skip navigation
That Hagen Girl

That Hagen Girl(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

That Hagen Girl A small-town teenager thinks a... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Yeah.. It's Kind of Creepy

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/23/13

    I watched this film for the first time today. I had never even heard of it. So I watched it and I couldn't believe the ending. I don't understand how this film even was made. The story was just wrong. It's very difficult to go through the whole movie basically seeing Reagan as Temple's father only to have them get married in the end! Yikes! After watching it, I came here and read the reviews. I'm glad to know I wasn't the only one kind of creeped out by all of it. I can understand why it was a flop and I do hate to think Reagan blamed Temple. I think the main problem was the story itself. I don't see how anybody could have played Reagan's role well. I wish both of them had been able to turn this movie down and tell the studio no way!

  • Let Kids be kids

    • Megan Skylar
    • 1/29/12

    Yes, it was corny, and yes R.R. was too shall we say "Mature", and poor Shirley should have had a chance to resolve the stigma over her young head, and simply run off with her high school boyfriend, Dewey Koons (Conrad Janis who specialized on heartthrob even at that age), was after all her age, cute as a button and someone I would have loved to kiss at her age. Oh. well, they went for drama...Ugg

  • Nice Surprise

    • Courtney Pedersen
    • 5/21/11

    I came across this movie on TCM one afternoon. I felt like watching a classic film and read the description of this one and decided to give it a try. I've seen only one or two films of Ronald Reagan's and Shirley Temple's but I liked them enough to want to see this movie. I can say that it wasn't what I was expecting. The overall feel of the movie and script was darker than what I was thinking it would be. But I absolutely loved this movie. I thought it was a bit too short and that maybe they could've played it out a bit more but I loved how the movie concluded. I didn't think it would end that way but it was perfect. I keep looking for this movie on DVD but they still haven't released it. I would say that someone who isn't a big fan of Shirley Temple or Ronald Reagan might enjoy this more. Thats probably why I enjoyed it more than the other people who reviewed it because I hadn't seen alot of their films so I didn't really have anything to compare it to. But I'm glad I didn't because I sincerely enjoyed this film.

  • flawed but interesting

    • Pierre de Plume
    • 4/23/10

    Because this film has several things working against it, some of the more interesting aspects get overlooked. In the year of the film's release, teen sexuality still was a dicey topic for general audiences -- although another film of the 40s, The Major and the Minor (Ginger Rogers/Ray Milland) was more enthusiastically accepted because it was a comedy (though today that film's sexual innuendo seems rather creepy).Another problem, no doubt, regarding "That Hagen Girl" is that its female star, Shirley Temple, was difficult for audiences to accept in a more grown-up role -- a stigma from which Temple never recovered.And then there's the stiff performance of Ronald Reagan.Aside from all these mitigating factors, the cinematography by the renowned Karl Freund is quite beautiful.Not until a decade or so later would American audiences respond more positively to similarly mature themes in such films as Peyton Place and those pulpy Lana Turner vehicles (e.g., Imitation of Life).This film is worth watching as a cultural curiosity.

  • A gothic film...

    • Ann Brown
    • 4/22/10

    ... that has a few script problems, which lead to a tentative approach by the director. Don't blame the cast, they don't write the lines and direct the film. The problem with the plot is that for most of the film the audience thinks that Reagan is Shirley's father, when in reality he is not. That would be ok storywise if the film gave the audience a reason to think that the older character played by RR has any relationship with Shirley, which would result in him falling in love with her. Her character is too remote, young and girlish and RR already has an acceptable love interest in Shirley's teacher. A rewrite, more surehanded direction, and adherence to a true gothic ethos would have improved the film. Even so, it is not terrible - I would watch it again.

  • One Of The Worst Films Ever?

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/20/09

    I have never seen "That Hagen Girl", but I once saw a list of the 10 worst movies ever made and this one was on it. I would like to see for myself if it is really as bad as all that. I guess most everybody ragged on it because it dealt with taboo subject matter for the 1940's (adoption and illegitimate children). I read the synopsis and it does look like a pretty unusual film for its time. Please show it again soon on TCM.

  • Give Shirley a break!

    • Denise Fanelli
    • 3/6/09

    Critics and the public did to Shirley what the small minded, cruel gossips of the town did to her in the movie-blamed her for something that wasn't her fault. She played the role of the tortured girl with great credibility. This film flopped for two reasons 1)terrible premise - the "romance" between her and her possible father and 2)Ronald Reagan's absolutely flat, dull performance. They should have eliminated the romance aspect completely. It was so unclear throughout and there was NO chemistry between the two that when they marry in the end it is just plain stupid. I would have liked to see Reagan's character pay to send Mary to the University because he is a stand up guy. He does this despite the fact that he knows people will assume that he paid her way because he really IS her father. Then she would be free to build a new life for herself away from the cruel people of Jordan. I have read that Reagan and Shirley were not friends even though they were both involved in Republican politics in California because he "never forgave her for That Hagen Girl". His blame was misplaced.

  • Beautiful, Intriguing Movie

    • Arlene
    • 10/11/07

    It's a great movie to teach any young person, whether they be adopted or not, that WHO they are is more important than where they came from. And in the end, she did have a plausible explanation, that the parents that she loved, that raised her, were indeed - all that she needed. It was a mystery, and intriquing, and the casting was top notch for the era.

  • Poor Shirley

    • sharon a. quinn
    • 10/9/07

    I happened to catch this movie today because my office is closed for the holiday and I was feeling a bit under the weather. This movie did not make me feel better. As a matter of fact after this creepy film I decided that I needed a shower. The premise in a nutshell is that an adopted girl believes a mysterious stranger to be her birth father, suffers numerous indignities in her small minded town and then finds out that the stranger is not her father. This makes him marriage material and the "happy" ending reveals the mismatched duo embarking on their honeymoon. It's no wonder that Shirley decided to retire. I had the feeling that the studio was desperately trying to find an appropriate vehicle for the poor girl, but this really was a dud. The worst aspect of the film was the casting of Ronald Reagan as her father - oops, i mean her husband. He was terribly miscast and was not believable in either role. I happen to like Reagan and when I was a little girl, I wanted to be Shirley Temple. Now I have to rethink that.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.