skip navigation
Sorry, Wrong Number

Sorry, Wrong Number(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sorry, Wrong... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still sends chills down my spine!

    • Vicky
    • 9/1/14

    Never forgot when I first saw this movie and that was when I was 13! This truly is a very suspenseful movie, and as partial I am to Hitchcock films, this movie is my guilty pleasure. Please TCM! Aire this movie again!

  • Great Film

    • Lila
    • 12/8/12

    One of the great film noirs that wouldn't have been the same if it were filmed in color. I love anything Stanwyck or Lancaster is in, so seeing them together is a bonus. A movie that will make the sound of footsteps on stairs haunt you.

  • Great Movie!

    • Antoinette Wilson
    • 7/2/12

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. When will it be aired on TCM again? I would love to see it again.

  • Sorry, Wrong Number

    • Kimberly
    • 3/11/12

    One of my all time favorite movies. Barbara is one of the best Actress' to ever grace the screen. And Sorry, Wrong Number is one of her best roles. Every month I check to see if TCM is going to show it. I sure wish they would. It's been long over due....

  • One of the best classics to watch!

    • KonaRose
    • 6/10/10

    This is another fine example of a suspense thriller movie that uses no blood, guts, chainsaws, cursing, naked women or gore to get you sitting on the edge of your seat, holding your breath, and locking your doors when you go to bed. Barbara Stanwyck captures the personality of a helpless, semi-invalid (she can get up when the going gets bad enough near the end!), who is needy, whiny, and has a very good imagination for the worst...only this time, she's right. She IS going to be 'the one.' She overhears it on those old fashioned party lines (some of you aren't going to know what this is). Hello? Hello? (click.)I love that this film - the ending will floor you! Get the popcorn ready and enjoy the ride! PS If you like this film, you are going to love JULIE, with Doris Day and Louis Jourdan. If you have not seen JULIE yet? Go get it! There are not a lot of people who realize Doris Day made an exceptional thriller movie-WATCH IT!

  • Sorry, Wrong Number (1948)

    • Jay
    • 5/4/09

    Suspenseful classic, Barbara Stanwyck, as always, is amazing. Exciting, well paced and good cinematography. Very well written and engrossing. Good supporting cast.

  • "Well Worth Watching"

    • Jack The Hat
    • 1/1/09

    I am old enough to remember this on radio. I enjoyed it then and the film lives up to one's expectations---it's really a wonderful movie. This is the kind of film that you can watch over and over again. Unlike todays films, they knew how to entertain back then.

  • ONE OF THE BEST

    • Virginia
    • 7/17/07

    THIS IS AN AWESOME MOVIE... IF YOU LIKE THE OLD MOVIES, YOU'L LOVE THIS ONE.. I ALSO LOVE TURNER CLASSICS MOVIES BECAUSE I CAN SEE ALL THE OLD TIME MOVIES....THANKS TCM FOR ALL THE GREAT ONES.

  • DEFINITELY A MUST SEE

    • Pat
    • 12/18/06

    I totally agree with Kimberly, a wonderful film for all the reasons she has already said.

  • YOu Should see this Movie!

    • kimberly P
    • 2/13/06

    If anyone were to ask me whether or not "Sorry Wrong Number" holds up over time, I'd say, YOu Bet! ANyone that has not seen this movie, I would advise you to settle in with your favorite snack, your favorite beverage,, and most importantly, turn off your telephone, and watch this terrifying suspense thriller! All the other modern films such as "When A stranger Calls" and "Scream" owe their plotlines to the first motion picture of it's kind where the telephone becomes the object of absolute fear, and terror!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.