skip navigation
Five Star Final

Five Star Final(1931)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Five Star Final An unscrupulous newspaper... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Five Star Final is really entertaining!

    • Ralph Hamilton
    • 9/21/14

    I watch Five Star Final last night for the first time. In fact, I had never heard of this movie. It was after midnight and I kept thinking that I should turn it off, but the acting and storyline were too good to pass up. EGR is great as usual as is the rest of the cast. Being 1931 and the infancy of talkies, the acting can be a little stilted at times, but I think that adds to the charm of this picture. The telephone scene is really innovative and the final shot at the end of the movie appropriately sums up the "rags" newspaper industry which has not changed in all these years since the movie was made. Thanks TCM for showing some great pre-code movies lately!!! I have a new appreciation for the early '30's film work.

  • Breaking News! Don't miss "Five Star Final"

    • Fahnuchi
    • 9/2/11

    Outstanding movie! Edward G as always delivers the goods as a cigar smoking, hard ass, discompassionite news manager. Strong supporting cast including Boris Karloff, Francis Star, and H.B. Warner. But it's Mariam Marsh's giddy, light-hearteded "flapper girlish" performance that stands out. In her last scene when she turns into a wannbe avenging angel shouting over and over again, "Why did you kill my mother!? will bring tears to your eyes. Wow! What a performance!

  • Five Star Final

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/9/11

    ***1/2

  • Five Star Final

    • Glenn Taylor
    • 11/17/10

    Great story line and I want my wife to see it but I don't know when it plays again,can you remind me? Thank You.

  • Five Star Final (1935)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/24/10

    Outstanding melodrama about the cold and heartless newspaper industry, and it is amazing how little things have changed with the press in eighty years. As always, Edward G. Robinson is terrific, Aline MacMahon stand out in a supporting role, as does H.B. Warner and Boris Karloff. It's a heart wrenchings story, skillfully told with solid direction from Mervyn LeRoy. A gem of a film with vivid characterizations and a skillfully written screenplay.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • billw
    • 2/20/10

    This should be required in basic journalism classes. Sadly neglected through the years, this movie needs to be reproduced, and studied, as an indicator of the power of the press. Good job TCM for showing it, and I would buy it on DVD if you release it.....

  • Canal 10000 please

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/19/10

    This film reminds me what the power of the cinema truly is and how it can be used to make a statement about a social problem. Marian Marsh was very good, so was Aline MacMahon (one of my personal favorites), and EGR was simply amazing in his final scene. My favorite part, though, was the use of the split screen during the extended phone conversation scene where Nancy calls the newspaper office.

  • it has the right name for this move, right on time

    • terry
    • 2/18/10

    i was loving this picture looked everywhere to try to find it you MUST PUT THIS ON DVD FOR OTHERS TO ENJOY . my husband & i really really loved it

  • Five Star Final

    • libldy
    • 2/18/10

    What a tour de force!!! Mr. Robinson at his best.A must see for film buffs.

  • Great film topical still today!

    • greenwiccan
    • 3/4/09

    I had never heard of this film. I found it to be very emotional and not too dated. The topic is still relevant today. The media still sensationalizes stories and can be very unfeeling to get ratings. I enjoyed Karloff as a lecherous reporter.

  • Enjoyable!

    • Laura J
    • 3/3/09

    I never heard of this film before, but was intrigued that Boris Karloff was in it and it wasnt a thriller movie. I was glad I saw it. The storyline was excellent and so was the acting. Worth seeing!

  • "Five Star Final" on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 3/2/09

    I'd like this movie on DVD. I like Edward G. Robinson. I also like Boris Karloff.

  • Why did you kill my mother?

    • lastliberal
    • 2/6/08

    This Oscar-nominated film (Best Picture) shows the dark side of journalism as a paper delves into the past of a woman (Frances Starr) who was impregnated by her boss and acquitted of his murder.Edward G. Robinson (Little Caesar) is a newspaper editor that is interested in boosting circulation and is not concerned with the lives he destroys in the process. He goes after Nancy Voorhees (Starr), who is now Nancy (Voorhees) Townsend and is not concerned that she has not told her daughter (the doll-faced Marian Marsh), who is now about to me married, about her past.Robinson was absolutely brilliant in the role and ably assisted by Boris Karloff and Oscar-nominated actress (Dragon Seed) Aline MacMahon in her first film.A classic showing the seedy side of journalism.

  • Bring back Five Star Final!

    • Nancy
    • 12/31/06

    What a great movie and very timely even by today's standards, unfortunately. Edward G. Robinson plays the very hard yet redeeming editor of a rag newspaper. They are bringing back a murder story after 20 years of a woman who murdered her husband 20 years before. She now has a grown daughter who's about to get married when the story breaks. The daughter never knew and the murder was self defense. I'll just say at the end when the daughter confronts the newspaper men responsible and asks the question, "DID YOU MURDER MY MOTHER?!" And asks it over and over again will leave chills down your spine. I wish they would bring this movie back on video. I know my Dad who's 83 would LOVE IT!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.