skip navigation
Gilda

Gilda(1946)

  • Tuesday, November 18 @ 12:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Gilda - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • LOVELY GILDA

    • LadyRita3
    • 7/1/13

    This is my favorite Rita Hayworth movie. As everyone else seems to, I love the "Put the Blame on Mame, Boys" number. It truly shows her beauty and glamour. I think it's a shame that she is not remembered more for this now, as she should be;for example, as Marilyn Monroe is-Rita is definitely as beautiful, if not more so, than her. The one thing that I don't like about "Gilda" is when Glenn Ford slaps her. I cringe, when I see that.

  • Gilda

    • Shannan
    • 2/22/13

    I just have one thing to say, while Anita Ellis sang for the majority of Rita's movies she did not do Gilda. A Florence O'Reilly (Sunny) did. I do not know where people get their information from.

  • Gilda, Rita and Mame

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/24/12

    What makes "Gilda" for me is Rita Hayworth singing "Put The Blame On Mame", not once but twice-the first time to men's room attendant Uncle Pio while strumming the guitar, and then later on while doing a sultry dance/strip tease backed up by a full band. When she says "I'm not very good with zippers, I could use a little help"!, trust me, I'd be right up there on stage with the rest of the guys doing my part to relieve Gilda of her dress! She also has a couple of good lines full of sexual innuendo, i.e. when her husband asks is she's decent she counters with another question "Am I"?, and then "Don't you know if I were a ranch I'd be named the Bar None"! I saw it again on TCM Essentials 9/22/12 with Bob Osborne and Drew Barrymore. Each time I see "Gilda" I love it more and more!

  • Gilda

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/23/12

    A sexy, sizzling film noir. Hayworth gives her most iconic performance as a title character, Ford can't be ignored in an equally terrific role & Macready is the stone-faced villain caught in a love triangle. Hayworth performing the exotic "Put the Blame on Mame" is unforgettable, unfortunately, the story is too convoluted & abstract at times. The film's greatness is only slightly exaggerated, but the overall picture is a suberb love-hate story. I give it a 4/5.

  • Rita The Actress

    • John Mecca
    • 9/17/12

    Dynamic relatively fast paced drama with outstanding cast and cinemetography in black and white mode. Perfect chemistry between Rita and Glenn, plus good supporting actors. Rita beautiful as always, supplies a bit of her dancing abilities enhancing the quality of this classic film. Overall, a well balanced enjoyable movie that remains a timeless gem.

  • Just WOW!

    • RedRain
    • 4/7/12

    This is my favorite film of all time. I've seen it so many times I can quote the lines! Rita Hayworth is by far the most beautiful screen actress that anyone has ever seen and she did it all without taking a thing off her body. Modern actresses should take note! "Gilda" is the reason she was named "The Love Goddess" and seeing this film will tell you why it's the perfect moniker. The woman could dance in the most provocative way and her smile lights up the screen. When she sings "Put the Blame on Mame" in that black satin gown, even women swoon because we all would have loved to look like that! (I prefer her performance of "Amado Mio" in this film but that's my personal like.) The love/hate relationship between Gilda and Johnny Farrell provides the backdrop to this film and gives both of them roles to chew up the scenery with. I believe Johnny Farrell is Glenn Ford's most challenging and best role in all of his films. The writing in this film is superb and not enough credit is given to Jo Eisinger and Marion Parsonnet for giving us such a great screenplay. It is definitely an "Essential" and everyone should see this film at least once!

  • Rita Hayworth, connections to today

    • ariel
    • 2/24/11

    Ever seen "Everybody loves Raymond?" Well in the sho there is a medling mother/grandmother, a obnoxious old man who says to there grown sons "suck it up, Nancy!"Also some PG 13 words I will not list. The old couple has two grown sons, Rat Barone who lives across the street with his wife and kids. There aother son, Robert, who lived with his parents for a while (funny parnt: Ray's elder brother and a little past forty!) He eventually moved out and got married. So the father always goes to this lodge and swims with these old men. Debra(Ray's wife) befriends these old men at the lodge. These old men(excluding Ray's father) only like her for ponographic reasons. They trick her to sing that's right, "Put the blame on Mame." This show ran from 1996- I think 2008. Something so old, can actually be modern. Rita Hayworth was a beautiful woman over her time and still is. Ms. Hayworth's voice is perfect, when she sings it is jaw dropping to hear. Her concept of method acting is neck to neck with James Dean. Glenn Miller, her best friend potrays gang life and gambeling amazingly, too. The plot is intriguing, the story is classic, which makes it a classic movie. I emplore people who have not seen this movie to see it immidiatly!

  • Bombshell...!!

    • David
    • 8/2/09

    When our government decided to do a 'nuclear test' in the early '50s, the ordinance was named "Gilda". Kinda says it all...Rita's greatest performance by far.

  • Rita Hayworth's Hot Stuff

    • GeorgiaR
    • 7/11/09

    The first time we played "Gilda" in our home we needed a fire extinguisher to put out the men! Since I haven't seen all of Rita Hayworth's early films (but would like to TCM), it wouldn't be right to boldly state that this has got to be her hottest film. But that's what I'm thinking. Rita Hayworth's only a 28 year old who's commanding the title role and how. All eyes are on her even though Glenn Ford is busy delivering one of his classic performances as Johnny Farrell. He delivers equally great lines as Hayworth, like this one: "Pardon me, but your husband is showing." Regardless of what's going on in the rest of the entire film, the world comes to a stand still when Hayworth performs a semi-dance, strip without stripping, and lip sync to the song, "Put the Blame on Mame." It's one of those rare film moments that will pack a punch through the ages. The best part about that number is Hayworth's obvious innocence as a wholesome young woman who's doing a sizzling hot number. If she'd have been a sex pot or sleazy it wouldn't have had nearly as much of a sensous effect. I shake my head thinking, "the girl can't help it," she's so doggone gorgeous. If watched with men seeing Hayworth's body movements for the first time, don't forget to have that fire extinguisher on hand.

  • Put the Blame on Gilda

    • Eunice_Campbell
    • 5/30/09

    I'll never forget Rita Hayworth's song-sync dance routine to "Put the Blame on Mame." What a fantastic moment in Hollywood's history. How marvelous that so many for who knows how long to come can remember Rita Hayworth looking like she did in "Gilda." When cinema gets a scene simply perfect it's an exciting moment to behold.

  • Mercy Me, Gilda!

    • PearyHusky
    • 5/30/09

    From the first moment Rita Hayworth(Gilda) appears throwing her long, lovely hair back to her famous performance doing a faux striptease (with the emphasis on tease not strip) to "Put the Blame on Mame," while lipsyncing, a legend is being born in millions of viewers minds. If Rita Hayworth's multiple talents and skills to act and dance hadn't caught the public's attention before she played Gilda, eyes were bulging out of their sockets after "Gilda." One of the many films made by the Hayworth-Ford dynamic duo, this is one of their all time classic greats. Glenn Ford's performance is perfect for Johnny, his character. In fact, it's hard not to call him Johnny and Hayworth Gilda, they made such a lasting impresssion.

  • Oh, Johnnie!

    • ms. miniver
    • 12/30/08

    The number of times that the name Johnnie is mentioned in Gilda is 118 times! Gilda is definitely a film noir, and Glen Ford and Rita Hayworth are hot together.

  • Gilda's Great

    • typpytoes
    • 10/31/07

    Enjoyed the movie.

  • A can't miss classic film

    • Jackey
    • 10/9/06

    A great suspensefull film. Rita gave a glamorous performance that draws one further into the film. Glenn Ford also gave a fantastic strong performance. It is a lengthy film, but one can not stop watching this riveting storyline unfold. If your one for the key classic film that stands the test of time, then this is a MUST see film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.