly a cult classic and like another writer here, I bought the LP and played it to death. I hope that the film will soon be either shown on TMC or be available on DVD.

  • Phaedra soundtrack on CD

    • Kinross
    • 12/19/08

    For those interested, the soundtrackof Phaedra is available on CD. Go tohttp://www.fmrecords.net, or info@fmrecords.net. This soundtrackis part of a series entitled "Music ofMikis Theodorakis". I have loved thismovie and soundtrack since the moviecame out. Is there anything better thanMelina's first line in the movie: "It'sperfect", said in that wonderful lowgrowl of a voice.

  • At last! After all these years...

    • Nina
    • 12/18/08

    I went mad for this movie as a college student in the 60s. Saw it several times and even bought the album, which I played until it could be played no more. If you have worries on your mind, then sit back and let Melina Mercouri do it all for you and take you completely away from yourself. What a performance! What grand passion! Truly worthy of classical Greek theatre. She is magnificent and so is Tony Perkins and Raf Vallone. I DVRd this off TCM today and it will stay as a permanent recording, until the DVD comes out, and I hope that's soon.

  • Wonderful acting, and well directed. Bravo!!!

    • Gina
    • 12/18/08

    I have never seen this movie before, but hope it is released on DVD soon. The music was superb, and the love scene by the fireplace was very believable between an older woman and a younger man. Outstanding lighting, and very well directed. The castng was great. Mellina Mercouri was stunning as Phaedra, and Anthony Perkins was perfect as Alexis the young son.

  • Beautiful love story - passionate scenes.

    • Lady Nancee
    • 9/15/08

    I saw Phaedra when it was first introduced. One of my high school teachers asked me to accompany her and her husband since I was studying Greek methology... til this day, I think about the beautiful scene by the fireplace and agree.. this is so sensual that once you see the movie... it will remain in your memory...When oh when will it come out on dvd.....

  • It's a tragedy, woman loves stepson!

    • Harbnjr
    • 8/25/08

    Mercouri & her husband, Dassin, present a modern film adaptation of Greek Tragedy. She's fantastic, music's marvelous, and the love scene by the fireplace is among the most sensual ever in the movies epitomizing passionate, sexy, romantic, love . . . and it's raining. Solid supporting cast + great B&W cinematography.

  • Phaedra is a fantastic movie!

    • Kathy Carrington
    • 2/24/08

    I have only seen Phaedra once and would love to be able to see it over an over again. Please put it on DVD so we can can enjoy the beauty of the film again. It is a powerful love story and should be shared, not hidden away in a storage vault! The scene by the fire is magnificent, far better than many more explicit scenes that are filmed today. And the music, oh the music. Put it on DVD, PLEASE!

  • High Class Acting

    • DANGR
    • 7/1/07

    Mr Perkins is believable / the sex by the fire is powerful / the music is powerful / Ms Mercuri is hypnotizing. Hope this movie is released on DVD

  • Phaedra--would love to see this movie again.

    • Dell Sweatt
    • 4/24/07

    I saw this movie in the theatre when I was 19 and was so taken with it that I went back to watch it every day until it left. Over the years I've checked many times to see it was available to buy--or even to rent it with no success. I love not only the story and the acting, but the music is wonderful, too. I've never understood why it is not available to purchase. Surely hope that will change soon.

  • The most powerful love scene every filmed

    • Samantha
    • 4/21/06

    This is a remarkable film.. Photograpy , acting, soundtrack, lighting, all combine to create a powerful romantic tragedy. This film contains one of the most beautiful love scenes ever filmed. Perkins and Mercouri were phenomenal. The public dewerves to see this film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.