skip navigation
Battle Cry

Battle Cry(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Battle Cry A group of Marines eagerly... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Premiere

    • lyn
    • 5/26/14

    My Dad was a CP marine who escorted Kim Novak to her seat at the California premiere of this movie. I would love a photo of that moment; does anyone know where I might find photos of the premiere? (If they even exist, that is!). Thanks!

  • From Montford Point to Camp Pendelton

    • Msquared
    • 9/9/13

    I first saw Battle Cry in about 1962 or 63 when I was about 8 and my eldest brother was in boot camp at Camp Pendelton. I have seen it a hand full of times since and always will love that movie. The example of military discipline, the marching, the "girenes", the romantisism set a standard that no other movie has come close to for me. James Whitmore as Sgt. Mac reminded me of my own father who was a marine at Camp Lajune Montford Point during WWII. Straight forward, doing his job... What a great movie for the little boy I was and the man I became.

  • Battle Cry marching song

    • Clarence Hall
    • 9/7/13

    Love the movie. The marching song is great ! I first saw it when it came out in 1955. I was 13 years old. 4 years later I was a Marine at Camp Pendelton .

  • Battle Cry

    • Rob Roth
    • 5/10/12

    Battle Cry as a period movie was well cast-with some good performances. My fave is James Whittamore-who I believe was a Marine vet. Of course perhaps except for the modern era movie ,Saving Private Ryan it would be nearly impossible to show what the combat was like for Marines on the Pacific Islands-But the movie is iconic to me for its subject choice (I grew up during WWII-with all relatives in the service) I rate it slightly less accomplished as the John Wayne movie, also about Marines in the Pacific, Sands of Iwo Jima. As a pre-baby boomer, I particularly treasure movies about the "Greatest Generation" that work hard attelling it like it was-with men and women struggling with the sacrifices in their daily lives. The special effectsof the modern "digital" era cannot equal-great stories, scripts, directing and accomplished acting.

  • Battle Cry

    • J Jones
    • 1/26/12

    The Marines marching in the film was done at Camp Pendleton. My father's Platoon was one of the quads in the film. I'm told by my father that his quad was an honor quad which he was the quad leader. And the marching was done after graduation in 1954. By the marching I really enjoyed the film.

  • Just a test

    • Bob
    • 7/13/11

    Battle Cry was great! :)

  • Battle Cry

    • Joe White
    • 7/11/11

    TCM classifies this as a Western (?) on today's schedule ????

  • Lot of nastalgia

    • Hal Smith
    • 9/1/10

    I have watched this movie several times over the years. I enlisted in the Marine Corps in 1959, and probably seen it the first time on liberty in Oceanside, CA. Just outside Camp Pendleton where the movies was filmed.The sceens at Camp Pendleton, San Diego, Coronado ferry have, over the years, brought tears to my eyes and the many memories at Camp Pendleton. Those day's are gone, I can't "hump" those hills up to Casey Springs like I was 18 again.The Marines, for the most part, played the part like Marines. Not like some of the later movies, sloppy uniforms, side burns, long hair, etc. There always has to be some theatrics but for the most part the military advisor was right on.Semper Fi

  • Melodrama first, war film second

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/30/10

    I was surprised Raoul Walsh directed it...it seems like something Vincente Minnelli would do. But I love it. The actors are having a delicious time...especially Dorothy Malone and Van Heflin. Aldo Ray is great in probably one of his best roles. Tab Hunter seems a bit overpowered by his high-wattage costars but he's still great. With all the subplots and the high entertainment value, the film moves along at a rather quick pace...and it kind of leaves you wanting a sequel.

  • Battle Cry (1955)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/13/09

    Fine World War II film, good cast headed by Van Heflin and Aldo Ray, who particularly stands out. There are some outstanding battle sequences. It is slowed down at times by some dramatic interludes, a little more editing would have been a plus for the film, which is way overlong at two and a half hours.

  • Battle Cry

    • Judy
    • 7/8/09

    Good stories come from the group of soldiers serving in WWII. Lots of stars. It's a really good movie. Not a lot of blood and guts - just enough to get the point across. It's more the story of the soldiers.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.