skip navigation
Strangers on a Train

Strangers on a Train(1951)

  • Monday, December 22 @ 11:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, February 28 @ 02:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Strangers on a Train A man's joking suggestion... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Frightening!

    • RedRain
    • 3/9/14

    Excellent performance all around in a film that has truly stood the test of time. Walker is particularly chilling and a young Farley Granger is really good in his roll; however, I much preferred Granger in "Rope," as he was the psychopath in that film and was brilliant! Although the book and the screenplay for this film differ in many important ways, it is the visuals that actually carry this film. The use of shadows, a classic Hitchcock technique, is used so well here that you can practically feel certain scenes, much like you can in the film "In Cold Blood" which came 15 years later. The only objection I have to this film is how many copycat acts of murder have been tried since this film was made and seen throughout the world. How many have actually been successful is a number we will never know but I am certain it is more than we care to speculate on. I always like to bring this film up with law enforcement officers I meet around the world and it appears that they are very aware of this film and its premise. Many believe it was successfully tried in the 50s and 60s but, as forensics have changed, so has law enforcement's investigations of these types of crimes.

  • Great Suspense Story

    • Michael Lindsey
    • 1/26/14

    Alfred Hitchcock hit a home run with this pic. Robert Walker is the smarmy psychotic who charms his way into Farley Grainger's world of tennis and politics. Everyone in the cast is top-notch, including Pat Hitchcock who plays the younger sister of Grainger's fiance (Ruth Roman). Don't miss it.

  • Don't Talk to Strangers on a Train

    • Delia
    • 1/24/14

    Just another train ride takes Farley Granger right off the rails in this Hitchcock tale. So many psychological things going on: The manipulative wife who hates hubby (Farley), but won't give him up; The un-medicated bipolar mother (Walker's mom) who treats her psychopathic grown-up son like a spoiled child; The rich, bored, and aimless son of an overbearing father; The unhinged thought of actually murdering someone for someone else. Walker is beyond scary here as he meets Farley on a train and determines that the two of them would be better off without his (Walker) father and Farley's crazy, slutty, wife who won't give him a divorce. Walker's ingenious plan to switch murders eliminates the "motive" factor for either crime, with the added satisfaction that killing someone you DON"T know is easier than killing someone you know. By the end of the train ride, Walker is convinced that Farley is onboard with the plan. He plays it straight down the line, locating Farley's nutty wife at a carnival and keeping up his end of the bargain. Even helping a blind man cross the street after. A problem arises when Farley balks at returning the favor, rightly claiming that Walker is insane. I won't give away the rest, but the party scene with Walker acting out a strangulation provides an intense glimpse into the psyche of a psychopath. Definitely worth the ride, with Hitch's real-life daughter is a supporting role. Don't talk to strangers!

  • One of the Greatest!

    • Warren Shapiro
    • 1/24/14

    It's at least one of the greatest! In fact I don't hesitate to call it the greatest film I've ever seen! Hitchcock deserves special credit for seeing Walker's ability to play a profoundly evil man. Up to then, the latter had played (exclusively, I think) nerdy small-town youths: he must have said "Gee whiz!" a few dozen times in his earlier work. Granger is outstanding as well. The woman who plays his manipulative wife looks and sounds like a real human being rather than a "trained" actress. The only flaw is small: Granger looks a bit too young to have Ruth Roman as his love interest. Again, Walker's performance is almost unbelievably great! I'd rate it right up there with the best work of Brando and James Dean.

  • Classic Hitchcock

    • Jennifer Wells
    • 1/12/14

    This is one of Hitchcock's most beloved films. It has sophistication, glamor, romance and most of all suspense. One of my favorite things about the film is Robert Walker's performance as Bruno. He plays this colorful and deeply deranged villain brilliantly. It would be easy to go over the top with a character like this but Walker stops just short of cartoonish. The movie is progressive for it's time in that the central character is portrayed in a very sympathetic light despite the fact that he has an extra-marital romance. Of course this is easy to excuse under the circumstances: He's estranged from his wife and she is a conniving villain. This is a very smart entertaining picture that any Hitchcock fan would appreciate. Jennifer Leigh WellsAuthor of "Rebecca: The Making of a Hollywood Classic"

  • Hitchcock at his best

    • Patrick C.
    • 4/20/13

    This is one of Hitchcock's greatest "psycho" thrillers...

  • Strangers on a Train

    • Dashiell B.
    • 4/3/13

    The thriller that reminded audiences of Hitchcock's ingenuity. Granger meets Walker's scene-stealing lunatic on a train and the latter man suggest that they swap the murders of people both men would like removed. Oscar-nominated cinematography does equally-impressive work telling the story as the screenplay penned by Raymond Chandler, adding atmosphere and suspense. Quickly-paced that will never make viewers look at tennis the same way again. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • THE LINE OF A MASTER

    • RODERICK PATTERSON
    • 11/13/12

    HITCHCOCK was a true master & enigma . Most who knew him say he was a cuddly teddy bear ,a few directors argue the point. I believe I've seen them all . Hitch loved to use actors more than once .Fairly Grainger was in "The Rope" This plot ,oddly enough starts with two strangers on a train who meet as they sit in the observation car and to noticeably different taste in shoes touch,then we finally cut to thier faces as they cordially exchange pardons. The spoiled Walker recognizes Grainger as Guy Haynes who he forms a strange attachment to when he finds out Grainger is a world class tennis player. Then without reservation he starts to question him about his personal life & upcoming divorce & subsequent marriage to a senators daughter! This begins to antagonize Grainger when Bruno(Walkers character) backs off only to discuss murder plots! This all happens in the first 15 minutes! I hope this is enough of the plot to garner your viewership! Hitch makes his proprietary cameos and the "maguffin" is of shiny silver! Watch & enjoy!!

  • Hitch's Grand Slam

    • Marnie Howell
    • 9/14/12

    In this edge-of your-seat classic featuring a tennis pro hero, Hitch "serves" up non-stop excitement you can't help but "love". Top drawer performances and an ending to die for. Mr H supercedes his usual genius in this one - "game, set and match"Marnie Howell

  • Walker ended his career on two high notes

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/27/12

    The tennis match scene is too long and Robert Walker's career was too short, ending with this thriller and the scarier (and still relevant) "My Son John," nominated for an Oscar for its writing. Both movies were directed by top drawer talent. In "Strangers on a Train" the outdoor scene in D.C. with well groomed Granger in a car and wacky Walker at the top of the steps is simply scintillating. The fact that Walker's mother in the movie is not in a nut house is simply a sin.

  • A First-Class Hitchcock Murder-Mystery.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/26/10

    Alfred Hitchcock collaborates with famed mystery writer, Raymond Chandler (who co-wrote the script) as Farley Granger, Ruth Roman and Robert Walker star in Hitchcock's suspenseful murder-mystery based on the novel by Patricia Highsmith. Granger is a tennis pro, who gets caught in a web of murder, conspiracy and deceit, when he encounters a psychopathic playboy (Walker) during a train trip to Washington, D.C., who tries to talk him into taking part in a double murder scheme. The British version of the movie runs two minutes longer, and with a different ending and franker dialogue in the first scene, where the two men first meet. Remade as the 1969 "BOMB", "Once You Kiss a Stranger", and was the inspiration of the making of the 1987 comedy parody, "Throw Momma from the Train". One of Hitchcock's best body of work. Filmed on location in Washington, D.C., Danbury, Connecticut and Los Angeles, California. Also starring Leo G. Carroll, Patricia Hitchcock, Laura Elliott (Kasey Rogers), Marion Lorne, Jonathan Hale, Howard St. John, John Brown, Norma Varden, Robert Gist, John Doucette, Jack Cushingham, Edna Holland, Georges Renavent, Edward Hearn, Ralph Moody & Charles Meredith.

  • Don't Talk To Strangers

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/19/10

    Alfred Hitchcock's suspense thriller "Strangers On A Train" (1951) proves that the adage I'm sure many of us heard when we were kids "Don't Talk To Strangers" is quite true - it will get you into trouble every time! I saw "Strangers" on TCM Essentials Saturday 4/17/10 - it's been a long time since I've seen it, and I discovered again just how good this Hitchcock thriller is. Farley Granger is great as the tennis pro trying to get a divorce from his wife so he can marry his girlfriend, and Robert Walker gives a chilling turn as the demented playboy who wants to knock off his father. Both of them have a chance meeting on a train, and a case of thinking out loud plunges them into a bizarre situation that can only happen in a Hitchcock film. The wild finale on an out-of-control merry-go-round has to rank as one of the best Hitchcock chase culmination scenes ever, right up there with the Statue of Liberty in "Saboteur" and Mount Rushmore in "North By Northwest".

  • Strangers on a Train

    • Porterville
    • 4/18/10

    This film is just as suspenseful and well paced as when I first saw it in 1951, The performances are good to excellent. Laura Elliott, Marion Lorne, and Patricia Hitchcock contribute much in their supporting roles. Robert Walker is outstanding. Farley Granger's performance is much better than most people have been able to appreciate. This is a very excellent film.

  • One of Hitchcock's Greatest

    • The Lady Eve
    • 4/18/10

    One of Hitchcock's best, it showcases his absolute mastery of visual storytelling and technical wizardry and delivers all the great hallmarks of his style dazzling visual set pieces, historical sites in the landscape, a "wrong man accused" theme and one of his most powerful doppelganger motifs.The cast is solid (particularly Farley Granger, Kasey Rogers/aka Laura Elliott, Patricia Hitchcock and Leo G. Carroll), but it is Robert Walker's virtuoso performance as psychotic killer Bruno Anthony that "makes" the film.High on the list of Hitchcock's top films among critics and fans alike.

  • Strangers On A Train

    • Connir4
    • 4/17/10

    I am an old (in every sense of the word) movie fan, This movie was TERRIBLE. Robert Walker was so miscast. It was pathetic. Farley Granger was great but the story was not worthy of his talent. As for Alfred Hitchcock...I can't believe that such a great artist might have had anything to do with this film. I am so disappointed in TCM for using this important slot at 8 pm/Saturday to show such stuff.

  • See It AND Read It!

    • Dee
    • 1/4/10

    Ranks at the top among Hitchcock movies. I've loved it since I first saw it. Performances are stunning! But I recently checked the book out from the library and was equally entertained and impressed. Excellent writer! Story was changed a bit for the screen, as were some of the other details. Not sure why. However, if you can, read the book first; then watch the movie. I saw the movie first, and it was so vivid in my memory that I didn't get to use my imagination while reading the book. Whichever you do first, I think one only enhances the other.

  • Strangers on a Train (1951) M

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/26/09

    An absolutely amazing film, one of the greatest movies ever made, and one of Alfred Hitchcock's five best. Incredibly tense and suspenseful, a true classic. The screenplay is superb, the cinematography is inventive and excellent. Every performance is great, especially the supporting cast - Marion Lorne and Patricia Hitchcock in particular. The final scene is one of the most memorable and greatest scenes ever filmed. One of the greatest movies of all time.

  • Loved It!

    • Caitlin
    • 11/13/08

    It had a great plot, and wonderful actors. It made me feel for the characters! I thought this movie was a good classic hit!

  • An Absolute "Must"

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/10/06

    Simply a terrific film. Tip-top Hitchcock with an engrossing plot revolving around the supposed trading of murders. There are exacting performances by Walker and (Alfred's daughter) Pat, barely hidden homosexual overtones, and a jaw-dropping climax. A beaut, a feast - Highly recommended.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.