skip navigation
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers(1954)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers When their older brother... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Seven Brides

    • Loren Harding
    • 7/5/14

    First rate dancing, but the source story -- Stephen Vincent Benet's "The Sobbin' Women," a reworking of the classical myth of the rape (!) of the Sabine Women, is almost buried in the boisterousness of the proceedings here.You certainly do not have to THINK when watching this piece -- which is, I guess, the whole purpose of the piece?

  • Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/17/13

    A very sexually political musical, but amazing nonetheless. Keel is the oldest & first of six other brothers to find a wife, Powell, the two compete to teach the rest of the brood on how to 'court' wives. Kidd's off-the-walls choreography is the highlight of the film, combined with an Oscar-winning score and a fascinating glimpse of rape fantasies. Incredibly entertaining with humable songs. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Great Movie

    • MJR
    • 2/17/13

    Great musical. One of my top favorites, if not the favorite, of movie musicals. Very much worth the watch.

  • this movie is the best!!

    • Crystal
    • 3/9/12

    This movie is one of the best classical movies i've ever wached!!!!!!!!!!! I just love it

  • MOST WONDERFUL MUSICAL ............

    • Lee
    • 12/28/10

    Possibly the greatest musical of its era. I laughed till I cried and cried till I laughed. This is a movie I could watch all day every day.

  • The BEST EVER!!!!! :)

    • Katharine
    • 6/21/10

    this movie is amazing I have seen it multiple times! its just wonderful! if you ever see it make sure its in wide screen or you'll be sorry! I LOVE 7 Brides for & Brothers!!! Best movie ever!!!! ;)

  • AWSOME!!!!

    • HARMONY
    • 5/4/10

    Seven brides for seven brothers, was an outstanding wounder full musical it in my mind will live of an funny and very nice decent musical i suggest for all people and ages!.

  • The Best Musical EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Jeanie
    • 4/16/09

    Great singing and dancing. Great story.Great Movie!

  • Great Movie and musical

    • steve polo
    • 3/20/09

    This a wonderful the dancing is great. I do wish though the 6 brides that are kidnapped are in the movie longer

  • Warm Action Packed Funny and Romantic

    • Valena
    • 12/11/08

    This is one of my all time fav's. I can watch this movie days and days. I enjoy every song, dances and danger woo hoo! it rocksV

  • A classic and a must see!

    • KESwan
    • 5/18/08

    I love this one--a highlight I had (many years ago) was seeing this live on stage with Howard Keel and Jane Powell in the lead roles at Kansas City's starlight theater.

  • Seven Singing and Dancing!!!

    • katie Sorrels
    • 5/18/08

    This is probably favorite musical because I love all the songs and the actors in this movie. Jane Powell does a wonderful job as a mad and so in love wife.The seven brothers aren't to bad to look at either, if you catch my drift.. So if your looking for a laugh and a heck of a good time, I would definetly recommend this movie.

  • 7 BRIDES IS AN ESSENTIAL FILM TO SEE

    • Rich Katanich
    • 5/17/08

    I am over 60 and being 'into films' since 1965, mostly 'underground' or now 'Independent' I always thought of this film as a bore and really not my 'cup of coffee', like most musicals.I have been watching TCM for years and years and let me say that their creative department developing the interim visuals is superb!Since I have watched TCM for years ( I always check them out before the news whenever I wake up to see what's showing) After dealing with some medical problems, I have watched the station sometimes all day long.I have digressed from the point of 7 Brides, I simply would like to say since the lovely Rose McGowen and Bobby, as Tony Curtis called him earlier today, chose this film as an Essential I decided to sit down and watch it all the way through.They won me over. What a film, what great choreography, what a funny plot, flimsy but very enjoyable. Too bad Stanley lost the fight to shoot on location, but that is what makes Hollywood becoming a stumbling, bumbling giant putting out re-makes and real junk.The director Stanley Donen is as diversified as Robert Wise. This genre' of directors and producers we will never see again. Only on shows like the very enjoyable Essentials ( they have a winner with Rose. Very pretty, witty, erudite and enjoyable. She was even charming on the TV show "Charmed")7 Brides is not to be missed for pure enjoyment.

  • My all time favorite movie

    • John
    • 5/17/08

    This movie was a favorite of mine when I was a child and I raised my children on this movie. As I put them to bed, I would turn this movie on until they fell asleep. Often times if I wake up in the middle of the night, to put myself back to sleep, I will replay the movie in my mind. Yes, I admit I know all the words to all the songs. I don't know of a better "feel good" movie than this one. It will definitely put a smile on your face!

  • *****

    • Rachel
    • 12/16/07

    This is truly a great classic. This was what I loved to watch as a pick-me-up when I was a kid. You can't help but feel good afterwards. I'm in my early twenties and have never grown tired of it yet, and doubt I ever will.

  • Wonderful

    • Peggy
    • 11/12/07

    I feel that musicals should make a come back if there made like Seven Brides for SevenBrothers or Oklahoma they are just two of my faves. With a rating of 4 stars gold that is.

  • Lovely

    • Lucy
    • 10/20/07

    I love this movie, and my daughter (10) and my niece (12) both love it and can sing all of the songs. They are the only ones in their generation, i think, that have been raised to enjoy and appreciate muscials. That is before High School Musical.

  • Amazing

    • Laura
    • 6/30/07

    I was raised with this movie, it is famtastic and I force all my friends to watch it. To add my first born son will be named Gideon after the character in this movie.

  • Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

    • Kelsey
    • 5/10/07

    One of my favorites! I love all the chacters. I really loved the dancing. I could watch that movie 100 times and not get sick of it!!!

  • one of the best movies iv'e ever seen

    • samantha
    • 3/3/07

    I absolutely luv this movie

  • Awesome!

    • Katey
    • 1/14/07

    I loved all the songs and dancing, especially Jane Powell. I hope one day I can meet her and become as beautiful of singer as she was in this movie.

  • Fun and delitefull!!!!

    • Danny Dunkerk
    • 4/26/06

    This was a great movie i loved the dancing and the singing as well as the bright fun colors it will brighten anyones day!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.