skip navigation
Death on the Nile

Death on the Nile(1978)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Death on the Nile Hercule Poirot investigates... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Poirot and Death

    • DaveR
    • 6/29/13

    Good Agatha,prefer Evil Under The Sun,but love the cast.Too bad they were subjected to extreme temperatures during filming and some poor planning,as dsg rooms,no crew quarters.Prefer Roddy McD to David Niven in Poirot.

  • Death on the Nile

    • Vielka Helen
    • 12/2/11

    I will like to know when are you going to pass this movie, Peter Ustinov is the best Hercules Poirot ever, his movies are great, I also will like to see Evil under the sun, but my favorite is Death on the Nile.Thank you very much....:)

  • One of Christie's Best

    • Marjorie.Campbell
    • 9/2/09

    The murder mystery of this Agatha Christie star-studded masterpiece isn't, oddly, the focal point. The relationshipsamong the people of wealth who take a cruise ship along the Nile River are. So are their personality studies. That is, after all, what Agatha Christie is so famous for writing about. Who done it, so to speak, didn't seem to matter to me at all while I have viewed and reviewed this movie. It is the development of characters by the screenwriter and by the actors that makes this movie classic.My favorite set of character studies are of the roles played by Bette Davis and Dame Maggie Smith. By 1978, both were on screen royalty. Becoming characters so completely well was old hand to both. Put them together (and was it the only and 1st time?), and these two grand damesof acting are nothing short of a hoot. They are supposed to go after each other's juggulars and do with Christie's most brisquely cutting lines. Enjoy!

  • Davis Ustinov Smith Lansbury Niven Farrow

    • Michelles
    • 8/25/09

    The humor threaded so evenly throughout Agatha Christie's murder mystery is what stood out when I watched this film this time. TCM was doing a 24 hour bit on Angela Lansbury during which this film was included. I can tell why: Lansbury ishilarious, bizarre, lively, colorful andextremely eccentric. As if her characterwasn't fun enough, this film starts out with Bette Davis and Dame Maggie Smith delivering quite sharp cutting lines thatcracked me up. Throughout the film Lansbury, Davis and Smith deliver terrifically witty lines. I could watchall three alone and enjoy this film. Addto their acting prowess Ustinov, Farrow,Niven and Kennedy, plus some, and this becomes as well acted a Christie marvel as I have seen. Davis, Lansbury and Smithall steal the show.

  • Poirot's Puzzle and Death on the Nile

    • Paul Conrad Jackson
    • 8/24/09

    As usual, this is a very handsome production. The cobra scene made me shiver and shudder. Peter Ustinov is always amusing. Must confess I got utterly spoiled by the British TV series 'Poirot' in which actor David Suchet gave the definitive portrayals of Hercule Poirot. Yet, Death of the Nile is still top-notch entertainment, similar to Murder on the Orient Express. We need more movies like this.

  • Conquerors of Agism in Hollywood

    • Zachry
    • 8/23/09

    Robert Osborne recently introduced"Manhandler" by stating that 35yo Dorothy Lamour's career was nearly over because she 'committed the sin of aging'.I shook my head, rewound the DVR and listened to Mr. Osborne's surprising statement again. Then, though about how it relates to this film. If, in 1949, Lamour was 'too old' at 35 to keep acting, how come Bette Davis kept on until she was 81, Gish, 94, Bacall still at 84.9, etc.? Was there then a double standard for men of age? Sterling Hayden was just beginning his career at roughly the same age minus a few years. So, I asknow, was the golden era generation of women actors the one that broke the age and gender biases of Hollywood's producers? Apparently they were because this film offers plenty of proof (Angela Lansbury, Dame Maggie Smith among them). If so, they deserve credit for what they did.

  • Christie Ustinov Davis Smith Lansbury

    • Janys
    • 7/12/09

    Of course Agatha Christie deserves the nods for these characters. She always does. Ustinov makes a grand Poirot. But, the women in this film steal it from the men, hands down. My favorite match up is between Bette Davis and Dame Maggie Smith as they take verbal jabs at each other, like this:Mrs. Van Schuyler (Bette Davis): "Come Bowers, it's time to go. This place is beginning to resemble a mortuary." Miss Bowers (Dame Maggie Smith): "Thank God, you'll be in one yourself before too long, you bloody old fossil!" Biting humor is what makes this cruise along the Nile such a pleasure. So much so it nearly displaces the murder! AngelaLansbury plays the most eccentric lush named Salome Otterboourne. Her first name should give a hint to how she dresses. Yet, it's lines like this one that keep the humor driving the film:Salome Otterbourne (Angela Lansbury): "Frenchmen aren't afraid of good strong sex!"Still, if there's any wonder why 70 year old Bette Davis took this role in a mass star cast as one among, as usual, it's the script: Mrs. Van Schuyler (Davis): "You need a nice cool holiday. I was thinking of a trip along the Gobi Desert!"Just imagine how She delivered that line and you'll get the jest of what I'm hailing about the biting humor, instead of the murder mystery, being the key feature of this film.

  • Classic Christie

    • IamJean
    • 6/16/09

    Bette Davis, Dame Maggie Smith, Angela Lansbury and Peter Ustinov are on the top of the list of this all-star cast. Well...so is the spirit of Agatha Christie, the writer. Without a doubt, in a very traditional way, Bette Davis and Dame Maggie Smith steal every scene they're in. The ways wealthy Mrs. Van Schuyler (Davis) and her companion (servant) Miss Bowers (Smith) carry on with each other is worth watching the entire film. When Schulyer says, "Come Bowers, it's time to go. This place is beginning to resemble a mortuary," although this is Bette Davis at 70 years old, she hasn't lost her bite. Then when Bowers retorts, "Thank God you'll be in one yourself before too long, you bloody old fossil," the moment is classic and hilarious at once. Their snipes continue. Christie's script deserves the credit. Ustinov's Hercule Poirot is really good. Angela Lansbury (Salome) is unusually hilarious as an older, bizarre drunk in exotically overdone costumes. There are quite a bit of Christie's tongue-in-cheek cracks on the righ and oppulent.

  • Ustinov's Christie's Hercule Poirot

    • Jacksons
    • 6/14/09

    The settings and cinematography score way high in this typical Agatha Christie who-dun-it murder mystery. As usual the cast list looks like a who's who of US and UK actors. Among the best are Bette Davis, Angela Lansbury, Dame Maggie Smith and Peter Ustinov. While Angela Lansbury is a loose lush as Salome and a blast to watch, Bette Davis and Dame Maggie Smith steal the show with their biting interactions. Here's an example:Mrs. Van Schuyler (Bette Davis):"Come Bowers, it's time to go, this place is beginning to resemble a mortuary." Miss Bowers (Dame Maggie Smith): "Thank God, you'll be in one yourself before too long, you bloody old fossil!"Davis is dressed to the hilt as a refined wealthy traveler with her lady in waiting, Dame Maggie. It's impossible to describe how bloody good they are shooting off cutting quips at each other. Christie's script seems to have been written just for these two as a dream team.Ustinov makes the best Hercule Poirot. Mia Farrow is really weird but good at it. There's a stunning shot of her on an ancient Egyptian relic that focuses on putting the size of these magnficent creations into perspective by contrasting them to Farrow's size. The film comes off like the book: it's a page turner. I couldn't stop watching the film.

  • Agatha Christie, Ustinov & Davis

    • SadieR
    • 5/29/09

    One of the later Agatha Christie all-star cast murder movies, Ustinov takes center stage during the murder investigation. Bette Davis' performance as regal wealthy traveler with Dame Maggie Smith as her companion, takes center stage every time she's in a scene. At 70yo she's lovely, acts her age in a very classy way, and it paired quite well with Dame Maggie. They have a number of gone-a-rounds which are expertly acted by both great ladies of the cinema and early television. Mia Farrow plays a wacky young woman that I'd expect to see in a Woody Allen film. Angela Lansbury is wonderful as a typsy lush. Plus, the settings on and around the Nile are absolutely spectacular.

  • Bette Davis and Maggie Smith

    • DavidaH
    • 4/29/09

    What's nearly perfect about this film is the biting interactions between two master actors: Bette Davis and Maggie Smith. Watching those two characters go at each other is priceless. Both actors are known best for being 'team players' who work for the whole project to be worth watching; rather than just for themselves. Given the scenery is spectacular, the scenes Davis & Smith put on are its only rival. It's extra fun to enjoy them sniping each other knowing they really admire each other, off screen.

  • I liked this moving

    • Pat
    • 12/17/08

    I really liked this movie. the author & the cast. love Bette & Angelia' The rest aren't back either. It is a fun, who done it. Keeps you going.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.