skip navigation
Kiss Me, Stupid

Kiss Me, Stupid(1964)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Kiss Me, Stupid - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • something not quite right.....

    • dennis
    • 9/20/14

    a strange and unpleasant sense of vulgarity pervades this film from start to finish.....not in a stylish or hip way but just in an unseemly and naggingly distasteful way....all the major players are trying much too hard to make something out of a terrible script and the direction is equally awful. Kim Novaks' nadir. avoid.

  • Scraping the bottom of Wilder's great career

    • Tammy T
    • 9/17/13

    I remember the scandal this movie was when it first came out. How times have changed. It's hard to reconcile this school boy dirt joke with the sophisticated Wilder movies of the previous decades. The movie tries so hard to shock and seem hip but only ends looking dated and silly.It's a shame that Ray Walston seems to take the brunt of the blame, because of the imagined great performance that Peter Sellers would have given. I think he does a yeoman's job with a ridiculous part. The failure of this movie begins and ends with the screenplay and direction.

  • Kim Novak and Billy Wilder

    • David Atkins
    • 8/14/11

    Billy Wilder who is my bet for the greatest Film Director of all time with a brilliant body of work: Sunset Blvd,Some Like It Hot, The Apartment, Double Indemnity and little seen gem Fedora had a brilliant track record and Kiss Me Stupid was eagerly anticipated. Wilder was known to cast his pictures well with stars such as James Cagney, Barbara Stanwyck, William Holden, Jean Arthur, Humphrey Bogart, Shirley MacLaine, Jack Lemmon and most notably Marilyn Monroe selected Dean Martin, Peter Sellars and Kim Novak a trio of fine actors to top line Kiss Me Stupid. This film was jinxed with the illness of Sellars who left the film and gave the Director a back handed slam by blaming Wilder and his open sets as a reason of his illness. Ray Walston was brought in to replace Sellars after Bob Hope, and Danny Kaye passed on the part ( Jack Lemmon was working elsewhere). The film had to be re started and scenes re shot. Wilder ran afoul of the Censors and the film got an Condemned rating. ( Today it is rated PG!)Kim Novak who had a great run at Columbia and left that studio as #1 Box Office star in the world excelled as an actress and gives a touching and wonderful performance as Polly The Pistol. Wilder ever blunt named Kim Novak and Audrey Hepburn as his two favorite female stars.I recommend this movie to see a brilliant performance by Kim Novak.

  • Love This Movie! A Must See!

    • Samantha Quill
    • 4/8/09

    I absolutely love this movie. At first I didn't think it would be good, but there is just so much going on scene after scene that it is just a great movie! There really is no boring parts. I love the way the movie is constructed and I just love Dean Martin. Only being 17, this movie is a great classic!

  • One Kiss of a Good Movie

    • Paul Conrad Jackson
    • 7/23/08

    For some reason I missed this movie when it was first released. What a loss. It is a zany, zany comedy and I would give it five stars. Kim Novak looks as cuddly and as seductive as ever, and Dean Martin is as smooth as ever. It is just a great, great frolic. I'm so glad TCM -my favourite TV channel - screened it. Now I'll buy it on DVD.

  • UNFORTUNATE

    • ALAN
    • 7/22/08

    THIS MOVIES IS BEST FORGOTTEN!

  • Underated Gem

    • Jerry
    • 6/12/08

    I saw this movie many years ago and was surprised how good it was then. I watched it again last night and was glad it hasn't lost any of its charm. Heavy stuff for its time. Dean is great at making fun of himself. But Ray Walston and Kim Novak steal the show. What a great team!

  • Very entertaining!

    • Maria
    • 3/13/07

    I have been a fan of old movies for years but have never seen this movie until last night. Great fun to watch, especially the performances by Kim Novak and Ray Walston!

  • A great movie

    • Habeeb Farooqui
    • 3/13/07

    By chance I saw this movie last night. I never heard about this wonderful movie bofore. Kim Novak and Dean Martin were great. Billy Wilder was at his best. I wonder any of the actors got any academy awards?.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.