skip navigation
Beyond the Forest

Beyond the Forest(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Beyond the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • This is NOT a Dump!

    • jery tillotson
    • 7/15/14

    Until the day she died, Bette Davis never missed a chance to butcher this last movie under her contract with Warner-Brothers. Consequently, people who had never even seen Beyond the Forest became convinced this was a "horrible bomb," as Bette put it. I remember even watching a TV censor on some comedian's late night show describe what a horrible assignment he had that day. When asked the movie he was discussing, he looked around and then chortled: "Beyond the Forest." The comedian and the audience all collapsed in hysteria. They knew the title and its reputation.Beyond the Forest shows Bette Davis at her greatest. Her power to create a frustrated housewife in small town America in the late 1940s is stunning. She wears her dark tresses down to her shoulder, enjoys wearing form-fitting clothes. This was the style back then, even in small towns. I know. I grew up in one in the deep South. Maria Montez and Hedy LaMarr were the style leaders. The belching chimneys of the wood factory are shown as deadly and depressing. Rosa loves to watch the train pass by, going to Chicago. When I saw Beyond the Forest in a revival house in Manhattan in 1980, the theater was jammed with Bette Davis fans. When that powerful ending comes in--to the musical strains of an extraordinary score by legendary Max Steiner--the entire audience stood up and cheered, screamed and, applauded. It was like we had all witnessed something amazing and stunning and unforgettable.TCM, please show us this movie--and get it on DVD where we millions of fans are frantically awaiting it.

  • Grossly Underrated Film

    • Alex
    • 11/26/13

    Dear TCM programmers & Robert Osborne, please air this film. I've been waiting for at least 5 years for it to air on TCM, to no avail. I was hoping it would air last month during the tribute to King Vidor, but no luck. It's Bette Davis' most controversial film, with wildly divergent opinions from viewers. I personally think it's one of her best films, one that has stood the test of time better than her soap operas like Dark Victory or her comedies like The Man Who Came to Dinner. Bette burns up the screen in every frame of this film and is a hoot to watch as Rosa Moline. The dialogue by Lenore Coffee is great. The cinematography is moody & noirish. The plot is out of this world. King Vidor's direction evokes German expressionism. Pauline Kael loved this movie and said "there's not a sane dull scene in this peerless piece of camp." Please give your viewers the supreme pleasure of watching this film!

  • Over the top!

    • marc
    • 6/29/12

    Total Hootfest!!!

  • art imitating life

    • charles mark
    • 11/10/11

    It is no secret that bette was disatisfied with the movies tat she made between 1946 to 1948/let's say they were hit or miss! Jack warner alos noticed that bette was not noimated for any oscar after her portrayl of fanny skefffington in mr. skeffington/her box office allure was slowly dwindling down after world war II/her ibbest hit for the studio was a stolen life in which she was the producer/then she quietly disabandoned her production company favoring herself in front of the camera/in 1949 she was making 10'000 a week/this was incredible money at the time/jack warner used her weakening box office appeal to make beyond the forest/if she did not, he would put her on suspension/in bette's own life. her unhappiness with her then current husband sherry was on shakey ground/her career at the studio was also coming to a dead halt/thus her dissatisfied portrayl of the one of the most unpleasant characters she ever portayed/in my thoughts bette is really portraying her own dissatisfaction with her life and giving her character of rosa moline more than what she should have/this movie was suppose to be a modest financial effort/no so! bette made sure that this little production would spin out of finanial control-holding up the production just to spte jack warner as she realized this movie would really damage her career/alas, she was given her leaving papers t exit warners/a very happy jack couldnt wait to boot her out! Her performance is wonderful/king vidor directs this production right over the top! i have the book by stuat engstrand! utterly depressing! i found ta copy of this movie on dvd at a site called centerview! mark

    • 10/11/11

  • Beyond the Forest

    • Dorian
    • 10/11/11

    It has been MANY years since I last saw this film, which contains Bette's signature line, "What a dump!" For that reason alone, I think it deserves to be aired, for the pleasure of all Bette Davis fans. I do hope TCM (and with a special plea to Host Robert Osborne) will air this very interesting film in the near future. I don't recall there being a dull moment in the entire film! Joseph Cotten, who plays her husband, is always a treat to watch, as well. Personally, I think it has considerable artistic merit and the talent of the actors elevate it--far beyond the forest.

  • So Want To See Beyond The Forest

    • hank west
    • 9/18/11

    Not really a review here, just a request (a plea if you will) to show this film. This was Bette Davis' last film under her Warner Brothers contract, and for that reason I feel it's an important film in the Bette canon. If there is ever a decision to do a fourth volume of Bette films on DVD, this would be a great one along with Dangerous, The Corn Is Green, The Sisters and A Stolen Life (A Stolen Life is available to buy individually). I really hope someone will see this, and perhaps get it scheduled. Big BIG Bette fan here, and a big BIG fan of TCM!!!!

  • Beyond The Forest

    • Steimo2
    • 7/21/09

    only infidelity, murder, misery and despair await!With coal black hair and a cold black heart Ms. Davis never does get beyond the forest or beyond the gutter!

  • So Over Warner Brothers She'd Do This

    • DavidNeumeyer
    • 6/22/09

    Bette Davis didn't want to perform in this film. In fact, she walked off the set and wouldn't come back on until Jack Warner agreed to finally release her from their contract. This is her last contract film with Warner Bros.. It is what is known as a kitchen-sink film noir. This means the morality level is so low that it's darker than darker, everything's thrown in, including the'kitchen sink'. This is exactly the kind of role that Davis detested being put in a position and forced to play by Warners. She was out of there afterwards. This film was condemned as being morally indecent. Davis didn't want to be involved with such films. Joseph Cotten co-stars, Davis didn't think he should play an adulterer because she liked him too much. This film is one that we own and have watched many times. Bette Davis delivers her over-parodied line "what a dump" (especially by Dame Elizabeth Taylor in"...Virginia Woolf." This line of Davis' seems to sum up her real life sentiments about being in the film: Rosa Moline (Bette Davis): "Life in Loyalton is like sitting in the funeral parlor and waitingfor the funeral to begin. No, it's like lying in a coffin and waiting for them to carry you out." No one had to carry Bette Davis off of the Warner's lot. She even made the best out of a film she didn't want to be in, to her credit. Joan Crawford would have been better cast in it. This is her type of film.

  • Bette Davis's finest hour-and-a-half!

    • Steve
    • 12/7/08

    Kitchen-sink noir doesn't get any better than this.

  • Awesome or Awful?

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/17/08

    This is one Bette Davis film that I don't think I've seen. If I did it was a long time ago. Could you please show it on TCM and also put it on DVD. I've heard mixed reviews about "Beyond The Forest", from pretty good to plain awful.I know that it has the classic line "what a dump!" which is spoken by Bette and is also featured in a scene from "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?" when Elizabeth Taylor (Martha) says the famous line and asks husband Richard Burton (George) what movie it's from, but he can't remember and she says it several times (mimicking Davis) and acts out part of the scene from BTF. Looking forward to seeing it soon (either on TCM or DVD).

  • Get dvd for Beyond the forest

    • jackie
    • 7/2/08

    Please letr me know where i can purchase this title in vhs format!

  • Camp but Fun.

    • Catherine
    • 5/12/08

    This certainly is not Bette's finest hour. However, this movie really is a treat to behold, "What A Dumb" line.

  • bette davis

    • julia williams
    • 4/5/08

    I am 70 years old.I am a movie buff.I love the old black and white movies.I have two questions.I saw a movie years ago.I believe it was called Michael Stroganoff.About a man who had no country.I believe the actors name was Anton Driffing.I have for years,tried to get info on this movie.Can you help me?Also I am a big fan of Bette Davis.When will you release Beyond the Forest on dvd?I have most of her movies. Thanks for listening.I'm also a big,big fan of TCM.

  • Why does TCM never run this?

    • walter ego
    • 12/29/07

    Maybe the rights have changed hands, but when this was available in VHS, it came out under the Turner Home Video label (you can still nab a copy on eBay now and then). Unless I'm mistaken, TCM has never run it or, at least, not anytime in recent memory. They should. It not defensible as a good movie but it has an interesting visual style and is historically important as Davis' last film under contract at Warner Bros. It's also a good example of big studio filmmaking starting to come untethered in the late 40s/early 50s; the moldy subject matter seems like something from the 20s or 30s but the way its filmed, it's like there's a lunatic loose behind the camera. It's said Davis was miscast, but even in 1949, who would be good casting in a part like this? Essentially, it's like watching a movie with a female female impersonator and for this reason, Davis remains fascinating in it. It's not for nothing Albee uses her characterization of Rosa Moline in the opening moments of "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?".

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • jacki
    • 11/15/07

    I loved this movie and as a 74 year old grandmother, i thought it was great the 1st time i saw it and have always hoped that i could get a copy of it in VHS form, but have been unable to find it. Any suggestions?

  • Camp Classic!!

    • Harlow
    • 10/16/07

    Warners put everything into this flop that is a camp classic. Big star Davis (way too old for the role and begged to get out of it), Joseph Cotton too handsome and nice to be the bumbling guy you should not like, BIG Director Vidor pulled out all the stops with the wildest editing ever (watch the kiss fade into an axe going into a tree and then an admission of pregnancy). The dialogue is hysterical, when David Brian is asked why he came back, he says "I had a taste for venison". The only "venison" he wanted was Bette!! I saw this once on the big screen in a movie theater in Chicago and the ending is almost pornographic when Bette crawls for this huge back lit engine belching out steam. The theater was in hysterics!

  • Not as bad or as camp as it's made out to be

    • John Klintworth
    • 9/28/07

    I really love this movie and see it as an American updating of the "Madame Bovary" story. Everything about it is a little downtrodden, the town, the people,the atmosphere. All a recipe for disaster for a woman like Rosa Moline who yearns for something better, more exciting and yet is stuck in a town she hates and in a house she describes as "What a dump". This is a desperately unhappy character and Bette Davis plays her with all the desperation she can muster. The bad black wig is perfect for this character who is decidedly middle aged and a little frumpy but she thinks she's hot stuff and flirts brazenly. Bette Davis hated this movie and thought Virginia Mayo should have done it instead, but I think this movie was just ahead of its time in its portrayal of female middle aged sexual frustration and its consequences. On a lighter note, Davis' scenes with Dona Drake as her maid are hilarious if a little racist at times.

  • BEYOND BELIEF

    • DAVID
    • 7/25/07

    "Beyond the Forest," Bette Davis' final film for Warner Brothers (and in which she delivers the now classic line "What a dump!"), is so bad, it's absolutely wonderful! And you haven't lived until you've seen Ms. Davis do-si-do in wedgies! Swing your partner!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.