skip navigation
Some Like It Hot

Some Like It Hot(1959)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Some Like It Hot Two musicians on the run from... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Some Like It Hot

    • vintage women
    • 11/30/14

    This is one of Marilyn's best performances. She just glows in this film & is just adorable. She brings the role of Sugar to life. Everybody in this film is great, and amazing film locations! Definetly a recommended film!

  • Some Like it Hot

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3/5Lead performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Score-4/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of genre- 3/5

  • Some Like it Hot

    • I_Fortuna
    • 3/2/13

    I love this movie especially the scenes showing the Hotel Del Coronado near San Diego. I stayed there many times and it is where I took my first tennis lessons. Many people in the states probably did not know what hotel this is when the movie was made but it was sure to make it popular. The Tony Curtis imitation of Cary Grant was very funny. I'll bet Cary was very amused. How can anyone not love Mailyn, Jack and Tony. And, what about that dress!? @@ What a fun film.

  • Oh, Sugar!

    • RedRain
    • 3/2/13

    Make no mistake about it. This is Marilyn Monroe's film and her greatest role. She is absolutely brilliant and comedic here. Her sexuality just jumps from the screen and she isn't even trying to be sexy! Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon are hilarious but it was Lemmon who justifiably received the Academy Award. The scenes between Lemmon as Daphne and Joe E. Brown are side-splittingly funny and Lemmon beginning to believe he is actually Daphne will have you laughing aloud. Ditto the seduction scenes between Curtis and Monroe. Curtis wrote he had a brief affair with Marilyn and it is obvious in the film that he adored her; however, bedding Marilyn seemed to be a preoccupation back then. I don't know how this film passed the censors in 1959 because there is so much innuendo and men in drag weren't even thought of in those days, much less spoken about! I never miss the opportunity to view this film. It is a real "essential" and will lighten your mood and lift your spirits. Marilyn won a Golden Globe for her performance but she should have, at the very least, been nominated for an Academy Award for this role. I love this film and I love Marilyn in it!

  • Best movie ever made

    • T.lL. Klein
    • 3/29/12

    I was a bit hesitant when this movie came on TCM. My mother told me it was a comedy, so I watched it. This is by far the best movie ever made. Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis made good looking women. This movie cannot be topped by the acting of Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon and Marilyn Monroe. Tony Curtis and jack Lemmon set the standard for other male actors to dress up as women.

  • "Some STILL like it Hot"

    • Dean
    • 3/12/12

    I agree with Shelly about Rob, but that's neither here nor there, except that while he mentions newer movies, this movie is as old as I am, 53 years old. Raised in the Midwest, I can't help but think that this movie had to be so provocative in the day. Remember, if you went and saw it when it was new, you were at least my parent's age. That puts you in your 70's!Before I start on the movie, a few words about Norma Jean. I never saw Marilyn as sexy on a flat piece of paper, but when I saw her in film... she oozed it like non other. While I've seen and read bio's on her and heard about the difficulty in working with her in later years, she still was and always will be a sex symbol. Oh, to have been Tony in the day. I agree with others here, in that she gave one of her best performances ever. As to the movie itself...The work of Billy Wilder is extraordinary, not just from a comedic standpoint, but also from other types of film makers. His work in direction, controlling cinematography, editing and all the other facets are exceptional. The recurring references to the Hupmobile, one legged jockey and other bits are hilarious.As risque as this film might be or have been, it will always be a classic and worthy of play as many times as deemed necessary by the TCM staff. One thing that I wondered about. Why did our heroes wait so long to get out of the building when "Spats" gang arrived. I would have been ducking and running as soon as the first 'Tommy' gun appeared!

  • Some Like it Hot

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 3/4/12

    Monroe gives her most best- remembered performance in this comedy milestone. Lemmon is absolutely hysterical & Curtis is funny, the latter as both a female saxist & faux millionaire. The story is nicely paced & brilliantly written from Wilder & Diamond. A near- perfect comedy. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Some Like It Hot

    • Shelley
    • 3/3/12

    Rob must be 12 years old !!! Might I remindyou that this movie cameout in 1959!! One of the very best ever made !!These actors set the bar for comics evennow..... They were ground breakers that will and should always be reveredI suppose you don't think Glenn Miller's band was any good either !!!!

  • Some Like It Hot (1959)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/3/11

    This movie is okay, but highly overrated and overplayed on TCM.

  • Are you kidding?

    • bob sal
    • 11/27/11

    How can anyone not like this film?All the performances were terrific !If you don't like this picture, you have no sense of humor.I watch it just about every time it is on.

  • Waste of blank film

    • rob
    • 11/26/11

    Not funny at all, a real waste of time to watch it. In my opinion of course. Only funny line was the last one of the movie. Men in drag has been done to death in the movies, Charlie's Aunt, Mrs. Doubtfire, Tootsie, none of them great, but all better than this one.

  • Marilyn Monroe Should Have Won The Oscar

    • Adventure
    • 10/4/11

    There is a brilliant book called Alternative Oscar which lists the Winners of the Oscar every year and the author notes His selections. In most cases they concur with the Winner however the Author picks Marilyn Monroe the winner in 1959, and I agree. Marilyn Monroe is brilliant in this film taking a role originally slated for the lovely star Mitzi Gaynor and made a supporting role the lead role as Sugar Kane. Billy Wilder directs Monroe, and her cast mates Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis in a fun filled romp. Joe E Brown is priceless and has one of the cinema's greatest fade outs but it is Marilyn Monroe who dominated the film. As Wilder who fought with Monroe noted that it was impossible not to watch Monroe when MM was on the screen. Kudos to Wilder, Lemmon, Brown but most of all to the Golden Girl of The Movies Marilyn Monroe for a great Oscar worthy performance. For the record I also feel Some Like It Hot, Wilder, Lemmon, Monroe and Brown ( as Best Supporting Actor) should have won Oscars.

  • All-Time Best Comedy

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/19/10

    I understand that "Some Like It Hot" (1959) starring Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis and Marilyn Monroe was named the best film comedy of all time by the National Film Registry, and deservedly so. It certainly pushed the envelope for its time, considering that its two main characters are male musicians dressing in drag and joining an all-girl band to escape from gangsters looking to kill them. It also features the band's super sexy singer/ukelele player, and numerous jokes and lines full of sexual inuendo. Although it seems quite tame by today's standards, "Some Like It Hot" must have been a shock for both audiences and censors in 1959. I have seen it many times, and it never fails to make me laugh. Frank Sinatra was director Billy Wilder's first choice for the role of Jerry/Daphne, but he turned it down (a good move for Sinatra - I just can't picture him in make-up and drag!), and that Mitzi Gaynor was considered for the role of Sugar. Sinatra and Gaynor co-starred in the 1957 biopic about singer/comedian Joe E. Lewis "The Joker Is Wild" (a film I wish was on DVD - I have a VHS recording of mediocre quality), and one wonders how much different "Some Like It Hot" would have been with them. Wilder directed Monroe in the 1955 comedy "The Seven Year Itch", and I wonder if he had as much trouble with her (blowing lines, needing many takes and showing up late or not at all) in that film as he had in "Some Like It Hot". By this time booze and drugs were beginning to take their toll on Monroe, and it was showing in her perfromances. It also features three actors with gangster film connections - Pat O'Brien ("Angels With Dirty Faces" with James Cagney), George Raft ("Johnny Angel", with him doing his famous quarter-flipping bit) and Edward G. Robinson Jr., son of one of the most famous gangster film stars ever, Edward G. Robinson ("Little Caesar","The Last Gangster", "Key Largo", etc.).

  • Some like it Hot

    • Grandma
    • 4/17/10

    Absolutely by far the coolest movie ever.Its everything a wonderful movie should have. LOved it then and have ever since....

  • Some Like It Hot

    • cheryl
    • 3/27/10

    This was so funny! The movie has so many jokes, both subtly and more out in the open. The laughs never stop and go on to the end. TonyCurtis, Jack Lemmon, and Marilyn Monroe were so good-I mean over the top and so into their characters. Oh they were so good that I would say this film is a definite must see. And the writer/ director Billy Wilder was way before his time-so talented.

  • The Most Overplayed film on TCM

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/16/10

    This film is on every month. There are other movies we would like to get to, please. :)

  • The Most Outrageous Comedy Ever Made.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 11/27/09

    Billy Wilder went over the top with this comical masterpiece, when he paired Marilyn Monroe with Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon as a pair of musicians masquerading as members of an all-girl band travelling to Florida after witnessing a gangland shooting in Chicago. The picture's funniest scenes are when Lemmon and Joe E. Brown perform a La Cage aux Folles number by doing the tango, and when Lemmon reveals himself as a man, the oblivious Brown replies, "Well, nobody's perfect." The movie won Orry-Kelly an Academy Award for Best Costume Design. Also starring George Raft, Pat O'Brien, Joan Shawlee, Nehemiah Persoff & Mike Mazurki. Lemmon should have gone in for psychotherapy after performing in drag.

  • This movie is close to my heart

    • dottaye
    • 8/5/09

    This movie reminds me of my childhood. i remember one night when i was a little girl, i could not go to sleep. so i went downstairs in the den and turned on the TV and there was "Some Like it Hot" i loved that movie from the first time i watched it. every time it comes on i have to watch it. when i went to college, i brought a movie poster. the first poster i ever brought was "Some Like it Hot" that poster is in my home today. now i got to have the DVD. wonderful movie.

  • Top Shelf

    • Jackey
    • 6/13/09

    This movie is just always enjoyable to watch. This dvd is always near the top of my dvd stacks. I can't get enough of Ms. Monroe. You just can't hate this movie.

  • Wilder, Lemmon, Curtis & Monroe

    • soulforcee
    • 4/25/09

    What's amazing is that the 4 were in the same great comedy. I still recall the 1st time I saw it: Monroe floored me because I had no idea she was so cute & I mean cute, not sexy. She'd already been over-sexualized by the US public. She sure could put on a musical number & act. Poor Wilder had to drag it out of her though. Curtis looked great in drag. Lemmon hilarious. I think Lemmon & Joe E. Brown had the most fun acting their parts. It bears the stamp of a Wilder comedy. But, the combo of Lemmon, Curtis & Monroe's what made it HOT!

  • MM Should Have Been Nominated!

    • David Atkins
    • 7/30/08

    Marilyn Monroe had been off the screen for a year or two. While a 20th Century Fox star, she was able to make outside movies and after WB's "Prince And The Showgirl" which she produced, she waited for the right film to return to Hollywood. Billy Wilder who directed MM so well in "Seven Year Itch" encourage MM to take the role of Sugar Kane which by any other actress would have been a supporting role. With MM it became a star role and a classic performance.No praise is high enough for the great involving performance of Marilyn Monroe. That year Audrey Hepburn, Kate Hepburn, Simone Signoret, Elizabeth Taylor, and Doris Day were nominated and Signoret the winner. Looking back at the great field of nominees I am not sure who would have been dropped to include MM but surely Marilyn was robbed.This is a great movie, so brilliantly directed by Billy Wilder at his greatest and with perfect pefformances by Marilyn Monroe, Tony Curtis and Joe E Brown and Jack Lemmon...oh that fadeout...

  • SUGAR

    • ALAN
    • 7/6/08

    A JOY FOR ALL OF US WHO LIKE TO LAUGH!MM AT HER BUXOM BEST!

  • SOME LIKE IT HOT

    • DIVASMOM
    • 2/28/08

    BILLY WILDER, IF HE HAD DIRECTED NOTHING ELSE, WOULD STILL BE A GIANT. THIS FILM HAS IT ALL....MONROE, LEMMON, AND CURTIS. (JOE E. BROWN IS HILARIOUS)ADMITTEDLY, MONROE WAS BEGINNING HER DOWNWARD SPIRAL..BUT WILDER WAS ABLE TO GET A WONDERFUL PERFORMANCE FROM HER. LEMMON - WHEN ASKED OF HIS ROLE SAID HE WAS ONLY PLAYING HIS MOTHER! WHAT HE DOES WITH AN UPPER BERTH IS A SCREAM. CURTIS CHANNELED CARY GRANT AND DOES A GREAT PIECE OF ACTING. ALTHOUGH HE DOESN'T SEEM AS AT EASE AS LEMMON DOES IN DRAG.NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES I VIEW THIS MOVIE IT IS STILL FRESH AND THE COMIC TIMING IS A JOY. IF YOU HAVE NEVER WATCHED THIS MOVIE - WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? THROW THE POPCORN IN THE MICRO-WAVE AND PREPARE YOURSELF FOR A ROLLICKING GOOD TIME.

  • In my top 5

    • Starlynn
    • 12/16/07

    I saw this movie on a college station in my hometown and fell in love with it. I told a few of my friends and one of them found it and bought for me I almost cried tears of joy and trust me I was hopping around. This movie is one of those movies that once you watch it you know that it's going to stick with you. The way the camera angles are the music at the right time and the dialouge all make for a enchanting movie!

  • A perfect film in all ways

    • Bob Stutsman
    • 11/30/07

    This is my personal favorite film, a film I never tire of watching. Why? The Wilder co-scripted screenplay and direction are perfect. There are so many priceless moments of brilliant and hilarious dialogue in this movie. Two of my favorites are in the early scene when the boys (Tony and Jack) are trying to get a car. Tony says to the lady he has obviously stood up some time earlier; "Baby, I'll make it up to you" and she snaps back (about his convoluted excuse), "You're makin' it up pretty good, so far." Near the end, when the George Raft character Spats is being interrogated by Pat O'Brien's cop about his whereabouts during the St. Valentine's massacre (the pre-text to the whole farce), one of his prompted hencemen blurts out, "We was (sic) with you at Rigoletto's."Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon, and Marilyn Monroe are all magical. The scenes of the girl band's party in the train with Jack as Josephine are priceless. This movie reminds us what a truly brilliant and witty man Billy Wilder was. In this case, there are no equals and they don't make them (with no profanity, but lost of suggestive dialogue, nonetheless) like they used to back in Hollywood's last golden age.

  • My favorite comedy of all time!

    • Ty
    • 4/26/06

    Thie movie blew me away the first time I saw it. It was my introduction to Billy Wilder, now one of my favorite directors.The humor still holds up today, almost 50 years later. Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon are perfect together. Marilyn is well... Marilyn! One of her last great films ("The Misfits" was pretty good too). I love everything about this movie. This will be the next soundtrack I get. I don't think any other movie has impacted me as much as "Some Like It Hot" has. This is the absolute best of Billly Wilder. A definition of a must-see.

  • this movie r0cks!!!

    • Alba
    • 2/23/06

    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen!!! I never get tired of seeing it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.