skip navigation
The Music Man

The Music Man(1962)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Music Man A con artist hawks musical instruments and band uniforms to... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Meredith Wilson's: The Music Man

    • Goetan
    • 8/29/13

    A colorful, overtly-cheerful adaptation of the famous musical. Preston, in a Golden Globe-nominated performance, is a con-man who arrives in a sleepy Iowa town and convinces most of it's residents to start a boys band, everyone but Jones, another Golden Globe-nominated performance, is charmed by the idea. Won a Oscar for it's delightful score, the songs are hummable, but the story and characters can be predictable and flat. A charming, safe piece of Americana. I give it a 3/5.

  • The music man

    • grace
    • 12/22/12

    Never in my life have i seen a better musical. how can you not sing along to "sadder but wiser girl for me" and " Marian the librarian" and all the others! this musical is wonderfully casted and it seems as if every actor was meant for that part! i have seen this movie over and over again and still don't get bored. i recommend this funny, exciting musical to everyone! please watch the music man... trust me, it will be your new favorite musical!

  • "Baaaallllzzzzac!"

    • Nurse Noir
    • 2/9/12

    This will be short, because all I can say is, "The Music Man" is perfection. I can't think of a thing I'd change. I'm a cranky, cynical elitist but I love everyword and note. I spent my childhood in small town middle America and this gets it just right.

  • Great Entertainment

    • Tim
    • 11/23/11

    As fine a screen adaptation of a Broadway musical as you'll see. A pure fun feel good movie from start to finish. I've seen it many times and never get tired of watching these great performers. I always get a chuckle out of Hermione Gingold, but it's almost unfair to single out any one member of the cast. If you haven't yet seen Meredith Wilson's The Music Man, catch it when you get a chance. It'll leave you smiling.

  • Great Film !!

    • Jim
    • 9/30/11

    I have seen this film over 30 times and still enjoy it. Robert Preston was great as Harold Hill..Buddy Hackett was great as his sidekick..

  • There was music.

    • Chris
    • 7/14/11

    Fun musical. Light songs and energetic dancing. Loved Ford as the mayor.

  • The Music Man

    • Kris
    • 7/13/11

    I grew up with a reel-to-reel recording of this and other musicals. i don't remember when I first saw the movie, but I sing along every time. I can't decide which song is my favorite, they're all wonderful. A copy of this DVD is in my future and should be in yours!!

  • The Music Man

    • Glen Ellyn
    • 2/15/10

    If you like musicals, this is one of the all-time greats. The casting is right on and the music and lyrics are fabulous. How can you not sing along to Shipoopi or Seventy-Six Trombones? Robert Preston was born to play Professor Harold Hill. And don't miss Ronny Howard's performance as Winthrop Paroo. Oh-ho the Wells Fargo Wagon is a-comin' down the street. Oh don't let him pass my door...

  • Buddy Hackett is a highlight

    • Lizzy
    • 6/12/09

    Although Robert Preston and Shirley Jones are the main characters,Buddy Hackett steals the show with hisgreat comedic talent.

  • The Music Man is a Must-See

    • Charlie
    • 7/4/08

    What a great movie. I first saw it when I was 14 years old. Now, I'm 60,and, I still watch it over,and,over..with my grandchildren...If you enjoy musicals,do yourself a favor,and,go rent it...Enjoy...

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.