skip navigation
The Apartment

The Apartment(1960)

  • Friday, December 19 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Apartment An aspiring executive lets his... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Apartment

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-5/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-5/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • Funny Cynical and Sad

    • muriel
    • 3/21/13

    It's hard to like a character like Buddy in this film. A guy who gets ahead in the office by pimping his apartment to his bosses? Then falls for a sad girl who always makes bad choices with men. Her words, not mine.Fran is the nicest person in the story. She's young and foolish, at least she's aware than she has made stupid choices. She could do better than Buddy too!Everyone else jumps into their sordid joys with great relish.A cynical story about human nature. And funny!Jack Lemmon pulls out all his annoying affectations & tics for this movie, I actually have a hard time watching him. EVeryone else in the cast is great.

  • Wilder's Best Comedy

    • Christine Hoard-Barre
    • 1/1/13

    It is a cynical movie and that's the point. It is also funny, perfectly written/directed/acted/edited and filmed. This is a great movie and, in my humble opinion, Wilder's best comedy (and not just Oscar-wise).

  • My Favorite Discovery out of the Classics

    • Brianna Gaffney
    • 12/31/12

    I'm a big fan of Jack Lemmon...I first watched this particular film of his because it was his day on Summer Under the Stars. I've watched it every time it has been shown on tv. Is an all-time favorite now.

  • not a feel-good movie

    • hermann
    • 12/31/12

    I don't always agree with him, but I'm with Mr. Blandings this time. Completely. This movie takes a pretty cynical view of human nature. What I noticed particularly the last time I viewed it was how tacky the women were in it -- all those no-name broads that the men were shacking up with. Men acting like wolves may occasionally be funny, maybe. But women acting like feral felines, not funny.

  • The Apartment (1960)

    • Mr.Blandings
    • 8/28/12

    Another highly-regarded comedy-drama that left me unimpressed. Why is any portion of this film considered comedic, anyhow? Is it because Jack Lemmon is in it, gibbering on in his bumbling, obsessive-compulsive way? Is it because the film's premise is so ridiculously thin? Maybe the sexually-frustrated executive types that visit this site can clear it up, but don't they typically cheat on their wives by going to five-star hotels and then write the visits off as business expenses? (That's what bohemian-minded politicians do--only they use our tax dollars instead). It seems doubtful that they would be willing to time-share their illicit liasons in a shabby apartment with several other cheating couples (who cleans up the bed? Who would want to??) On top of that the characters are all one-dimensional and unsympathetic--and Buddy and Fran are definitely no exception. Buddy is a contemptible brown-noser and Fran willingly had an affair with a married man. On that note, Fred MacMurray proves yet again that he looks completely out of place playing a sleaze. Was he cast to add to the "high comedy" of the film? Just not buying into the outpour of love for this overrated movie.

  • never boring

    • Ted Baer
    • 4/24/12

    Part of what makes this a first rate film is the variety and complexity in the story, tone and execution. This film is many things and, mercifully, it is NOT many others. This is not a laugh riot or a Neil Simon nostalgia-fest. It is not a Woody Allen homage to Manhattan. It is not noir, nor a woman's film. It is not solely plot-oriented, farcical, racy or cynical. Instead this film is a skillful blending of all these elements. And it zips right along the whole time.What the French do for cooking -- combine some of everything, strategically leave out others, and make it all seem easy, natural and just delicious -- Billy Wilder did with this film. It's as satisfying as a perfect meal.

  • MUSIC OF THIS MOVIE

    • william gauslow
    • 2/11/12

    The theme song for this movie is the BEST. The theme song has the upsides of the people, then the downsides of peoples desires and finishes with the upsides of the result. Perfectly written theme song. PERFECTLY WRITTEN.

  • The Apartment (1960)

    • snovakov
    • 2/11/12

    A classic. Worth your while to watch it...trust me.

  • I AGREE!!!

    • el debbo
    • 2/2/12

    With everyone else who says they love this movie. It's one of the greats. Storyline, acting, and how 'bout that B&W photography? So crisp and really stunning. I adored the Jewish next-door neighbors. I wish she'd take care of me next time I'm sick. Yes, Lemmon does seem like he's on speed at times "I'm on a blitz!" but it's delicious none the less. And uplifting. Shut up and watch!

  • madison ave in n.y.

    • verdevil
    • 8/7/11

    This movie is the best love jack and shirley. This to me seems like the place where Mad Men plot came fromit looks like they made the 60's story from this clip.

  • Another Billy Wilder classic!

    • Andy Alburger
    • 8/4/11

    A definite 5-star rated treat. The Apartment stars Jack Lemmon, Shirley MacLaine and Fred MacMurray and is directed by the amazing Billy Wilder. Taking home a total of five Academy Awards including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay it's no wonder The Apartment is such a hit. The set designs, music and editing are all fantastic and worthy of a mention, and the camera angles from Wilder are just divine. The screenplay is one of the most memorable thing's about the film. The Wilder-Diamond pairing is terrific and they both write film gold, with lots of humor throughout, as well as drama during the second half. The acting from both Lemmon and MacLaine is fantastic and both are terrifically skilled in both comedic and dramatic performances. It's hard to believe that Jack Lemmon didn't come home with the Oscar. The supporting performances are fine, too. The scenes are done very well and I don't have much bad things to say. The Apartment is a fantastic film.

  • Love it...

    • Nandi Crawford
    • 7/17/11

    Although some movie buffs want to know how in the world could Wilder be on top with "The Apartment" but yet bomb out later on with 1964s "Kiss Me Stupid". This movie is the ultimate. Jack Lemmon plays a schmuck that lets the big dogs use his apartments for their "extracurricular activities" and when Shirley McClaine decides to off herself in his place on Christmas Eve after being with Fred MacMurray, everybody swears he's the one doing the dirt because he's the one covering up for these bastards. Throughout this whole movie, you feel sorry for Lemmon, but in a sense, he put it on himself by letting these lowlife dogs use his place to do their business, but then again one hand washes the other but like they say in the end, it ties up nicely. didn't know it was on now.

  • The first screen pairing of Lemon and Maclaine.

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 7/4/10

    This is the first screen paring of Jack Lemon and Shirley Maclaine..in Mr.Wilder's screen satire of big business' sexual misconduct.The performances by these two is funny,charming and warm.The performances from the supporting cast is also memorable.

  • The Apartment (1960)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/12/09

    Billy Wilder and I.A.L. Diamond do a magnificent job writing this outstanding classic. The screenplay is fresh and brilliant. Witty, touching and funny, with an amazing cast. Jack Lemmon is perfect in the lead role. Expertly done, flawless production. A deserved best picture winner.

  • Enjoyable!

    • Laura J
    • 2/1/09

    When I saw how many minutes the film was, I thought I would be bored, but instead it was so enjoyable time flew by. I really liked it and would recommend it.

  • One of the best movies ever!

    • Joe
    • 1/14/09

    Simply terrific movie. The Apartment should be in every serious top ten movie list. I fell in love with Shirley MacLaine watching this movie. They do not make women, or movies, or actors, like this anymore. Jack, Fred, and Shirley give five star performances throughout. This one has everything, and then some. One of the best movies ever.

  • I LOVE this movie!!!

    • anne
    • 1/14/09

    this is my favourite movie of ALL timejust love Jack Lemmon and Shirley McLaine is a goddess of all goddesses

  • Highly Recommended

    • Dean
    • 8/9/08

    Never was too much of a fan of this cast of actors until I had the pleasure of watching this movie.What great performances.It was so well acted having a fantastic story that takes you through a range of emotions and seemed true to life.This is the type of movie that you dont want to end because its entertaining and enjoyable the entire time your watching it.So glad I took the time to give this one a chance.

  • Simply excellent!!

    • Henock Gugsa
    • 3/12/08

    What a delightful movie! It has all the right ingredients for a modern-day tale of big-city life of an insurance clerk (a serious actuarian). He has big career ambitions and an undeserved reputation as a rake by his neighbors. He is really a very decent fellow with an unrestrained romantic streak. Jack Lemmon plays this character just absolutely perfectly. Shirley MacLaine is the love interest, and Fred MacMurray is surprisingly good in a rare role for him. There is bittersweet romance, and there is plenty of humor and satire. The social setting may seem outdated now, especially in the area of men's predatory attitudes towards women in the work place. But maybe it is only a matter of degree of sophistication. At any rate, as the doctor in this movie says, "Be a human being!"... and see The Apartment. I guarantee you will be well rewarded!

  • Please Read:)

    • Briana
    • 3/8/08

    Overall this film is great. The acting,story, directing, Jack Lemmon- all great! I reccomend it to anyone who loves a laugh and a great witty love story. I feel like this is the kind of film that's put off as just another romantic comedy, but its so much more than that. It's brilliant.

  • Great Movie!

    • John Demsys
    • 3/8/08

    Jack Lemmon is outstanding in this movie as well as Shirley Maclaine. I would pit this movie against any new movie. I was not a fan of the older movies until I watch Turner classics. YOU cant keep me away from watching movies like the apartment and others. Thank you Turner Classics.

  • One of my Favorite Movies

    • joeanna
    • 3/8/08

    I enjoy Jack Lemmon in just about all his movies and I really love Shirley Maclaine as well. They both do an excellent performance. This movie still has social significance today, I think, even though it was made over 40 years ago. I am looking forward to watching it again. I never tire of it. One of the great movies and one of my favorites.

  • Understated brilliant movie

    • Brian
    • 2/12/08

    I saw this was on and thought, nah I have seen this before, know the story, etc. Yet after two minutes I was re-hooked. I was able to appreciate the direction and screenplay that were both seemingly simple yet had you totally captured. The movie move along effortlessly and had me engaged the whole time.If someone told you the storyline, you would think it was about tawdry extramarital sex. But it showed the shallowness of midde aged men lusts and the poor targets of naive youth. Shirley MacLaine is the true star - perfect acting, warm and beautiful in a simple way. She seemed much wiser than the actions her character carried out. Lemmon was great but did manage to be too corny at times. Fred MacMurray whom I never like was actually very good as the despicable powerful letch.The theme music is beautiful and haunting.It really is a superb movie one of the best.One funny bit. I looked at the trailer here at TCM and the first scene it showed was the very last scene of the movie - dont look at the trailer!

  • Great Movie

    • Danyelle
    • 7/18/07

    One of my favorites.

  • One of the best....

    • Amy
    • 5/14/07

    This is one of my absolute favorite movies of all-time! Jack Lemmon is so irresistibly funny and Shirley MacLaine is just wonderful - a must-see to anyone who hasn't yet!!!

  • A must see

    • Lisa
    • 8/27/06

    Jack Lemmon is a genius. Please play this on TCM - we hardly see it played. Both genders will enjoy this classic!

  • One of my favorites

    • Mary
    • 3/21/06

    An all around great movie--great acting, great story, great (enter movie aspect here)!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.