skip navigation
Fighter Squadron

Fighter Squadron(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Fighter Squadron A dedicated flyer pushes... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Request for this to recorded on DVD

    • Dr. Paul Hagan
    • 7/15/09

    It is my profound request that the entire movie "Fighter Squadron" be placed on DVD and then available for sale immediately. This movie impressed me in my careet path of becoming a Clincal Pathologist, and joining the USAF.The film is just something that must be saved and placed on DVD and then for sale. Please, do this without fail. I saw this film when it was released in 1948 at the age of 10, and vowed to have something to do with flying and the USAF.Truly one of the best inspirational films.

  • Where's The Video?

    • Gale Belle
    • 4/19/09

    Of all the movies concerning avation in war time, how can you not record this one on disc.!!!!!!!! It is a must for me. There's not a lot of living left for me. GIVE US THE VIDEO, PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Inspirational movie

    • dave beane
    • 11/18/08

    I saw this movie first run in 1948, as a child. I was enamored of flying before I saw the movie. It ignited in me an ambition to be a pilot when I grew up, especially a fighter pilot. After graduating from Penn State in 1960, I enlisted in the Air Force, and managed to qualify for pilot training. I made fighters, and flew Phantom's in 'Nam. Came through that OK, and went to the airlines after my enlistment was up. Flew for a major carrier until my retirement in 1997. Still flying, but now a homebuilt aircraft. Loved that movie. Never forgot it.

  • What a superb piece of aviation history!

    • Steve Chirigotis
    • 1/13/08

    Many people, especially aviation and history buffs,are missing the boat here, by not appreciating this film-this is a superb capturing of WWII European Theater aviation- a P-47 fighter-bomber squadron in action,filmed shortly after the war, with the original aircraft(who cares if they have different squadron colors?),and many of the original flyers.So, the story seems a little hammy(the actors are great,and under-apprecated)-but not entirely,if you've EVER been in a combat air wing,it's like a cutting-edge sports team-with winning involving killing the enemy in the air and on the ground,while trying to stay alive-they even show the terrible attrition rate.Liken it to a modern aviation version of the film, "300". It still gives me a thrill to see those birds fly-so it will for any other flyer, who still has any heart.It hooks you and gets you into the spirit-it's the "Top Gun" of it's time !

  • It's time for a DVD release!

    • AV8TORJoe
    • 7/25/07

    You will never see a film such as this that showcases the venerable P-47 Thunderbolts! The actual gun-camera footages seen on this film only enhances the very powerfull image of the T-bolts in action. A great and fun WWII aerial combat flick to watch everytime!I saw this film for the 'umpteenth time' and it never fails to bore me everytime. Once this movie is released on DVD, it will be 'prized' among my other great DVD collections of Classic Hollywood Aviation genre films. They don't make these kinds of movies anymore, so a DVD format is highly welcomed!

  • German P-51s!

    • Greg
    • 7/24/07

    Great movie and it's great to see a movie focusing on the P-47 for once. The Thunderbolt protected my father-in-law when he flew B-17 missions over Germany. It's painful to watch the German Messerschmidts in this movie being played by P-51's though! That profile is just too easily identifiable as Mustang.

  • Where was John Derek?

    • Tony Correll
    • 6/1/07

    Can anyone say why John Derek is not listed among the other actors in this movie? He appeared here in a prominate role. In any other sites relating to his movie career "Fighter Squadron" is not mentioned there either. Any ideas about that?

  • Fighter Squadron

    • Stan Jarmel
    • 2/11/07

    Like many Airplane Buffs and also a remote control Radio Flyer this movie has it all action comedy and great flying scenes I could watch it over and over beside the P-47 is one of my favorite planes I would like to see it on DVD because one of the reasons is tthat your company dose not play this movie very often as you do others just to name one is that touch of mink with Doris Day etc sincerly Stan Jarmel

  • For the P-47 lovers.

    • Joey Ocampo
    • 10/28/06

    This is the film for all P-47 Thunderbolt advocates!

  • Classic action

    • Henry Sanchez
    • 10/14/06

    I saw this movie when it first came out and several more times since then. I can't imagine why this film hasn't been made available for home viewing.

  • on fighter squadron

    • chuck kiley
    • 9/15/06

    this is a ww2 classic . i do not see how it has been overlooked by those who decide which titles to release or show on the various movie channels. it ranks right up there with anything john wayne did. it is a color film which leads to its credibility as a classic war movie. lets get it out there!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.