skip navigation
The Swan

The Swan(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Swan On the eve of her marriage to... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Swan Princess

    • ShegotGrace
    • 5/12/13

    Watch this and all I can picture is the great Eva LaGalliene and Basil Rathbone as the tutor and his princess

  • "You see, I want to be a queen"

    • Dan O'C
    • 6/19/12

    It's very poignant and bittersweet to view "Thw Swan" almost 30 years after the untimely death of Princess Grace. In this, her next to last film in her role of a winsome young princess in love for the first time, it's almost a dress rehearsal for her life's role. She's exquisite, with a delicate touch and vulnerability in this fragile fairy tale. During it's filming she was secretly corresponding with Prince Rainier , and her own life was mirroring her character's, Princess Alexandra who has a difficult decision to make. Grace Kelly is perfectly cast, no one but Audrey Hepburn and she could play royalty so beautifully and believably, they are both sorely missed and truly irrreplaceble The rest of the cast in uniformly excellent expecially Louis Jourdan's darkly handsome, lovesick tutor, Alec Guiness' insufferably smug Prince Albert, Agnes Moorehead as his imperious mother the Queen, and finally the wondeful Jesse Royce Landis playing Grace Kelly's mother a second memorable time. This is a handsomely produced, lovely to look at, wryly sentimental romantic comedy. Try it, it's worth a viewing, especially if you're an ardent Grace Kelly fan as I am.

  • The Swan

    • brian haggerty
    • 12/2/09

    I found it absolutely charming. Grace Kelly was wonderful, much better than her Oscar winning The Country Girl, which was a good performance, but not great. Louis Jordan was incredibly charming and so perfect, a shame his career did not "take off" the way it should have. Supporting cast is a delight and Alec Guinness is showing us what is going to happen with River Kwai coming in the near future. The story is very timely and shows us what happens when these "Royal" marriages happen (and we have seen this in our era, sadly). And sadder to make any connections with its lead actress and her own persoanl life. I'd go for it if you like a classy film. It is not for everyone, but you decide. It's worth it.

  • Charming Tale of a Beautiful If Clumsy Princess

    • Janet
    • 10/3/09

    For those of us who enjoy witty, literate films, The Swan is a delightful confection. Performances are uniformly wonderful, as are all other aspects, including direction, costuming, set design, and musical score. This film needs to be released on DVD, preferably with some "whistles and bells" that include the film's trailer (available on this site), information about Molnar, and of course the significance of the film in terms of Grace Kelly's subsequent marriage.

  • Boring

    • cats
    • 8/3/09

    This movie was a bore. Grace Kelly walked blankfaced, wan and bland through the whole affair. But, with few exceptions, that was her typical "acting" style. I must say, however, the rest of the cast, was delightful. If only there had been a vibrant, beautiful leading lady.

  • Please relese a home video

    • Eleanro brown
    • 6/13/09

    One of the more meaningfull movies - with outstanding performances and cast -needs to air on Tcm as no other network has -

  • It is a different movie!

    • Keturah
    • 3/9/09

    It's different because it doesn't end in the normal fairy tale fashion with everyone living happily ever after. I love the comedy of this film. Alec Guinness does a wonderful job portraying the indifferent Prince Albert. We used to rent it on VHS at our local video store quite often. Now I can't rent it anywhere. I would love to see it again. It has been years.

  • The Swan (eye candy to me)

    • debbie
    • 1/26/08

    i only caught a portion of this movie about a year ago. i have been longing ever since to see it again. my daughter in law tried to buy it for me at christmas, but sadly it is not available. it is so beautifully done, i was mesmerized. i pray i will some day get my hands on it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.