skip navigation
The Last Voyage

The Last Voyage(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Last Voyage Passengers and crew fight to... MORE > $15.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Havoc Seminar

    • H.A.C.
    • 12/24/17

    An exhausting story as believably dramatized by lesser name actors who demonstrated a focused valor- whether the captain trusting in his ship's solidity or the little daughter's battle to remain with her parents and all credited actors in between. Crisis management at its best through purity of heroism!

  • Take that, CGI!

    • James K.
    • 12/22/17

    I had never heard of or seen this movie before, and it was SO obvious that the cast was on a real ship most of the time, and that the ship was really sinking. Well, until that cheesy bathtub-filmed scene at the end, when the ship takes her final plunge. It makes me curious as to why they chose to use normal, laughable "special effects" of the day for that scene. The characters were not that interesting, outside of the Captain, but I have to say that I found them more realistic than the characters one sees in other disaster/adventure movies. Real people don't act like characters in a movie, when under extreme stress and duress, and these characters didn't, either. Sanders surprised me again, in a role unlike any I had seen him play before. A lost soul, or simply a ship's master who is past it, or just plain incapable of handling a situation he's never experienced. Poor Woody Strode had to play a one-dimensional character again. A heroic man, certainly, but that's about it. And Strode was capable of much, much more. And Edmond O'Brien's character...ouch. Volume, and nothing much else. Again, though, most of the characters were portrayed as real people often actually are. Maybe I'm too cynical, but I have not met that many real life people who were truly charismatic, engaging and/or riveting, unforgettable characters. So, the characters in this film didn't get in the way of the story. Nor did the environment/physical action. For once. Generally, I hate disaster movies, but this one was believable. And no matter how hard George Lucas or anyone else preaches that CGI is finally indistinguishable from the real thing, this antique movie proves him/them absolutely wrong. I was positively riveted, because the technical aspects were not like the usual made-up junk, besides what I mentioned above. What a relief not to have to cover up for a movie in your own mind while watching it. James Cameron and many others could learn a lot from this, if they wanted to

  • So Good

    • Kay
    • 12/20/17

    Love George Sanders, always. Plus this story was intense and gripping - so much more so than I thought it would be. It kept me right with it to the very end. I didn't know that the ship was the Ile de France and that everything was so real until I read here on TCM after watching it! Unbelievable. I want to see it again now and really take it all in. A great movie.

  • great adventure at sea story

    • Trylon
    • 12/20/17

    I am attracted to any film with George Sanders. That rich voice and elegant mannerisms intrigue me mainly because they often mask a personality always slightly in crisis. He makes a good captain and especially one not quite up to the task. The little girl riveted by her love for her parents is excellent but I was happy to see her finally tossed into a lifeboat. the endless crying, as real and powerful as it was, was becoming a distraction. Woody Strode is excellent as the one crew member who understood his duty and worked his tail off in an effort to save the trapped Dorothy Malone. I'm not too sure what it would be like to play a part throughout and entire movie while wearing no shirt, however. But in the staid 1950s, the idea of a black man risking so much to save a white woman and restore her to her family had to send a shattering message to those who failed to see African Americans as true human beings capable of having rock solid moral values. This is a good adventure story and probably just as good as Poseidon Adventure except that it's right-side-up. Even the ship plays its part quite well; it's old, worn out, the paint is chipped, the rooms are shabby and it's obvious it's heading to the scrap yard. This end for a grand old ship is more dignified. This is an excellent adventure movie and the voice over narration adds to the drama of the story. I'm glad TCM shows this movie and I hope they continue to do so.

  • No music underscores the action . . .

    • Kirsten I.
    • 12/19/17

    . . . until the conclusion of the story. Most of the time we are in the grip of the story, which I can watch again and again and still worry about how it turns out. The realism is NOT CGI--this is 1960, and this is a real ship with no more voyages to make when the movie was shot. I had forgotten most of the cast in the years since I first saw this, but NOT Woody Strode. You want to see this to watch Woody Strode as a can-do crewman. As soon as I saw Dorothy Malone and Robert Stack on the screen, I remembered them as passengers with a harrowing story line, and their daughter played by Tammy Marihugh could have played the title role in ANNIE if the musical had been written then. More memories emerged: Edmund O'Brien remembering the fate of the Titanic, and George Sanders as a captain in serious denial. This is an amazingly realistic and very suspenseful disaster movie! Love it!

  • the last voyage

    • peterwebb
    • 5/3/15

    I saw this film for the first time nearly 30 years ago. it stood out then and it stands out now. One of a kind film that will never be made again , scenes that stand out are the clear and intense scenes between the capt and 1st engineer , played by George sanders and Edmund o brien. The actors did all their own stunts in the final scene as the ship sinks , and the acting and physical work done by all the actors and miss Malone is really top notch professional. No cgi effects , filmed on board a real liner ( the engine room scenes are brilliant ) the camera work is top notch all the way through the film. I cannot think of any other actor to play the part of Capt Robert Adams--- George Sanders seemed to have been a perfect casting. Edmund 'o' brien is simply an excellent character actor-- again who else could have played the part of walsh. Maybe some suggestions by other reviewers.

  • Fantastic!

    • Alice
    • 7/4/14

    What a great film, in so many ways! The story was great. The acting was superb, especially the little girl. She was so convincing. The camera work and special effects in this 54 year old film m was nothing less than great. I would gladly stand this film up as one of the greatest "edge of your seat" films ever made. Make sure you have everything you need, like snacks and stuff before the movie begins, because you won't be able to leave your seat once it starts. I'm sure I will watch this one each time you show this great film. Thank you TCM, for blessing us with this one.

  • The most amazing performance by a child actress

    • JohnnyVertigo
    • 8/19/10

    The little girl who played Robert Stack's daughter in "The Last Voyage" gave the most realistic & touching performanceFrom a very young actress I can remember. I never for a moment didn't believe the actors weren't her parents. When the girl was hanging over the whole in the ship on the plank I believed that. But was most impressed when she was fighting Woody Strode to get back to her mother. Brilliant !

  • A SeaBlast from Cinema's SeaPast!

    • Marcus Dylan Smith
    • 6/12/10

    "The Last Voyage" figurativaly blew me out of the water! Not only is the film a bombastic action film, but touching and dramatic. I believe its stands up to the prowess of James Cameron's "Titanic", while also with standing the test of time. I mean come on! Can one really compete with a filmcamera capturing a real ship, actually sinking!?! I think not! I would have to say that this film suprised me with its abliltiy to engross me in its characters struggle, while leaving me in awe as I tried not root for more explosions, smoke, and salt water and boy did I get what I wanted from the Director, Crew, and Cast! I plan on getting on a luxury cruise liner and turning on TCM in hopes of seeing this film so I can scare myself!

  • Disaster At Sea

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/10/10

    "The Last Voyage" (1960) is a taut and suspensful film about a doomed ocean liner and the efforts of the crew and passengers to save themselves before it sinks. It followed "Titanic" (1953) with Barbara Stanwyck and "A Night To Remember" (1958), two versions of the story of the sinking of the Titanic, and preceeded "The Poseidon Adventure" (1972), Irwin Allen's all-star disaster epic, "Titanic" (the 1997 remake by director James Cameron), and "Poseidon" (the 2006 remake of "The Poseidon Adventure"). "The Last Voyage" was made long before CGI, and the special visual effects still hold up well 50 years later. An ocean liner that was scheduled to be junked was purchased for filming, and everything (including the fires and explosions) was filmed only once, since obviously there were no chances for multiple takes. Good performances by Robert Stack, Dorothy Malone, George Sanders and the rest of the cast. "The Last Voyage" is another great film that I would like to see on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.