skip navigation
Alice Adams

Alice Adams(1935)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Alice Adams - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My Favorite Katharine Hepburn Film

    • Judy
    • 4/12/14

    Out of all of the wonderful performances of all the films of Ms. Katharine Hepburn, it is this one that I find to be my favorite. An early film from her career, she seems to illuminate the screen with this performance; Mr. MacMurray is quite handsome & debonair, and Ms. Hattie McDaniels is priceless in the dinner scene. I like this screenplay better than the book by Mr. Tarkington though the book is quite good.

  • Alice Adams

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/14/12

    Fine adaptation of Booth Tarkington's novel. Hepburn earned an Oscar nomination as a woman desperate to look rich among society, fine work from Fred's MacMurray & Clark. Dinner is an unforgettable moment in an occasionally dull film. Great romantic film helmed by director Stevens. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Gee Whiz

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/17/12

    Booth Tarkington's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel "Alice Adams" from 1921 had its 1935 film adaptation earn Oscar noms for Best Picture and Best Actress. The movie version has a timeless message, and what happens with the father and the daughter must have played well with Great Depression audiences. Director George Stevens uses his trademark close ups frequently and effectively, and the film has some good lines. My favorites came from the father, including "let's go see if we can eat it" and the one where, while recuperating at home, he tells his visiting boss that he feels bad for receiving a salary without earning it. Sadly, such an honorable principle is getting to be as dated as the film's offered cigarettes, black maid, and likeable stars.

  • Um verdadeiro Clássico

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Katharine Hepburn est fascinante neste filme. Tudo perfeito e precioso num filme que faz voc se divertir e se apaixonar pelos personagens. Um clssico que vale ouro

  • Alice Adams

    • Jenn E.
    • 2/25/10

    Katharine Hepburn literally wrenches my heart in Alice Adams. I was quite literally moved to tears with her performance. I absolutely love this movie and could watch it over and over.

  • ALICE A COMPULSIVE LIAR

    • julia
    • 2/20/10

    ALICE STARTS OUT PRETENDING TO HAVE PURCHASED HER 5& DIME COMPACT AT A UPSCALE DEPARTMENT STORE THEN GOES ON TO LIE TO THE MAN AT THE FLORAL SHOP ABOUT ALL HER ENGAGEMENTS. SHE PICKS FLOWERS THAT ARE CLEARLY MARKED "DO NOT PICK"' AND THAT HAPPENS IN LESS THAN 15 MINUTES NOT ONLY DOES SHE HAVE THE PROBLEM WITH HONESTY, BUT SHE IS FRANTIC IN HER QUEST TO BE ACCEPTED BY PEOPLE WHO WANT NOTHING TO DO WITH HER. WITH THE WAY SHE IS TREATED SHE SHOULD BE THE LAST ONE TO LOOK DOWN HER NOSE AT PEOPLE OF ANOTHER RACE. SHE IS CAUGHT BY FRED'S CHARACTER IN LIES SEVERAL TIMES SO YOU WONDER WHAT HIS INTEREST IN HER IS OTHER THAN TO SEE HOW THE OTHER HALF LIVES. SHE AT ONE POINT TALKED ABOUT BEING HERSELF. WITH ALL THE DECEIT SHE DISPLAYED HOW COULD ANYONE LOVE HER FOR WHO SHE REALLY WAS. WAS APPARENT THAT

  • Wonderful movie

    • TCM fanatic
    • 12/21/09

    I've always loved this movie ever since I first saw it. I thought K. Hepburns's performance wonderful. She was touchingly sweet and sad and gave the overall feel of the movie a softness that belied the theme of people wanting to strive for riches and lying to achieve their goal. F. MacMurray is very handsome and totally sexy as the target of Alice's machinations. Hattie McDaniels is hilarious; but then, she manages to convey an honest quality to her roles that defy sterotyping. She's never portrayed her character in a lowly way in any movie I've seen her. In fact, she manages to be on a level par with the stars of her films. She's a jewel, and so is this film.

  • Thanks Hattie!

    • Steve Steinfeld
    • 7/22/09

    TCM host, Robert Osborne, stated once that the reason the Academy came up with the supporting actor/actress award was because of Hattie McDaniel(s) brief but brilliant performance in this film!I sure wouldn't doubt that statement!

  • Not racist

    • jarrod McDonald
    • 9/14/08

    I'd hardly call this film racist. Sure, it's a product of its times but there have been many films before and since that have featured minorities in second-hand roles. What's good with this one is that the maid gets the last laugh..in fact, she gets most of the laughs, and not in a derogatory way. It's a character study. It's more a comment on her lack of gracefulness than the fact that she's black. This move is more than the scenes featuring the black maid. It's a pointed satire about people desiring to be snobs so as to seem important. It's rather heavy-handed but delightfully so, and that's the genuis of Tarkington's writing. Add Hepburn and MacMurray, and the results are delicious.

  • Endearing

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/8/06

    A lovely racist little film about class distinction with a soft Kate, good production values, and a decent plot.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.