skip navigation
East of Eden

East of Eden(1955)

  • Sunday, September 7 @ 01:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

East of Eden Two brothers compete for their... MORE > $19.94 Regularly $19.94 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Must-See

    • Natacha
    • 2/14/14

    Many comment about Dean's brooding character, Cal, and he does an excellent job in this role, but there are many other aspects to this films that make it an essential, especially the good vs. evil thread: "bad" brother Cal, is supposed to be Cain from the Bible story, and the "good" brother, Aaron, is Abel. The father always favored the "good" brother because the "bad" brother reminded him of his ex-wife, who couldn't stand her Bible-thumping husband because she felt smothered by his preachiness. Jo Van Fleet does an amazing job of portraying the mother, a hard-nosed madame of a brothel, who feels guilty over abandoning her twin sons. After meeting him and discovering that he has her street-smarts, she decides to help him by financing a project to grow beans to sell to the military because WW I is looming and the project is a resounding success. Cal is still rejected by his father, who tells him it is immoral to make money in this manner. Jo's acting in the scene where Aaron meets her is outstanding. There is also the humorous scene where the car salesman explains how to start the crank-operated automobile, which is actually educational for those of us who never tried to do this. Also the scene in the jail with Burl Ives who gives a whiskey bottle to a noisy drunk with the comment that it's "hair of the dog that bit you". Several memorable scenes with Dean that show his sex appeal: on Abra's upstairs porch when he puts his face against the house, when he lies down in the field with his bean crop, when he ignores the Mexican girl he's obviously involved with. There is a happy ending, though.

  • great

    • mustafa sav
    • 2/3/13

    My father recently died and when I saw the last scene how a son takes care of his father in his last days, it moved me tremendously. Elia Kazan's directing is great, the music is great(how about the opening the movie like a opera...with an overture), the acting is great and so is the quality of the colors...

  • Overrated film

    • Tess
    • 1/13/13

    James Dean mumbles and pouts his way through yet another movie, my opinion is that he was never very talented. Jo Van Fleet was miscast as Kate. Several of the key characters from the book are missing in the film and the enitre first half of the story was never told. I didn't understand what Kazan was trying to do with the tilted camera angles (dinner table scene early in the film) and the strange placement of shadows in the brothel when Cal is speaking to the bartender. This was obviously a vehicle for method actors, the only decent performance was Julie Harris as Abra. Please read Steinbeck's book and then watch the remake starring Jane Seymour and Timothy Bottoms, which follows the book much more closely.

  • East of Eden

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/26/12

    Dean makes his first starring role in this excellently crafted drama. Along with Dean, Harris & Massey give great performances, Fleet won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar as a brothel madame. The adaptation of Steinbeck's novel is a winning film for director Kazan, however the story could get dull in early scenes. The first of three major films starring the iconic Dean. I give it a 4/5.

  • GREAT PERFORMANCES....

    • Michael Steven
    • 6/25/12

    There isn't a bad performance by ANYONE in this film,NOT ONE!This film is based more on the second half of John Steinbeck's book.The story as seen through Cal Trask's eyes,The Monterey/Salinas Area,the fields,the weather,the railroads,LIFE in general.Leonard Rosenman's score to this film is outstanding,& provides a backdrop to the moments of these people's lives.There are 4 scenes in this movie,that in my opinion speak volumes about these people.1.When Jo Van Fleet & James Dean finally sit & talk,2.When Cal punches out his brother Aron,after Cal tried to help him3.When Cal takes Aron to where their mother is,& exposes who & what she really was,4.Cal finally tells his father Adam,the truth.Jo Van Fleet,is fabulous in this film.She also won an Oscar for this performance as well.Raymond Massey,Richard Davalos,Lois Smith,Julie Harris,Burl Ives,& of course,James Dean. Yes,this is a "MODERN RETELLING" of the story of Cain & Abel.By the way,in the Steinbeck novel,Aron gets killed a week after he arrives in the fields of The Western Front,during World War I.This film is MUCH MORE INTENSE,than say "REBEL",& or "GIANT".Hell of a springboard for Dean.At this point in time,I don't EVEN want to consider what heights James Dean could have scaled,had he lived.It's refered to as counterfactuals,WHAT IF.....Sit back,relax & enjoy this film.YES,it's been remade a few times,BUT NOTHING CAN BEAT THIS!

  • Plots come and go, themes endure

    • Bob Dorff
    • 2/19/12

    I'm a KAZAN fan, who has seen all his movies. His choices here made the difference between very good and truly great. Dean was born to play Cal Trask. Joe Van Fleet was a staggering surprise. I'd never heard of her. WOW! Julie Harris was beyond great. She and Joe Van were the glue Kazan used to make such a compelling movie. John Steinbeck never hurts.

  • disappointing

    • Terry
    • 9/3/11

    If you read the book, the movie will be disappointing. The actors/actresses were nothing like the characters that I envisioned from the book.

  • Outstanding..........

    • Robby
    • 5/14/11

    Hard to decide which was Dean's best role, I am torn between Eden and Rebel. A movie classic that never grows old.

  • An Example

    • Ariel
    • 3/2/11

    This movie is a great example of a dead art . . . method acting. Method acting is recalling past emotions and feelings and using those feelings to potray a chracter. James Dean's father sent him away to Indiana when his mother died. Google tcm method acting they still have the article, but you cannot get to it from the website. Anyway, James was taught at the ledgendary Actor Studio by Lee Strasberg. Guess who was there? Paul Newman Julie Harris, and Marlon Brando (good company!) Julie Harris was good in this movie, but there are other movies where she was more than she was than in this one, so much more. The person who played Aron is still alive, he was not that big of a deal later on. Dean did not have a "later on." A great deal of negatives happened becaus eof his death, but one postive . . . Paul Newman. If James Dean would not have died Paul Newman would have never would have been who he is. Paul was a little lower than second when Jimmy was around. Therefore, Paul took his role as Rocky Graziano in "Sombody up there likes me." Yet, it would have been cool to see Dean at the 83 Acadamy Awards and to hear him speak. Indescribable movie.

  • James Dean is perfection

    • Caroline H
    • 11/4/09

    I love all of James Dean's work but he truly is Cal Trask. The direction in this movie is excellent as well as all of the supporting cast. People said that Dean was trying to be Brando but his performances displayed more sensitivity. Kazan wanted to originally cast Brando in the role of Cal, what a huge mistake that would have been. TCM needs to devote an evening to James Dean showing his three movies.

  • East of Eden (1955)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/1/09

    Superb drama, outstanding direction from Elia Kazan, James Dean is phenominal, and has such an incredible screen presence. Jo Van Fleet does a remarkable job portraying his mother, and she won an Oscar for her performance. Very moving, always interesting.

  • One of the Best Films of the 50s.

    • Douglas Reese
    • 11/24/08

    From its fine lead performance from James Dean - to its supporting cast that rings truth and honesty... it's a powerful story, fueled with powerful plot points, and it has some of the best fimmaking aspects of the 50s!

  • A great film.

    • David R.
    • 1/30/07

    Another great movie that I hardly ever see playing on TCM. Why???. Great acting especially by Dean and Harris. I think this was Dean's best picture. Also great support from Raymond Massey, and Jo Van Fleet. Terrific book, and made into a great film.

  • Dean's Best Role

    • Pat
    • 6/27/06

    I have seen all of James Dean's work; TV, movies and documentaries, and in my opinion "East of Eden" was his best role. When I was a teenager I was fortunate to meet him and get his autograph during the final weekend of filming "Giant" in Marfa, TX. Shortly afterwards his talent was lost to the world forever. His movie trilogy are classics that will be enjoyed forever.

  • James Dean in "East of Eden"

    • Jenipher
    • 3/9/06

    I am only 23 years old, and when I watched James Dean as Cal in this movie I could really relate. He did such a fantastic job that I even cried when he tried to give his father money for his birthday and his father didn't except it. It is crazy that a movie this old can make you feel even in this time!

  • James Dean in "East Of Eden"

    • Natalie Garland
    • 3/1/06

    I will first say the Eden is a wonderful movie. Full of drama and romance. James Dean is an amazing actor. He certainly deserved his Oscar nomination even though he didn't get to find out about it. He should've won. But I think it is an amazing movie. The whole cast was really good. I truly recommend it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.