skip navigation
Captain Horatio Hornblower

Captain Horatio Hornblower(1951)

  • Saturday, July 19 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR Captain Horatio Hornblower (1951) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Captain Horatio Hornblower The famed 19th century hero... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • don't like subject or hero

    • S
    • 8/15/13

    Must be something about that time period, but I can't stand this naval "hero" or the sets, costumes and story. It bores me themoment it comes on. Perhaps we all have our Bermuda Triangle time periods. Being Canadian, to me The War of 1812 was more important than any battles against Napoleon (whom I also find oddly boring). Just saying, admit I'm not in the loop for European naval or land battles of 1798-1815. Even the uniforms and colors annoy. Why so much blue if the British were redcoats?

  • A Personal Favorite

    • Randy Roberts
    • 8/2/13

    I first saw this movie as a freshman in high school. It was part of an AP literature class. I've watched it every year since and for me it never gets old. The story, the characters, the acting, the setting, the music; it's what a movie should be..........just plain FUN.

  • Captain Horatio Hornblower

    • Nick Mackris
    • 9/27/12

    one of Gregory Pecks greatest movies. One of my all time favorites. Please add it to the TCM schedule and if possible e-mail me when it will be on.

  • Great sea film!

    • RedRain
    • 5/5/12

    My husband and I fell in love with Hornblower when the BBC did a series on him. It moved us to read all the books and I now watch everything I can about him. This film, in particular, is beautiful to watch and the story is terrific. Mayo is at her loveliest here. Peck, well what can you say about him but that every performance of his is steadfastly great. I liked seeing him vulnerable here, just as we did in "To Kill a Mockingbird," and it's always nice to see him show this side of his emotions in film. Highly recommend this great swashbuckling film!

  • Great High Seas Adventure

    • TK
    • 4/5/12

    I saw this in the theater with my brother when we were young boys, and we were captivated. We swashbuckled our way around the house and yard for a couple of years afterwards. Compared with movies like Captain Blood and The Seahawk, it's interesting to compare how this genre appears 10-15 years later. Very well done and well worth a look.

  • MUST SEE MOVIE

    • GOOSE
    • 7/20/10

    CAPTAIN HORATIO HORNBLOWER, this is a movie I had never even heard of and decided to watch because I really like Gregory Peck. It was a great movie, had a great story the actors did a wonderful job and had a great ending. I will watch again.

  • An Action-Packed High-Seas Epic.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/19/10

    Director Raoul Walsh goes on location in Alpes-Maritimes, France and in Middlesex, England with Gregory Peck starring in the title role in this swashbuckling saga based on C.S. "Jack" Forrester's novel set during the Napoleonic Wars. Peck as Capt. Horatio Hornblower, a British Navy officer, who sails his warship to the South Pacific for a confrontation with French Navy war vessels and their Spanish allies at an island fortress. An exciting, well-produced sea epic. Also starring Virginia Mayo, Robert Beatty, Denis O'Dea, James Robertson Justice, Stanley Baker, Moultrie Kelsall, Terence Morgan, Richard Hearne, James Kenney, Alan Tilvern, Michael Dolan, Alec Mango, John Witty & Christopher Lee.

  • Repression on the High Seas

    • Charles Novo
    • 7/19/10

    Nice movie with solid acting, screenplay, and photography. Peck is good as usual, and though Mayo is mostly window dressing, it is not her first time performing under this constraint. Both the principals are duly passionate, upright, and virtuous. The movie expresses old fashioned virtues and does not apologize for doing so.

  • Captain Horatio Hornblower

    • Don
    • 6/20/06

    Gregorey Peck and Virginia Mayo were great in this movie of adventure on the high seas. This is a wonderful movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.