skip navigation
Mister Roberts

Mister Roberts(1955)

  • Friday, December 19 @ 11:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mister Roberts A naval officer longing for... MORE > $9.99 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Timeless gem

    • Alice
    • 2/8/14

    I first saw this film in 1955, when it first came out. I was in the fifth grade; loved it then. I've sen it several tines since then, loving it so much each time. What a marvelously, well-done, well-acted, well-directed, and well-photographed film. Please keep showing this film. Thank you, TCM.

  • Not Your Average War Movie

    • Dear Pippo
    • 1/23/13

    This movie has John Ford written all over it. Expect to see many of the John Ford Stock Company including Harry Carey, Jr., Ken Curtis, and other recognizable faces. William Powell is superb in his role as the ship's doctor and philosopher. The role of Mr. Roberts was tailor made for Henry Fonda. He fills the role with the same charisma as he did in Twelve Angry Men. No one but James Cagney could have played the captain, and only Jack Lemmon could have played the manic Ensign Pulver. No wonder the Academy gave him an Oscar for the performance.

  • Mister Roberts

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/22/12

    A great WWII dramadey. Veterans Fonda, Cagney & Powell give excellent performances, but Lemmon steals the show & an Academy Award for his stand-out supporting performance. Finely adapted from the Broadway play starring Fonda, brilliantly written, adding humour to the sombre theme of men at war. A nice, entertaining film that'll make viewers laugh. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Jack Lemmon at his best

    • Bonnie
    • 2/11/12

    Hilarious, sad and moving, this is one of my all time favorite movies. I can watch it every time its on.

  • True Story

    • frank filippi
    • 12/15/11

    Although a great comedy, I believe it's a true story of what happens to men mentally who are inactive. These guys on the ship went crazy simply because they had nothing to do. In other words better to risk your life than to be idle. I'm going to watch it again. Cagney and Fonda are great.

  • The Greatest Generation

    • Thomas
    • 9/11/11

    My father served on a troop transport, the Henry T. Allen, in the southwest Pacific. Whenever I see this film I think of him and the millions of others that put their lives on hold and then in jeopardy for our nation. I never heard the whole story but some of his liberty adventures in Brisbane equalled those in the film. Thank you the Greatest Generation

  • See this movie - on the double!

    • Michele
    • 9/11/11

    Mister Roberts is on my short list of movies I'll watch any time they're on. Cagney is just wonderful as the apoplectic captain, but William Powell simply steals the show with a polished performance that sadly was his last. It's great fun all around - don't miss it.

  • Mister Roberts

    • aliensnowman
    • 6/1/10

    Seems the 1955 version was cut about thirty minutes the sometime around the late 1970's, possibly for pc. Now missing are many of the crew liberty scenes from on shore: the dance brawl, etc.; and the virgin sailor's evening with his date on beach. Later scenes missed include the captain going ashore for a replacement palm tree and the captain's forgery party. While not influential to minors, whittling down the movie thirty minutes seems to have only reduced its character.

  • Mister Roberts Stands Alone

    • mcsheridan
    • 5/30/10

    @ops1: Never confuse the film "Mister Roberts" with its lame reworking as a later film, "Ensign Pulver". The latter is the film you are remembering. There was never any surgical operation by anyone in "Mister Roberts". Finally, please note that James Cagney and Burl Ives neither look nor sound alike. :D I've loved this film since the first time I saw it on television, and have watched it countless times. The version on TV and on VHS, though, used a different march in the scene where Mister Roberts, shown listening to radio announcement of the end of the war in Europe, jumps up, marches to the palm tree and chucks it overboard. I realize the march now heard on TCM and on the DVD is the theatrical version, but I sure do miss the one I grew up hearing. I wonder if it's on the DVD as some kind of alternate scene/extra audio choice?

  • mister roberts

    • ops1
    • 4/18/10

    I loved this movie BUT they deleted a big portion of it. when I watched it on TV back in the day it have the kulliver & the captain on an island and they had to radio the doc on the ship because the captian apendix ruptured or something like that and the ensine had to due the surgery on the island via radio, on the captain . Any way they got the captain real drunk and followed the dr's orders and did the surgery--- to make a along story short-- thats when the ensine puts the marbles into the captian's belly before he sewed him up. later the captain kept pressing on his side and couldn't figure out what the clattering was, now that was the big finale piece of this comedy, back then. When I watch this movie, all of that is not in it, they cut it out This was disappointing for me. If I know that I wouldn't have bought this movie if I had know that. If any one knows where i can get an original with these senes in it I would reall appreciate it.

  • Mister Roberts (1955)

    • Jay
    • 7/10/09

    This is a good example of how the cast can make a film truly great - Jack Lemmon in an Oscar winning role, Henry Fonda, James Cagney and William Powell are all outstanding. Superbly directed, the writing is magnificent. Funny,m touching and unforgettable.

  • Wonderful!

    • Richard Matuszewski
    • 1/8/09

    Truly a treasure! The cast is superb! It's beautifully written and directed! I enjoy it more each time I see it.

  • Cagney and Powell: A Pair of Greats

    • martyr
    • 7/5/08

    This movie suffers from a malady common to stage plays adapted to film: it often feels as if it is still on a live stage. I find that disconcerting and a bit uncomfortable. Nonetheless, Fonda and Lemmon have their worthy moments onscreen. Cagney is commendable in an unlikable role. The few times I've had issues with a Cagney performance have been in roles such as this. Dare I say he tends to play the angry curmudgeon a bit over the top. I think he manages to keep it reined in here, though. William Powell is a genuine treat in his final screen appearance.

  • Cagney made it Worthwhile

    • theresa
    • 5/1/08

    Cagney made the movie worthwhile for me. The others, I didn't find particularly exciting... I found Fonda bland, Lemmon acceptable, Cagney (I'm biased) made the picture, and attractive as ever.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.