skip navigation
The Sting

The Sting(1973)

  • Tuesday, January 6 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Sting Two con men hit the big time to take on a gangster in... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Top Ten

    • Shadyal
    • 10/11/13

    my review title says it all.

  • Eileen Brennan over Robert Redford

    • Rich Bysina
    • 2/7/13

    Not really a review, but a question to whoever lists the three stars of these movies: How can you list Paul Newman, Robert Shaw, and then EILEEN BRENNAN!?!? Is Robert Redford "chopped liver"?

  • One of the all time best

    • TK
    • 7/17/12

    The Sting is so entertaining on so many levels. A movie has to be truly special when it contains so many surprises and plot twists, yet can still be enjoyed over and over even after the first viewing. In my opinion, it's the perfect combination of cast, script, plot, sets, costumes, music, direction, everything. Sometimes I think Hollywood forgets that one of it's main objectives should be to entertain us. But not this time. One of my all time favorites.

  • BLOwsnoAcTion

    • stung'
    • 7/12/12

    overatedNOActionsloW'....Watching-paint..>DRYyes-trickbuttons'onwindow'}

  • The Sting

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/12/12

    Director Hill and stars Newman & Redford reunite to make the Best Picture winner of '73. Redford earns an Oscar nomination for his ambitious con man who meets Newman's con man to avenge a fallen friend. Strong supporting work from antagonist's Shaw & Durning, and Brennan & Gould. Costume desinger Edith Head won her final Oscar for creating the costumes; also honoured for direction, original screenplay, art direction, editing & music. A terrificly suspenseful, funny & entertaining film. I give it a 5/5.

  • "You owe me fifteen grand, pal"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/11/12

    Good film (one gripe: no need to move see-through curtains) with good acting (especially Newman and Shaw, unbelievably neither one nominated for an Oscar) and a realistic, good story (complex, with twists, yet able to be followed and appreciated) in Chicago. "The Sting" is about bad people doing bad things to bad people - the realistic, bad story too many Americans would tell when describing the ongoing history of the Windy City.

  • One of the great twist endings...

    • Tim Walters
    • 5/31/11

    I remember seeing this at the drive-in when it first came out. As a kid, I loved watching the supporting characters do their memorable jobs (especially Charles Durning's Lt. Snyder). The ending blew me away and made me a fan for life! Overall, this film remains one of my all-time favorite for a multitude of reasons: the plot, the characters, the pacing, the music(!), among others. This is one of those 'have fun' films that you can watch over and over...and I do!

  • You owe me ten grand, pal.

    • Pat Turman
    • 9/24/10

    In 1973 (when I was about ten), my parents took me to the theatre to see this movie. I have been a huge Paul Newman & Robert Redford fan ever since. I absolutely love the card-playing scene on the train. Newman looks like he's having so much fun pretending to be drunk as he gets Robert Shaw's goat. Has any actor ever been more charming in the movies? If so, I haven't seen it.

  • Butch and Sundance of the Great Depression.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/20/10

    Paul Newman and Robert Redford made motion picture history in 1969 with "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid", and now, they're back together again in George Roy Hill's Oscar-winning comedy caper set in Depression-era Chicago. Newman and Redford are two small-time con men, who conspire a plot by putting "the sting" on Robert Shaw as a New York City high-roller, who murdered one of their pals. A long and entertaining film. Winner of seven Academy Awards including Best Picture, Hill as Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Art Direction-Set Decoration, Marvin Hamlisch won an Oscar for Best Score Adaptation, Best Costume Design and Best Film Editing. Also starring Eileen Brennan, Charles Durning, Ray Walston, Sally Kirkland, Harold Gould, Dana Elcar, Robert Earl Jones, Charles Dierkop, Arch Johnson, Dimitra Arliss, James J. Sloyan, Avon Long, John Quade, Paulene Myers, Jack Kehoe, Ed Bakey, Larry D. Mann, Kenneth O'Brien, Jack Collins, Ta-Tanisha & Tom Spratley.

  • The Sting(1973)

    • nshepard
    • 8/21/10

    One of the Greatest Films ever made ! Terrific music score based on Scott Joplin. George Roy Hill directs Paul Newman, Robert Redford and an all-star cast of misfits,crooks, con-men grifters , hookers and assasins ! What more can you ask for , shown in "Chapter" form, revenge is sweet but the best the "boys" can do is huslte gangster Doyle Lonnegan(Robert Shaw) who has Luther Coleman(Robert Earl Jones) murdered. This much beloved film has tremendous heart! Winner of 10 , count em' 10 Academy Awards! And everyone of them earned !A true celebration of film !

  • What a great movie!

    • Dave
    • 6/13/10

    This movie has it all! Well deserving of the best picture Oscar! The first time I saw this movie I was completely surprised at the ending! A true cinema classis and a must see!

  • Boy, was I "stung"....

    • FrankieCee
    • 5/11/07

    What a TERRIFIC movie..one of my all time favorites...the only thing that saddened me a little was the ending....but George Roy Hill directed this movie to cinema perfection, Newman and Redford together make a chemistry that very few ever achieve...this has got to be one of the 10 best movies ever made....at least it should be...keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire way...GREAT FILM!!!!

  • The Sting

    • Callie Rhodes
    • 3/18/07

    This is one of the best movies of all time. The first time I saw it my jaw literally dropped at the end. Paul Newman and Robert Redford are brilliant in it. The screenplay and plot are bith brilliant. Just to show how good it is, I forced two of my friends, both teenage guys, to watch it. Their mouths were hanging open, and at the end they were both speechless. The first thing that was either one said was, "Wow." And I have to agree, wow.

  • the sting

    • dick hawley
    • 10/22/06

    probably one of the most entertaining movies of all time. Can't imagine a better cast. We have watched it many times and will continue to watch in the future. We are 70 years old but really believe it,s watchable by any age.

  • One of the...

    • Carl Carstens
    • 3/24/06

    One of the BEST movies, ever, period! A true movie masterpiece! The plot, music, performances, everything was very fine tuned to make a movie that I shall never forget. Excellent, superb! They will never make a movie like this, again! The talent available today just isn't good enough. A remake would only be a very poor imitation. I would highly recommend this movie to those who want to see what movie making used to be, and would still be if the actors today were as talented as they were then.

  • Entertaining movie

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 3/4/06

    This is a movie with clever writing and wonderful performances. The cast is a pure delight. Why wasn't Harold Gould nominated for a supporting Oscar? Ray Walston and Eileen Brennan are great too. I highly recommend this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.