skip navigation
Seven Days in May

Seven Days in May(1964)

  • Wednesday, August 27 @ 11:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Seven Days in May An American military officer... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Seven days in May

    • James Fitzlaff
    • 7/19/13

    Outstanding cast and direction

  • Good

    • Jim
    • 12/29/12

    Douglas is at his best and Ava Gardner has role with substance. The presidents speech at the end is good but not profetic.

  • 7 DAYS IN MAY

    • NATRAY
    • 11/3/11

    TO THIS DAY, STILL QUITE GOOD.

  • Pacifist Wishful

    • Kali
    • 4/22/11

    Barney and Miss Beazley, a belief of the pacifist wishful. Amen.

  • Toss of the Card

    • Kali
    • 4/22/11

    Seven Days in May (1964), maybe Eleanor Holbrook has all the cards and toss the table for the West Wing. Sedition is not the politics here, President Jordan Lyman plays God's favor at the ballot box more unscrupulous than the public opinion, he brought on his own shame at the treaty with Soviet Union and defamed the American greatness to win the war of liberty against the Russians! Jiggs favors the constitution like Holbrook, General Scott could have demanded an answer that the virtue of the pen could protect America and the option from diplomacy may explain his leadership at the challenge of the President. The faith of democracy that is the peacemaker strong and proud should not be the oath of desperation from the White House or the whisper of tyranny from Jiggs, if the world would emerge from the menance of authoritarian. General Scott could take on a convention and Holbrook takes the card for the President, a nuclear war deserves some peace ordering as important as a suave state of affairs. We have Barney that walked with President Bush in Camp David at all tedious politics, that was a full White House General, eight years in duty, wearing only half the medals he deserves, whatever else he is, he's no jackal canine and also his companion Miss Beazley. It's a dog's life, true it is!

  • Fredrick March Steals the Show

    • Larthefirst
    • 11/23/10

    Great movie, great cast, but the showdown scene between March and Lancaster showcases what great writing and acting can bring to the screen. That scene alone, I believe, solidifies Fredric March, as being the second greatest screen actor (not necessarily "star") from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Barrymore is number one, and that's another subject.

  • valuable teaching tool

    • DMG
    • 10/27/10

    As an American History and government teacher, this movie is a valuable teaching tool about the constitutional powers and discretionary perogatives of presidents. It is a great jumping off point for discussions on the Constitution, executive powers, roles of the president, etc.

  • It is just a movie guys, lighten up.

    • Tobra
    • 10/27/10

    You know Frankenheimer's politics, which you may not agree with, but it does not diminish the quality of the movie. Naturally the right wing are the bad guys, things have not changed much in that respect in Hollywood in the last 50 years.Great acting, knockout cast, excellent tale, an utterly riveting movie. It just sort of ended though, like they cut the last 10 minutes or something.

  • A Suspenseful Hitchcock-Style Classic Mystery.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/3/10

    Burt Lancaster, Kirk Douglas, Ava Gardner, Fredric March, Martin Balsam & Edmond O'Brien lead a star-studded cast as legendary filmmaker, John Frankenheimer joins "Twilight Zone" creator, Rod Serling in presenting one of the dark, moody suspenseful dramas of the turbulent 1960s based on the novel by Fletcher Knebel and Charles W. Bailey II. Lancaster is a popular U.S. army general, who may be involved in a possible military coup to seize control of the U.S. government by ousting an unpopular U.S. President (March). An absorbing, believing story with intelligent suspense as brilliantly written by Serling. Filmed on location in Washington, D.C., Paris, France and Los Angeles, California. Also starring Andrew Duggan, Whit Bissell, Hugh Marlowe, Helen Kleeb, George Macready, Richard Anderson, Bart Burns, Malcolm Atterbury, Rodolfo Hoyos, Fredd Wayne & John Houseman.

  • One of my favorite movies

    • Vance Cordell
    • 10/3/10

    This movie has a great cast and is well played by the actors. The story is interesting and fairly believeable with a few exceptions. When I saw the movie the first time in 1964, I was in the Air Force, and it shocked me to the core. It doesn't shock me any more. I think it is even more believeable today than then.I am glad that it is scheduled to be played several more times. I am going to urge my friends to watch it

  • Fact From Hollywood Fiction

    • Jackie
    • 8/1/10

    This picture is interesting in that it is Hollywood fiction, that is the liberal president in this film and his allies save the day. It seems that dirty "conversative" general want's to overthrow the American government in that He (the general) does not believe that a single piece of paper, that is a piece treaty signed by the soviets and America will bring a peacefull end to our disagreement with the Russians and also end our chances of a nuclear war but instead an arms build up is the way to go. Well, Hollywood fiction, the film that is, has the liberals idea as the true answer and they come out as the heros. What is more interesting is that President Reagan later went with the arms build up and of course we all know now that, that ended with the collapse of the Soviet Union and communism in all of eastern Europe. So much for Hollywood fiction!!

  • There WAS a remake!

    • Robert
    • 3/8/10

    This film WAS remade in the mid-90s by HBO pictures and is called "The Enemy Within" staring Forrest Whitaker as Col Mac Casey, and Jason Robards as the traitorous general. Sam Waterston of Law and Order fame plays the President of the United States. Lots more action and intrigue, with an updated political scene. But I like both movies. Both have their own unique qualities. I wouldn't want to get rid of either one from my collection.

  • Ava @ 42 - WOW!!!!

    • Steve S.
    • 2/10/10

    Sinatra was an idiot!Rod's sceenplay is terrific.March & O'Brien are supuerb and even Douglas, manges to control is emotion's under the the direction of Frankenhiemer!

  • How about a re-make?

    • Charles Bower
    • 2/9/10

    As a sophomore in college I saw this movie when it first came out. I've seen it a half a dozen times since and believe it is one of the best films ever. What an outstanding cast! With Hollywood's penchant for re-makes, I feel this would be an excellent choice with all of the political polarization occuring in the country today.

  • Historical allegory

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/8/10

    The film is pure Hollywood fiction, but it's entertaining Hollywood fiction. And it showcases some great performances and a tight script by Rod Serling with some good dialogue. I don't know how realistic the premise is, and whatever your politics are, it's definitely a product of the Cold War. But I think it raises some interesting questions about peace treaties, about the role of the military and its relationship with with the legislative and executive branches, in particular. Obviously, some of the plot looks silly by 2010 standards: namely, the part where the signed confession gets lost in a plane crash. With today's technology it could be faxed or scanned and sent electronically at the snap of a finger, or the aide could take a picture of it with his cellphone and immediately get it to the president. But for what it is, a historical allegory in the days after Kennedy's assassination, it's a thought-provoking piece of cinema, and I enjoyed it. I especially thought Fredric March was great as the no-nonsense leader who had to reign in military officials that were a disgrace to their country.

  • Seven Days in May

    • Sam
    • 2/8/10

    Well done, Well directed. Well written. All true, What may be more true is that events such as those portrayed in this film may very well be going on under our very noses. It is not at all patriotic, or in the best interest of national defense, to refuse to believe that "rogue" individuals, with considerable power and credibility, do exist in both the "conservative" and the "liberal" camps. We need more light on the subject. Movies like "Seven Days in May" help throw some of that light.

  • Abuse Of Free Speach!

    • Jack The Hat
    • 2/5/10

    Our military died on the battle field, so that Hollywood could abuse free speach and this film is there reward. I ask, just which left wing politican or for that matter any politican deserves the praise that this picture promotes? No wonder the Pentagon would not coperate, it would like being ask, if someone could openly and with deception would be allowed to destroy one's character? This film is a disgrace to every fighting man who served. This film is sick!!

  • One of the great shockers

    • Steve
    • 2/3/10

    Not only is this a great story well done, it is one of the great shock movies I have seen. The very idea that a overthrow could happen in the U.S. is un-nerving. This is taken and portrayed in a serious manner with none of the usual Hollywood b.s. to dilute it. Just a strait take on a great book. Right up there with FAIL-SAFE.

  • Propaganda at it's worst

    • Minky
    • 7/28/09

    This films premise makes me want to throw up! It is so obliviously left in political thought, in that it's statement being, that only a "conservative" American General would consider the over throw of the American government and only left wing politicians are there to stop the dirty deed and are heroic in nature, is absolute Bull----

  • Seven Days in May (1964)

    • Jay
    • 2/1/09

    Very convincingly done, well acted by all, especially Edmond O'Brien and Kirk Douglas. Suspenseful, excellent direction and pacing. Very well written and always interesting.

  • Best of its kind

    • Robert N
    • 1/24/09

    Dream cast of stars and character actors in one of the finest political thrillers ever made. The chemistry and tension between the players is so realistic. A great conspiracy film with memorable performances.

  • UNDERATTED

    • DJ
    • 11/9/08

    I defy anyone to find a better film as far as acting, especially dialogue.Some of the scenes with Lancaster and March/Douglass are off the charts.In my opinion this is one of the finest american films in several generations.Its the perfect storm of acting, directing, and screenwriting (Rod Serling)that has ever been cast.To me its a perfect 10

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Peter
    • 7/28/08

    I saw this film when I was in elementary school; sixth grade I believe. It remained with me all these years. Not many films can do that It gave me a flavor of the period and a cursory explanation of government.I believe I also read the book. Hopefully, it will be shown on TCM in the not too distant future.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.