skip navigation
Rio Bravo

Rio Bravo(1959)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rio Bravo A sheriff enlists a drunk, a... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • great movie

    • jae
    • 5/10/14

    this is one of my favorite westerns. i watch it every chance i get. the supporting cast is great but as for angie dickinson, i think it is one of the worst acting jobs i have ever seen.

  • rio bravo

    • will
    • 4/7/13

    ive seen this movie soooo many times, never get tired of it. john wayne and dean martin (as always) worked great together. walter brennan steals the scenes, good ol stumpy becomes the save the day hero, with his dyneemite. ricky nelson with his eye mascara and droopy lower lip (elvis he wasnt) is creepy.a leering claude atkin great, but not enought of him. it would have been better, to see what elvis could have done with ricky nelsons part, dressed grubby like in charro. i thought the scenes with angie dickinson and john wayne were strained and annoying. story goes dean arrived on the set dressed in an outfit similar to ricky nelsons and went to howard hawks stating, this isnt what a rundown drunkin cowboy would look like . hawks told him, go find what YOU think you SHOULD look like. dean martin put his own outfit together and thats what you see on screen. now thats acting. as someone else has said. he should have got an oscar. a little de guello (throat cutting music) thank you mr.tiomkin and youve got a great saturday afternoon movie.

  • Wayne's Best Film

    • Jim
    • 1/1/13

    I watched "Rio Bravo" for the umpteenth time last night, and to me, this is John Wayne's best film. Superb direction by Howard Hawks. (I also enjoy Hawks' "To Have Or Have Not" & "The Big Sleep.") Dino and Ricky even sing. Fine support from Angie Dickinson and Walter Brennan. Brennan's cackle has to go down as one of the most hilarious laughs in cinematic history. Even Claude Akins is the quintessential bad guy. I agree with the earlier reviewer that Martin should have won the Oscar. His best dramatic performance. Could watch this again and again...and I will.

  • Rio Bravo sequel

    • Richard
    • 11/14/12

    How can I interest anyone in a script to the sequel to the western Rio Bravo? I know that western genre is passe, but I believe I have a great story here. Should I rent a huge billboard in Holywood for everyone to see? Contacting the so called "literary agents" is so useless.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/19/12

    Another great western reunion by Wayne & director, Hawks. Wayne, Dickinson & Brennan make a great ensemble, but Martin & Nelson steal the show. The former giving his best dramatic performance. The film is brimming with an excellent story that exciting & difficult to stop viewing. Overlong, but that's a weak complaint towards the film. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Mark
    • 6/9/12

    Great Escapist fun with great actors a favorite movie of mine

  • one of the best

    • Adam
    • 8/18/11

    One of my favorite John Wayne films of all-time... And one of my favorite movies in general.

  • Rio Bravo

    • riokid
    • 12/22/10

    Undoubtedly the best western ever made. Dean Martin should have got an oscar for his role as Dude. The singing is fantastic & everyone seems to have gotten along while making this movie.

  • Dude and Feathers

    • scott miller
    • 6/4/10

    In full synopsis it states Dude was involved with Feathers. The way I remember it, Dude was involved with a woman LIKE Feathers.

  • stumpy

    • mike
    • 10/15/09

    Walter Brennan is the real star in this movie - as Stumpy, he steals the scene from the other stars at every opportunity , I thought I would pass out from all the side splitting, humorous comebacks he had to say to anything wayne would tell him.

  • love John Wayne

    • charles a cosand
    • 8/15/09

    Stupidest script and casting in his history!

  • Rio Bravo is timeless

    • Bushwomann
    • 5/6/09

    Love this western, one of the best. Dean Martin gives an excellent performance, and his singing is the greatest. John Wayne, Ricky Nelson, great acting, I could watch this over and over again, and have.

  • A GREAT WESTERN

    • JASON
    • 5/6/09

    ONE OF THE BEST WESTERNS THAT HAS EVER BEEN MADE.DEAN MARTIN AND RICKY NELSON STAND OUT.IT IS A MUST SEE.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Ruben Filimonczuk
    • 2/1/09

    Sensational movie by Howard Hawkes! John Wayne is thumbs up as usual....but Dean Martin really shines as his recovering alcoholic side-kick. A must see for all western fans!

  • Fantastic Cowboy Movie!

    • Vel
    • 8/23/06

    John Wayne at one of his best, playing a Sheriff, Dean Martin his drunken Deputy, enlist the help of a young gunslinger, Rickie Nelson. With Walter Brennan adding his humor and Angie Dickenson adding the beauty makes this a must see for a cowboy action seeking fan.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.