skip navigation
From Here to Eternity

From Here to Eternity(1953)

  • Friday, February 13 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

From Here to Eternity Enlisted men in Hawaii fight... MORE > $7.49 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • from here to eternity

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/10/14

    Fred Zinnemann was always derided by the Cahiers du Cinema crowd 'cause he "lacked a personal style," which I guess means he didn't make variations on the same film over and over, like Sirk or Wilder or Hawks, to name three beloved by the auteurists. And while it's true that Zinnemann could be dull (The Search, the over-rated High Noon) he made a few films that are quite effecting, including The Nun's Story, The Sundowners, and this one. It's not a perfect film. It's got its flaws. I agree that Donna Reed is not hard enough to be playing a girl in a Honolulu brothel (they cleaned it up for Harry Cohn and called it a "club", but it's a brothel) and that Frank Sinatra is over the top, but aside from these quibbles I'm amazed that Zinnemann succeeded in capturing the spirit and most of the key events of James Jones great, extremely realistic war novel without watering it down. At least too much. And some of the scenes, like Pearl Harbor morning and the death of Pruitt and the ending, with Deborah Kerr (who, along with Montgomery Clift, delivers the best performance in the film) and Reed on board a ship leaving Hawaii and talking about loss and sorrow, are even better than the novel. Let's give it an A minus, and Andy Sarris be damned! P.S. I disagree with the previous reviewer who said George Reeves' scenes had not been cut. Think about it. He has one brief scene with Lancaster in the beginning and then we don't see him till Pearl Harbor, when he's the mess hall sergeant and the men are griping about his cooking, without any explanation why, which sure suggests a snip or two somewhere along the way.

  • Great Film!

    • RedRain
    • 12/5/14

    For those who are railing against Sinatra getting the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor in this film, he deserved it. 1953 was a very weak year for films and the nominees in this category were particularly weak: Eddie Albert (Roman Holiday), Jack Palance (Shane), Brandon de Wilde (Shane), and Robert Strauss (Stalag 17). Sinatra's character in "From Here to Eternity" is essential to the film and he was in most of the film and was very good as well. While I believe he deserved the Best Actor Oscar for both "The Manchurian Candidate" and "The Man With the Golden Arm," he was very good in a host of other films too. In "From Here to Eternity," the two actors who just blew me away were Montgomery Clift and Burt Lancaster. Clift was so so broken in this film and it wrenches at your heart. Lancaster surprised me, as I am not a fan but couldn't look past his performance as the lover to the ambitious wife of his superior but a man loved by the men under his command too. The one performance I didn't care for was Donna Reed's, as I believe she was dreadfully miscast here as a B-girl. She simply didn't have the gravitas needed for this part. She won for Supporting Actress but, once again, the field was very weak that year!

  • From Here to There

    • JC
    • 10/7/14

    Wow, Frank Sinatra couldn't act AT ALL, could he? Wonder how much he shelled out for his Oscar ...

  • Sinatra

    • Jack
    • 2/7/14

    Does anyone seriously believe that Sinatra gave an Academy Award performance? You've got to be kidding!

  • From Here to Eternity

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 4 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • From Here to Eternity

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/2/12

    The Best Picture winner of '53 is this toned-down, but still powerful melodrama adapted from Jones' novel . The lives of military men in Hawaii are interrupted by Pearl Harbour. Excellent performances overall; Clift, Lancaster & Kerr were nominated for their leading performances, and Sinatra & Reed won Oscars for their supporting roles. The film was also honoured for Zinnemann's direction, adapted screenplay, editing, cinematography & sound. Still a great film that tackles themes of adultery, prostitution, military injustice & murder. I give it a 5/5.

  • Finding Love in All the Wrong Moments of Time

    • Eddie Foster
    • 8/10/12

    I thankfully purchased this film for my Kindle Fire on July 8, 2012 when Ernest Borgnine died and boy what an incredible movie. I kept passing the movie up because I didn't know what to expect of it. I knew it would be a love story (iconic scene with Burt Lancaster and Deborah Kerr) and I knew it would be a war film. I didn't know that everything in the character's lives was a personal battle. Montgomery Clift's character was the most fascinating in the bunch along with Lancaster and so were all of the supports (Frank Sinatra and Donna Reed in Academy Award winning roles). The direction and the screenplay really brought all of the characters together. A solid picture. A must-see.

  • Pure classic cinema...

    • Steve S.
    • 7/27/12

    Except for the unhappy ending (yes, I'm a sucker for happy endings) I can't find a thing "wrong" with this film.Reed and Kerr simply knock my sock's off and the rest of the cast, script, direction etc are suberb!

  • a classic

    • Jacob
    • 12/8/11

    when i was a kid, my mom almost killed when I accidently recorded over her copy. i don't think she ever completely forgave me. i tried to make it up to her by buy her a a ten tape box set that had movies by John Wayne Humphrey Bogart and Alan Ladd among others

  • from here to eternity

    • barbara
    • 10/14/11

    Although this was a terrfic movie and I really like Frank Sinatra, I don't think he should have won the academy award.

  • Contains a movie myth

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/20/11

    The oft-repeated cinema myth regarding this film is that the test audience giggled and called out "Superman!" whenever actor George Reeves appeared on the screen, and that this prompted the worried director to cut down the actor's parts drastically. Well - as it is with all myths and urban legends - this one is patently false. According to the *director himself* (and he would know) all that he filmed of Reeves is right there in the final movie; there were no deleted parts, and if anyone recognized the actor they sure didn't let on vocally. It is time that this myth was put to rest, so hopefully the next time this movie airs on TCM, I hope the hosts will do some research first, check on the director's own words, and not just lazily pass on what is a lie ... and an insult to both the actor and the director.

  • A classic

    • kyle rhoads
    • 8/4/11

    This is one, if not my favorite war film of all time i love this movie!!! all the great qualities that make a masterpiece!!!

  • Steamy

    • Chris
    • 5/23/11

    Who wouldn't want a romp in the sand.

  • Good, but could have been great

    • Dennis Kirsch
    • 4/1/11

    I've seen it several times, and always enjoyed it. However, I later read the book, and felt the movie could have been much better if it had followed the book more closely. However, at the time it was filmed, Donna Reed as a prostitute would likely not have played so well to American audiences.

  • From Here To Eternity

    • CBruno
    • 10/31/10

    This is all about those "once in a life time converging factors" when every thing was right at the exact moment it was filmed. I want more from this movie: story, the actors, the directions, costumes, scenery everything! For the audience of the 1950's this was as good as it got. As an average film goer of today I still get it. I want more from everyone on that screen. And the kissing in the surf scene is still hot even by today's "anything goes" standards.Funny, in an odd piece of irony, I would pay the nine dollars for a theater ticket to see this masterpiece in the large theater. I cannot say that about most movies being presented today.

  • Another Oscar-Winning Wartime Romance.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/20/10

    Fred Zinneman assembles a magnificent all-star cast led by Burt Lancaster and Deborah Kerr, and going on location in Honolulu and Pearl Harbor, Hawaii to film one of the great wartime romances of the 20th century. Based on James Jones' best-seller set in pre-World War II Hawaii, it tells of the illicit love affair between a U.S. Army sergeant (Lancaster) and the beautiful wife (Kerr) of the base commander, and how their lives will be affected by the oncoming Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. Winner of eight Academy Awards including Best Picture, Zinneman as Best Director, co-stars Frank Sinatra as Best Supporting Actor, and Donna Reed as Best Supporting Actress, Best Screenplay Adaptation, Best Cinematography (B&W), Best Sound Recording and Best Film Editing. Aloha, My Hawaii. Also starring Montgomery Clift, Phillip Ober, Ernest Borgnine, Jack Warden, Mickey Shaughnessy, Harry Bellaver, George Reeves, John Dennis, Claude Akins, Tim Ryan, Merle Travis, Joan Shawlee, Robert Karnes, Douglas Henderson, John Bryant, Mary Carver, Robert J. Wilke, Carleton G. Young, Don Dubbins & Willis Bouchey.

  • Love, love, love it!

    • Christine
    • 2/27/10

    One of the masterpieces of movie making. Truly romantic setting in gorgeous Hawaii, superb acting and a wonderful cast of characters whose lives intertwine for better or worse in the days prior to the attack on Pearl Harbor. The love affairs, the in-fighting between soldiers, the cruelty of bullies, the romance of the era. This movie has it all. I'm only sorry Deborah Kerr didn't win an Oscar for her performance here (or ever) or Burt Lancaster. Amazing performances. The sex appeal between the two stars is mind blowing. I wish I were inside this film. I love all the performances and am happy the Academy at least recognized Donna Reed and Sinatra for Oscars.Lancaster, Kerr, Clift, Sinatra, Reed, Borgnine, et al.LOVE IT!! 5 *****

  • One of the Truly Great Ones!!!

    • jrshamus
    • 4/27/09

    Beginning to end, one of the best!!! In all degrees!

  • A must see

    • catwoman915
    • 2/21/09

    This movie was just one of the best. Montgomery Clift, Burt Lanchaster, Ernest Borgnine, Frank Sinatra, Etc, Etc, Etc. Their performances were stellar. We don't even have to talk about the beach scene which is still to this day one of the sexiest things on film!

  • Definitive World War II Classic

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/29/09

    When I think of great films about World War II, this is the first one that comes to mind. Fred Zinneman's black and white masterpiece. Burt Lancaster won best actor that year at the SAG Awards; but lost the Oscar to William Holden. Both were great, but I think the nod should have gone to Lancaster. Sinatra, Monty Clift, and Deborah Kerr were outstanding; and Donna Reed copped the supporting actress Oscar. Taradash's adapted screenplay was brilliant; and that beach scene with Lancaster and Kerr is to this day, the sexiest scene ever filmed. What a movie!

  • Great movie, just wonderful

    • Maria
    • 6/22/07

    This is considered one of the greatest movies of all time, and deserves the title. Everything about this is great. The acting is superb- all 5 of the movie's major performers were nominated for Oscars, and two won (Donna Reed for supporting actress and Frank Sinatra for supporting actor) It's a romantic and exciting story. The leading ladies are great in their roles. And to think Donna Reed's character was a prostitute yet they made it in these days without nudity or strong sexual content. Great all-around movie, I recommend it for anyone!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.