skip navigation
Rio Bravo

Rio Bravo(1959)

  • Thursday, August 18 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rio Bravo A sheriff enlists a drunk, a... MORE > $7.75 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Rio Bravo: Content Over Container

    • Clichae,H.A.
    • 7/20/16

    The theme, message, or sense derived from any story as told through stage or movie determines the radiance or falseness of everything/one involved in its production: Gary Cooper et al in High Noon, with expert camera work & scenery, failed to convince me of unAmerican cowardice in contrast with Rio Bravo's corny characters & TV scenery that made me proud of a more authentic American spirit!

  • Rio Bravo: The western at its cultural best

    • Rick Reeves
    • 3/15/16

    In 1952 Fred Zinneman directed a picture called High Noon which won four of that year's Academy Awards. It was a story of a town marshal who had three outlaws arriving on the noon train to seek revenge for being previously jailed. The marshal spends the whole film running around town, begging for help and not getting it. Finally he is saved by his fiance, a Quaker girl who hates violence. John Wayne and the great director Howard Hawks both felt that such a story was feeble, a tale that did not reflect the character and strength of the frontier folk upon whose efforts America was originally founded. Consequently they decided to make a film about the opposite situation: a sheriff in trouble who desperately needs help but never asks for it. The result was Rio Bravo. The narrative covers a small group of individuals cut off from mainstream life, each an outsider of one sort or another. It is about the development of character rather than plot. Its themes go deep and touch on duty, moral and physical incapacity and, ultimately, the redemption that comes to the individual soul when great difficulties are faced and not shirked or glossed over. In this way Rio Bravo is a joyous, life-affirming work and very different from the superficial and cynical "spaghetti" westerns that appeared a decade later which were mere exercises in style based on the tradition of the Commedia dell'Arte. By contrast the pace of Rio Bravo is relaxed allowing for genuine character development due in part to its writer Leigh Brackett providing a woman's perspective. (How often do the fair sex write westerns?). The unfolding relationship between the sheriff and the prostitute (John Wayne and Angie Dickinson) is exquisitely crafted while Dean Martin's performance as the struggling alcoholic is an acting masterclass in itself. Rio Bravo is a strong contender for the best western of all time perhaps second only to Ford's The Searchers.

  • Hail Howard Hawks !

    • Will Fox
    • 2/1/15

    As any serious scholar or student of the studio system in Hollywood's heyday knows, Howard Hawks is in the top 3, of the most successful directors. Intelligent people worldwide are still fascinated by John Ford's westerns. Alfred Hitchcock's suspense-filled mysteries intrigue five-generations of the intelligencia. Rivaling these two aces, is the ace of aces among world-class film directors, Howard Hawks. He created more 4-star films (the highest of ratings among most critics) in many more genres than any other director in the history of film. Howard Hawks is famous as a movie-making maverick with a distinctive talent for creating sassy female characters that enchant male bosses. Please consider his hits: "A Girl in Every Port" (1928), "The Dawn Patrol" (1930), "The Crowd Roars" and "Scarface" (1932), "20th Century," "Barbary Coast," "Bringing Up Baby," "Only Angels Have Wings," "His Girl Friday," "Sergeant York," "Ball of Fire," "Corvette K -255,", "To Have And Have Not," "The Big Sleep" (1946), "Red River" (1948), "A Star Is Born," "I Was A Male War Bride," "The Thing From Another World," "The Big Sky," "Monkey Business," "Gentle Prefer Blondes," "Rio Bravo" (1959), "Hatari" (1962), and "El Dorado" (1967). Twenty-three successes. Who else compares to this heroic champion, across so many different genres, among film directors? Hail Howard Hawks!

  • rio bravo

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/20/14

    Top 5 reasons to prefer John Ford westerns to Howard Hawks westerns (in no particular order)1) Ford's women may be idealized, but at least they have their femininity.2) John Wayne plays more complex characters in Ford's westerns (Matt Dunston excepted)3) Ford's Monument Valley setting is visually striking whereas too many of Hawks westerns look(and feel) like extended Gunsmoke episodes. (i.e. Ford's westerns all feel like they're in color while Hawks' westerns all feel like they're in black and white.)4) Ford's western themes of savagery vs. civilization, reality vs.illusion, and the individual vs. the institution are broader and more interesting than Hawks lone theme of male bonding while doing a difficult job.5) The French prefer Hawks' westerns to Ford's.

  • great movie

    • jae
    • 5/10/14

    this is one of my favorite westerns. i watch it every chance i get. the supporting cast is great but as for angie dickinson, i think it is one of the worst acting jobs i have ever seen.

  • rio bravo

    • will
    • 4/7/13

    ive seen this movie soooo many times, never get tired of it. john wayne and dean martin (as always) worked great together. walter brennan steals the scenes, good ol stumpy becomes the save the day hero, with his dyneemite. ricky nelson with his eye mascara and droopy lower lip (elvis he wasnt) is creepy.a leering claude atkin great, but not enought of him. it would have been better, to see what elvis could have done with ricky nelsons part, dressed grubby like in charro. i thought the scenes with angie dickinson and john wayne were strained and annoying. story goes dean arrived on the set dressed in an outfit similar to ricky nelsons and went to howard hawks stating, this isnt what a rundown drunkin cowboy would look like . hawks told him, go find what YOU think you SHOULD look like. dean martin put his own outfit together and thats what you see on screen. now thats acting. as someone else has said. he should have got an oscar. a little de guello (throat cutting music) thank you mr.tiomkin and youve got a great saturday afternoon movie.

  • Wayne's Best Film

    • Jim
    • 1/1/13

    I watched "Rio Bravo" for the umpteenth time last night, and to me, this is John Wayne's best film. Superb direction by Howard Hawks. (I also enjoy Hawks' "To Have Or Have Not" & "The Big Sleep.") Dino and Ricky even sing. Fine support from Angie Dickinson and Walter Brennan. Brennan's cackle has to go down as one of the most hilarious laughs in cinematic history. Even Claude Akins is the quintessential bad guy. I agree with the earlier reviewer that Martin should have won the Oscar. His best dramatic performance. Could watch this again and again...and I will.

  • Rio Bravo sequel

    • Richard
    • 11/14/12

    How can I interest anyone in a script to the sequel to the western Rio Bravo? I know that western genre is passe, but I believe I have a great story here. Should I rent a huge billboard in Holywood for everyone to see? Contacting the so called "literary agents" is so useless.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/19/12

    Another great western reunion by Wayne & director, Hawks. Wayne, Dickinson & Brennan make a great ensemble, but Martin & Nelson steal the show. The former giving his best dramatic performance. The film is brimming with an excellent story that exciting & difficult to stop viewing. Overlong, but that's a weak complaint towards the film. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Mark
    • 6/9/12

    Great Escapist fun with great actors a favorite movie of mine

  • one of the best

    • Adam
    • 8/18/11

    One of my favorite John Wayne films of all-time... And one of my favorite movies in general.

  • Rio Bravo

    • riokid
    • 12/22/10

    Undoubtedly the best western ever made. Dean Martin should have got an oscar for his role as Dude. The singing is fantastic & everyone seems to have gotten along while making this movie.

  • Dude and Feathers

    • scott miller
    • 6/4/10

    In full synopsis it states Dude was involved with Feathers. The way I remember it, Dude was involved with a woman LIKE Feathers.

  • stumpy

    • mike
    • 10/15/09

    Walter Brennan is the real star in this movie - as Stumpy, he steals the scene from the other stars at every opportunity , I thought I would pass out from all the side splitting, humorous comebacks he had to say to anything wayne would tell him.

  • love John Wayne

    • charles a cosand
    • 8/15/09

    Stupidest script and casting in his history!

  • Rio Bravo is timeless

    • Bushwomann
    • 5/6/09

    Love this western, one of the best. Dean Martin gives an excellent performance, and his singing is the greatest. John Wayne, Ricky Nelson, great acting, I could watch this over and over again, and have.

  • A GREAT WESTERN

    • JASON
    • 5/6/09

    ONE OF THE BEST WESTERNS THAT HAS EVER BEEN MADE.DEAN MARTIN AND RICKY NELSON STAND OUT.IT IS A MUST SEE.

  • Rio Bravo

    • Ruben Filimonczuk
    • 2/1/09

    Sensational movie by Howard Hawkes! John Wayne is thumbs up as usual....but Dean Martin really shines as his recovering alcoholic side-kick. A must see for all western fans!

  • Fantastic Cowboy Movie!

    • Vel
    • 8/23/06

    John Wayne at one of his best, playing a Sheriff, Dean Martin his drunken Deputy, enlist the help of a young gunslinger, Rickie Nelson. With Walter Brennan adding his humor and Angie Dickenson adding the beauty makes this a must see for a cowboy action seeking fan.....

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.