skip navigation
Not As a Stranger

Not As a Stranger(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Not As a Stranger A medical student will stop at... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not as a Swedish-American Accent

    • Meredith
    • 10/11/13

    I really wanted to like this movie because I like Mitchum, Sinatra, and de Havilland. But in this film de Havilland's accent didn't work. I really wish she had just talked normally (the accent wasn't really necessary) and then I might've been able to enjoy the movie more and overlook her horrible hair.

  • NOT AS A STRANGER

    • JOSEPH ROY ANDERSON
    • 11/6/10

    WHEN DOCTORS ENDORSED CIGARETTES. NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH OUR PARENTS. WE WANT TO ERASE THEIR VALUES FOR OURS. THE MOVIE WAS GREAT.

  • Mitchum!!

    • roger duncan
    • 9/5/10

    Trust Kramer to make it real. Mitchum? Such a presence but displays acting chops with difficult lines...he must have worked hard or they had a thousand takes...Kramer and Mitchum and the editor...par excellence. Miss deHavilland...so slender and graceful and determined...I wondered the accent but it worked and wasn't overdone. Of course, she takes Bob back...who wouldn't...Roger

  • Great movie!

    • Cindy
    • 8/28/10

    Just viewed this movie for the first time and loved it! Have searched for it on the TCM schedule and can't find it scheduled to play again at all. Please run it again soon! They just don't make them like this any more with all the BIG name stars in them!

  • Great movie, very true to life

    • Hugh Dame, MD, FACS
    • 4/29/10

    I had the privilege of working with the doctor who was the model for Lucas Marsh in 1965-1969. I knew him well, knew the medical community that he worked in and I even went to the same medical school. The story is accurate in many respects, as related to me by the original character. Morton Thompson worked as a lab and X-ray technician for this doctor. Highly recommend this to anyone who would like a realistic look at the history of small-town medicine in the period from 1930-1960.

  • "Not as a Stranger"

    • T. E. Marchiondo, D.O.
    • 4/18/10

    I first saw this film when I was a medical student back in the 80's and was enthralled with it not only because of the fine acting and playing against type (ie. Robert Mitchum), but also because of the differences in the way medicine was practiced then as compared to now (ie. you would NEVER wash someone down with isopropol alcohol to reduce a fever). This movie was like a soap opera, showing the lives and loves of medical personnel during tough conditions, and that much hasn't changed between then and now. It was also amazing how much the cost of going to medical school rose dramatically during the 28-year period from when the film was released (1955) until the year I started medical school (in 1983). Gloria Graham is a babe in this film and I loved the subtle way the director showed the time that she and Robert Mitchum's character spent time together during the affair with the horses jumping around in the stable (a little "horsing" around you might say). Anyway, how many votes will it take to get this excellent film on DVD? It is long overdo.

  • Not As a Stranger (1955)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/15/10

    Excellent drama, great cast. Olivia de Havilland is an unusual choice, but she does well. Robert Mitchum is terrific as always. Very interesting, well made, fine score.

  • Excellant writing

    • Penny Loken-Evans
    • 12/17/08

    What a tragedy that this movie isn't available to see more than once a year. The acting is gripping, there are believable story lines. The movie should be made available to the public.

  • Best Roles Ever for these Top performers

    • Bill McG
    • 5/10/07

    Each leading and supporting actor/actress were at the top of their game and peaks of their careers when they took on these totally out-of character roles. Mitchum, the big tough guy playing the sensitive and caring doctor; deHavilland, the underappreciated and quietly suffering wife; the rambunctuous Sinatra, now the level-headed concerned Dr and friend; and Carole Grahame in her best role ever, the seductive other woman. Special applause for Broderick Crafword and Charles Bickford!!

  • Another unknown gem. Thanks TCM!

    • Steve Edlefsen
    • 9/30/06

    I tuned into this movie toward the end but was enthralled by its intensity. It portrays the immense pressures of the medical profession in such an effective way that it leaves you wrung out and appreciative of what M.D.s go through. The personal side is presented as well. Could there be a better cast with such amazing performances? I don't think so. I added this to my list of movies-to-own between La Dolce Vita and Night Of The Iguana.

  • Doctor review

    • K Lawson
    • 2/18/06

    This is actually one of the most medically accurate screen portrayals I have had the pleasure of viewing. Robert Mitchum did a convincing job with typical patient encounters and technology of the time. Most of the other characters were very true to form from the gruff but caring pathologist to the experienced country doctor.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.