skip navigation
Red River

Red River(1948)

  • Thursday, April 24 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Red River A young cowhand rebels against... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best Western Ever?

    • Greg
    • 11/22/13

    For decades I considered this the best western ever made. Not so sure now, given Lonesome Dove, Open Range and Silverado. Wayne shows some great acting skills, and Montgomery Cliff and Joanne Dru are incredibly attractive looking people in this film. In addition, this is just a great story.

  • Red River

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-3/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-2/5Score-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-3/5

  • Almost perfect WesternU

    • Teresa Van Dyck
    • 3/1/13

    I fell in love with John Wayne in this great Hawkes' production. Monte Clift always delivers the goods as does John Ireland. Finally, I had to be 60 to truly appreciate Wayne. The only pill in this movie was Joanne Dru. Her lines are corny and her actions are even cornier. Wrecks an almost perfect movie for me. I could have done without her in the whole movie. Then it would have been a perfect movie. Anyway, in real life, she married John Ireland. I hope they were happy. Tom (Wayne's character) should have taken his true love with him in the beginning. Otherwise, a four to five star picture. Even with a couple of flaws, this movie is worth seeing. So please take a look. You will not be sorry.

  • Excellent!

    • RedRain
    • 3/1/13

    I am not a real fan of the Western genre as most are, at best, B-movies; however, this certainly isn't one of them! It is a Western film at its finest, with characters drawn perfectly. The cinematography here lends itself to the film, rather than detracting, and it truly makes you feel you're there with Wayne and Clift. Clift was 28 when he made this film but he looked years younger and it suited the role very well. Howard Hawks knew how to direct Westerns and this one is his crowning glory!

  • Red River

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/10/12

    In my opinion, both Wayne & Clift should have recieved 'Oscar' nominations for this film. Both give strong performances, Wayne playing an unsympathetic old mentor & Clift as his rebellious adopted son. The landscape resembles something familiar in a John Ford film, but this is Hakes' film alone. A great, but long western. I give it a 4/5.

  • RED RIVER, TOP NOTCH

    • MACK
    • 2/9/12

    TOP NOTCH MOVIE BY THE DUKE, THEY DON'T MAKE EM' LIKE THAT ANYMORE

  • Red River

    • Paul Salapatas
    • 9/11/11

    Best western ever made?There's no such creature! Their are plenty of 'em! But I will say that this is one of my favorite John Wayne westerns,his character being refreshingly complex.Monty Clift comes out swinging in his first movie,literally,and it's exciting to watch the plot unfold as Wayne's and Clift's characters become increasingly dependant of each other and the effect it has.And in it's own way,it's a love story, of sorts! But,don't be afraid of love,my friend, it makes heroes of us! Lot's of good action and a good storyline makes this poignant film a five star wonder!

  • Greatest Western Ever?

    • Mr. D
    • 8/8/11

    The American Film Institute rates The Searchers (also starring John Wayne) the greatest westerrn ever made - but you can make a case for Red River to get that honor. John Wayne not only has to tame the wild west, but must try to tame his adopted son Montgomery Clift as well. The Duke is bound and determined to be the first man to drive a huge herd of cattle to market up the Chisholm Trail - but when his men hear that an easier route might exist - via Abilene - they grumble, then rebel. What a compelling, memorable movie.

  • Red River

    • Mark
    • 4/25/10

    ALL Star cast, cowboys playin' cowboys, very authentic scenes, lots of cattle, which most westerns skimp on, especially those few Long Horns (which at the time, were near extinct). Not an over developed plot, Montgomery Clift in his prime, a superb job, Joanne Dru, a bit of over-acting but beautiful still, the incomparable Walter Brennan, Paul Fix, who would later be featured on the Rifleman and John Ireland, whos part didn't become too complicated. All & All I tend to agree with Gregs' Father, this may be The Best Western Ever Made.

  • Dad said this was the Best Western ever.

    • Greg
    • 9/28/07

    In 1958, I was 12 years old. I remember my Dad being real excited one evening because a movie called Red River was about to come on TV. He said it was the best western ever made. I watched it with him. He was right.......I'm 61 years old now. Red River is still the best western ever. The performances by John Wayne, Walter Brennan, John Ireland, Joanne Drew, and a new face that made the women MELT---Montgomery Clift are works of art.

  • Over the Clift

    • ojc
    • 9/2/07

    Great western. Outstanding performances all around. Especially, John Wayne as a tyrannical leader and Joanne Dru playing the traditional Howard Hawks tough no nonsense gal pal. But Montgomery Clift is the real reason to see this film. Everytime I see this movie I only wish that Monty had worked in more epics and action pictures. His sensitivity and humanity make even a two dimensional character into a portrait of a flesh and blood human being. What a talent!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.