skip navigation
Trog

Trog(1970)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Trog A scientist tries to protect a... MORE > $29.98 Regularly $29.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Joan was at least dignified

    • JJ
    • 3/25/14

    Why does everyone applaud BETTY WHITE for all the trashy vulgar shows she's doing now that she's in her 90's or whatever. They're totally undignified and demeaning. At least in "Trog" Joan was dignified, well spoken and well groomed. There was really nothing wrong with this movie if you view it with an open mind and not as "Joan's last horrible movie."

  • Quit while your ahead.

    • denscul
    • 5/17/13

    I just saw Queen Bee on TCM. If you want to see Crawford playing the same type of character watch Harriet Craig, made in 1950, when she was playing a role that fit her actual age. This film with Wendell Cory, was as good as Queen Bee was bad. Crawford should have finished with film when she made Baby Jane, with another actress who should have realized they were not no longer femme fatales. Crawford's last fling at acting was as bad as TROG. She tried acting on a Soap Opera, filling in for a main character. Many looked forward to seeing her on day time TV, and she was a horrible flop.

  • This is the best movie ever made

    • mr. nice guy
    • 3/5/12

    Just kidding; all the other reviews were probably written by the same person. ;)

  • Another T.R.O.G. Acronym

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/29/11

    It's been over a year since I posted my review of "TROG", Joan Crawford's last (and undisputedly worst) film. In my review, I asked other reviewers to come up with another acronym for the title. Since nobody has yet posted one, I'm offering another one: T is for Terrible, R is for reeking, O is for odorous and G is for garbage.C'mon all you classic film fans who love bashing Joan's totally awful 60's films like I do (with the exception of "Whatever Happened To Baby Jane"), let's see some more T.R.O.G. acronyms posted! If I think of another one I certainly won't hesitate in posting it!

  • T.R.O.G.-An Acronym

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/27/10

    T is for Trashy, R is for Ridiculous, O is for Outrageous and G is for Gross - that's essentially what "Trog" (1970) is, starring Joan Crawford in her final film role. She should have called it quits with "Strait Jacket" (1964). Joan could have ended her career on a way better note than this super bad stinker. She made some truly bad role choices, but this one as a scientist studying a TROG-lodyte (prehistoric man) is indisputably the worst. I've seen it a couple of times, and to me "Trog" is by far the worst horror film ever - it makes "Plan Nine From Outer Space", Ed Wood's 1959 disaster hailed as the all-time worst film ever made, look like "Gone With The Wind" - that's how bad it really is! I'm surprised "Trog" was never lampooned on "Mystery Science Theater 3000", a show I used to watch regularly (how about bringing it back!) It's a shame Joan Crawford's career ended with this piece of garbage after all the really classy films she did early on. If somebody can think of another T.R.O.G. meaning please post in in their review.

  • Going, going, gone

    • MarieAndrews
    • 7/10/09

    This film was made at the end of the worst part of the movie stardom of Joan Crawford. It is among the worst films ever made. Other reviewers have already expressed my responses to this horrible film. The only surprise is that it wasn't directed by Ed Wood.

  • A Vodka Face

    • Virginia.K
    • 6/1/09

    "Trog" is where drinking a quart of vodka a day leads to. Shortly thereafter,an early grave. Only a masochist could be a fan of that fate. As she said, "I don't want to be anybody but myself." Well, Miss Crawford, this is yourself. This is the film you chose to end your career with. If that's not a sobbering thought I don't know what is.

  • ?????????????????????????????

    • film_critiquer
    • 5/22/09

    Why, oh why?Abominable & pathetic film.Frenzied & aberrant acting by Crawford.

  • Horrendous: So Bad It's Sad

    • Prof_Alice
    • 5/17/09

    Miss Crawford must have been out of her mind, desperate to remain a movie star or for money. For a long time before her being a movie star ended, Joan Crawford made terrible choices about what she played in. This film's one among the many. What happened during the era when people like Joan Crawford worked for fortune and fame, glamour and celebrity, once their original appeal faded with age, they didn't have god enough acting skills or the respect of contemporaries in the business to get better roles. There's no sense writing about this film. That would be ludicrous.

  • Were They Thinking? If so, what?

    • ZZane
    • 5/6/09

    The addage by camp fans that 'it's so bad it's good' has been debunked. Miss Crawford in this waste of footage provide the primary example of why bad isn't good. In the case of this film, bad is horrid. I wonder if TCM will remove this criticism of Crawford's terrible performance?

  • PROBABLY JOAN'S WORST, SO BAD IT'S GOOD!

    • BRUCE R.
    • 8/3/07

    IT'S BEEN A WHILE SINCE I SAW "TROG", BUT I REMEMBER THAT IT WAS SO AWFUL THAT JOAN CRAWFORD ACTUALLY MADE IT WORTH WATCHING. I'VE SEEN MOST OF HER FILMS, AND SHE HAS PROVEN OVER AND OVER THAT SHE COULD STILL GIVE A DECENT PERFORMANCE DESPITE THE QUALITY OF THE SCRIPT OR WHAT TYPE OF ROLE SHE IS CAST IN.THIS WAS JOAN AT HER CAMPY BEST, AND I LOVED EVERY BIT OF IT.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.