skip navigation
Calamity Jane

Calamity Jane(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Calamity Jane The Wild West heroine helps... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Doris Day and Howard Keel

    • Griffin
    • 5/7/14

    I taped this movie thinking I should watch it because of the great reviews. I figured I would watch it and delete it but boy was I wrong. I love this movie. As I watched it I thought it was funny and the music is great. I watch it at least once a week because I love the music. No wonder this is Doris' favorite movie. Doris is wonderful, Howard Keel is handsome and a great singer, and the supporting cast is perfect.

  • Calamity Jane - - My All Time Favorite Movie

    • Suzanne Lewis
    • 4/7/14

    I simply love this movie!! When I was a little girl, I have very fond memories of watching this movie with my mother. We both loved musicals and this one is superb. Doris Day is talented and beautiful. I find myself singing the songs from the movie...GREAT writers and composers!!! Please show this movie more often; I could never get tired of it. They don't make movies like they used to!!! This movie definitely brings tears to my eyes because it has it all.

  • Calamity Jane- Wonderful musical

    • Misty
    • 4/4/14

    This is a wonderful, fun musical. I just smile from beginning to end. It is such a great movie. The songs are a delight and the actors are perfectly cast.

  • Calamity Jane- Wonderful!

    • Misty
    • 4/4/14

    One of my all time favorite Doris Day movies. From the first scene until the last I have a big smile on my face. The singing is wonderful. The story is adorable. What a great movie.

  • Calamity Alright

    • Meredith
    • 8/3/13

    I have to admit I'm not a big Doris Day fan; I do like her okay in some of her roles, but this film is absolutely cringe worthy. I understand this is not a serious movie and it does have a fun lighthearted feel, but Day so overacts trying to be a western tomboy it's unbearable. The music is just great because it sticks in your head for days and days after seeing the film. I don't know the words exactly but I've got the tune and "windy city" playing round and round nonstop. I do wonder if when Day was lifted and lowered by her arms she felt any pain; when I saw it I thought of my arms being pulled out of their sockets, so I will give her credit for her stunt work.

  • Calamity Jane

    • Goetan
    • 8/2/13

    A Western musical with a questionable history concerning Calamity Jane & Bill Hicock. Day & Keel give solid work as the two mentioned historical figures, although Day seems like too much of a loud-mouth in the beginning. "Secret Love" won the Best Song Oscar, and the story has a predictable plot that viewers can see ahead of time. An entertaining and safe, straight-forward film. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Fun! Fun! Fun Musical!

    • maureen v.V
    • 7/2/12

    Doris Day was being herself as Calamity Jane. Fun and happy. Howard Keel is a handsome rugged Wild Bill Hickok. A good, fun musical movie to see.

  • Calimity Jane

    • Bobbee
    • 4/6/12

    When will we see it on TCM?

  • Unbelievable!

    • MGD1957
    • 3/29/12

    TCM is featuring 28 of Day's films as Star of the Month and they don't feature "Calamity Jane"? I can't believe the TCM programmers would've left out the film that's one of her favorites.

  • Delightful Doll

    • Condie
    • 1/14/12

    Of course Betty Hutton could play a more believable Calamity Jane. But she could not play a better Doris Day. And Doris Day is a delightful doll in this presentation.

  • What a fun movie!

    • Kristi
    • 2/10/10

    If you like fun, light-hearted musical comedies, then you will certainly love Calamity Jane. It's filled with colorful costumes, catchy tunes, and a lot of laughs. One of Dorris Day's best!

  • Calamiyty Jane (1953)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/14/09

    Overbearingly colorful and peppy, as well as way overlong. This is the kind of musical that just makes me groan. Doris Day gives such an exaggerated performance it gets annoying. There are some good songs, and it is well produced, but it has a phony look too it. There was little attempt at period detail.

  • We Want All Of Betty Huttons movies

    • Julie Crebs
    • 1/10/08

    This was a wonderful movie but there are so many more Betty Hutton movies out there that are not available for us to own on DVD: Let's Dance, Incendiary Blonde, Red Hot and Blue, Dream Girl, Spring Reunion, Somebody Loves Me, Star Spangled Rhythm. Please let us have them all. Now that Betty is gone, we need her movies to remember her.

  • Fun movie

    • JJ
    • 12/31/07

    Would love to see this on TCM

  • One of the grand old musicals.

    • Lewis Stone
    • 11/24/07

    While this movie may not be the quality of "Singing in the Rain" it certainly deserves to be added to your library of grand old musicals. You have a large number of Doris Day movies. Why not this one?I was learning to be a projectionest at the local theater at the time. This movie was the one where i "soloed" as a projectionist.

  • Best Musical of the '50's

    • Lee
    • 9/25/07

    Doris Day says it was her personal favorite. Would love to see it on TCM.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.