skip navigation
Gaslight

Gaslight(1944)

  • Saturday, December 13 @ 12:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, February 8 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gaslight A newlywed fears she's... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Bergman Nails Best Actress Performance

    • Delia
    • 2/20/14

    This is one of those movies that makes you wonder, "Why don't they make movies like this anymore?" It's got everything--a murder mystery, a duplicitous husband, a damsel in distress, a would-be suitor, and Bergman in the performance of a lifetime. Gaslight is the inspiration of all subsequent let's-scare-her-death movies and rightly so. Charles Boyer defines dastardly as the piano accompanist who courts and wins a gullible voice student (Bergman) in order to (spoiler alert) get closer to what he really wants--jewels. He develops a devious plan to drive Bergman insane with such malice that you want to jump into the picture and slap him. More than once. Bergman steps on the gas and never lets up as she's slowly driven to madness by her husband. Joseph Cotton is excellent as usual as the detective who senses something is amiss and a young Angela Lansbury is dandy as the catty housemaid who flirts with Boyer. The final scene with Bergman and Boyer in the attic is a tour de force from both players. As the Best Actress award went to Bergman that year, Oscar definitely got this one right. One of the true essentials.

  • Perfection!

    • RedRain
    • 6/9/13

    Ingrid Bergman has never been better than she is in this very creepy film! I've been fascinated by the story for decades and watch this film whenever TCM schedules it. Charles Boyer, as the avaricious and evil husband trying to drive his wife insane, is also stellar in his role here. Watch Bergman's facial expressions and, in particular, her eyes as she begins to believe she's losing her mind. She says more with her face than any dialogue could match. Bergman was up against Bette Davis for her phenomenal performance in "Mr. Skeffington," Barbara Stanwyck for an equally good performance in "Double Indemnity," Greer Garson in "Mrs. Parkington," and Claudette Colbert in "Since You Went Away." There is no doubt whatsoever that Bergman deserved the Academy Award she won for this film!

  • A "must see" movie

    • maureen v.v.
    • 1/7/13

    I wish it was in colour.It would have been wonderful to see all the costumes and jewels in technicolour. A good movie to watch. I gave the movie 4 stars mostly because of the suspense it had. The acting was only 3 stars.

  • A stunning film

    • Pamela
    • 8/29/12

    I remember when I first saw this film. A friend had referred to my ex-husband's treatment of me as "gaslighting" and I had no idea what she was talking about. I looked for the film and when I saw it I understood just what she meant. Everything about this film is exquisite, from Ingrid Bergman, who is at the height of her earthy, sensual beauty, to the slippery Charles Boyer and our hero, Joseph Cotten (I can always watch a Joseph Cotten film). Yummy entertainment!

  • Incredible performace by all

    • Kamster
    • 6/19/12

    One of the most involving flims I've seen due to the excellent performance by all the actors. This film introduced me to Joseph Cotten, who has now become one of my favorite actors. Beautifully filmed and masterfully directed. A joy to watch over and over again.

  • Gaslight

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/4/12

    A beautifully filmed psychological thriller. Bergman won an 'Oscar' among a great cast, giving one of her best performances. The costumes & art direction are visually appealing, however, the story has dated. A good film from Cukor. I give it a 4/5.

  • REVIEW

    • MichaelTASO
    • 2/4/12

    this is old movie w/ actress i recognize!

  • Psycholgical, Dark and Sinister Remake.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 8/6/10

    Charles Boyer, Ingrid Bergman and Joseph Cotten star in George Cukor's eerie, suspenseful remake of the original 1940 British film based on Patrick Hamilton's play set in Victorian London. Ingrid gives an Oscar-winning performance as a beautifully vulnerable newlywed, who is being driven insane by mysterious events making her believe she's losing her mind. Boyer is coolly sinister as her treacherous husband, who is trying to keep a terrible secret from her. The picture is rich in Victorian flavor, and fine performances remain intact. The movie also won a second Academy Award for Best Interior Decoration (B&W). With Angela Lansbury (in her film debut), Dame May Whitty, Barbara Everest, Edmond Breon, Halliwell Hobbs, Lawrence Grossmith, Heather Thatcher, Emil Rameau, Tom Stevenson & Terry Moore.

  • see the 1940 version

    • herman
    • 8/5/10

    So she wins the oscar. I still think she's miscast. For me, Ingrid Bergman just radiates too much health and intelligence to be credible in this role. I think the 1940 British version is far superior. (They don't play it often, but keep a look out for it.)

  • Creepy and Romantic

    • Cherie J
    • 3/27/10

    This is a classic title from the Golden Years of Hollywood and to my mind everything about it is perfect. The film's recreation of Victorian London is superbly realised all indoors at the MGM soundstages - it's all make believe but the viewer would never know it. Charles Boyer, who plays Ingrid Bergman's husband is suitably creepy and one is left wondering why he should be torturing such a beautiful creature. Ingrid Bergman is dressed to the nines in wonderful period costumes, and she is very sympathetic playing a dependent woman who is far stronger than she or the audience realises. This is excellent stuff and a film that is fun to watch over again if you are really devoted to some of these great old films.

  • gas light is classic

    • david moro
    • 10/31/09

    i watched gaslight last night ohhh its mystery and a excellent cast

  • A Spellbinding Mind-Bender.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/25/09

    Ingrid Bergman gives a well-deserved Oscar-winning performance in this remake of the original 1940 British film based on Patrick Hamilton's play set in Victorian London, in which she plays a young newlywed being driven out of her mind by a set of mysterious events. Charles Boyer is perfectly cast as her treacherous husband. The movie won another Oscar for it's magnificent Victorian England setting. Also starring Joseph Cotten, Dame May Whitty, Angela Lansbury, Barbara Everett, Edmond Breon, Halliwell Hobbs, Lawrence Grossmith, Heather Thatcher, Emil Rameau, Tom Stevenson & Terry Moore.

  • Gaslight (1944)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/19/09

    Exquisitely acted, particularly by Ingrid Bergman and Angela Lansbury. The art direction is great and the score is very memorable. Excellent pace, atmosphere and very suspenseful.

  • Those were the days of great movies!

    • Connie
    • 1/4/09

    I had seen this movie as a child and really did not appreciate it then. Today, I could not tear myself away from the TV. I usually feel it is an irresponsible use of time during the day to watch a movie BUT today was an exception. It is a classic and thank you for showing it.

  • Classic Movies are Classic for a Reason.

    • Pam Lavoie
    • 1/4/09

    I really enjoyed this movie. Everything about it was very classy from the set to the plot to the costumes. It really proves a point not to second guess yourself, as that in itself is insanity.

  • One Of My favorite Bergman Films

    • Barbara Lovejoy
    • 3/14/08

    Next to Indiscreet and Casablanca this movie is one of my favorite Bergman films. She really has you believing she is losing her mind and Boyer is superb as the villain.

  • Bergman is Brilliant

    • Paula Donham
    • 3/14/08

    One of my alltime favorites. Bergman brings you right into the story, and Boyer is appropriately nasty as the scheming but handsome husband who stole her heart. Angela Lansbury is terrific as the insolent maid who seems to have designs on Boyer. Joseph Cotten is terrific as the sympathetic detective who rescues Paula. He is a hell of an actor. I watch this every time it's on and shared it with my kids; they like it, too!

  • Favorite

    • Danyelle
    • 7/18/07

    This movie is the start of me eatching old black and whites. I feel in love eoth this movie at first watch. Ms. Ingrid was something watch she is beautiful and a wonderful actress. One of the best everyone should watch in September.

  • this is good

    • michael york
    • 10/13/06

    but the 1940 version is much better more atmospheric and tension-filled cukor and mgm make this one a little too glossy although boyer and bergman are great

  • Fantastic

    • Valerie Arseneault
    • 10/6/06

    I saw this several years ago and never forgot it! Great to watch and own on DVD.I recommend it highly to all Ingrid Bergman fans especially

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.