skip navigation
Youngblood Hawke

Youngblood Hawke(1964)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Youngblood Hawke A novelist exercises a... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Missed the movie today!!!

    • Oma Blue
    • 3/13/14

    I can't believe this is the only day in a great while that I haven't checked your schedule, and missed Youngblood Hawke. I grew up in the community where he first started filming,,,in Eastern Kentucky. Please try to run the movie again, or let me know if I can get a DVD of this movie. Thanks,,,Oma Blue

  • where the first few scenes take place.

    • william cantrell
    • 9/11/12

    I now own one of the old company house where the first scene was filmed. the old coal prep. plant has long been torn down. for me that scene brings back many good memories, please run it again tcm. please put it on dvd.

  • Finally!

    • SJones
    • 6/19/12

    I read the book "Youngblood Hawke" when I was in Junior High School and carried the hardcover book around like it was a baby. Since then, I have bought a copy of this book every time I have seen it and forced my friends to read it. I do remember seeing the movie one night, very late after I had read the book and have been praying ever since to see it again, and placed request to see it on the TCM website. Imagine my absolute joy and astonishment when I finally saw that TCM was playing this film. Having read the book at least six time, now that I am grown and have finally seen the film again, I have to say that I am a bit annoyed at some of the changes made for the screenplay - I do dislike losing so much of the character development to create a "happy ending" but I do understand that this is sometimes necessary. Anyway, I still love the film and love virtually everything written by Herman Wouk. Thank you TCM for showing this film. Now, please put it on DVD so I can finally erase it from my PVR machine....

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • J. Arul
    • 10/24/11

    AWESOME romantic scene between Genevive Page's "Frieda Winter" and James Franciscus' "Youngblood Hawke" within the first 30 minutes. Viewers know that Hawke and Frieda were attracted to each other at the Christmas Party noting the publishing of Hawke's first book. Under the guise of contributing material to the research of Hawke's next book, Frieda takes Hawke to her empty-nest home, absent of an out-of-town husband and children. After some chat and a meal, Frieda pulls out and reviews one of those resource items in her library. Hawke is so enchanted with her, he boldly moves in and kisses her. Her response to his initial advances is what I found rather unique about this movie. She lifts herself up from the pillows she was sitting on, ponders her next move (as the camera gives a close-up of her smile), then slowly and gracefully proceeds to turn out two lighted lamps in the room, remove a set of ear rings and place them behind a sofa, and slowly turns to longingly gaze at Hawke while she rests on the sofa. Hawke approaches her, but is still at a distance. Then...THE moment. Frieda fully extends both of her arms towards Hawke, clearly inviting him to come to her and continue what he started. WOW! Magical. She prepared the room for romance, then she prepared herself for more. The scene fades away as Frieda and Hawke engage in a make-out session on the sofa. PLAY IT AGAIN, TCM !!!

  • Please play it again

    • John Taylor
    • 10/19/11

    Missed this showing and would love to see it. It is special to me because the log house in the picture was my great grandmothers. They were told to stay inside while they filmed. Been looking for years for this movie. Please play it again. Thanks

  • YOUNG BLOOD HAWK

    • FRANCES RICHARDSON
    • 10/16/11

    ....FIRST TIME SEEING THIS MOVIE..REALLY LIKED IT....WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT AGAIN...JAMES FRANCISCUS IS GORGEOUS...WOW,, FIRST RATE ACTING BY ALL THE PLAYERS...WHAT A GREAT STORY .. I TRULY ENJOYED IT. I'M SO GLAD TO HAVE SEEN THIS..I CAUGHT IT BY CHANCE AND DIDN'T GET IT RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING AND THEN ONCE I STARTED WATCHING I COULDN'T TURN AWAY.....GREAT PICK. P.S. DO PLAY IT AGAIN.

  • YoungBlood Hawk

    • Horleane Hazle
    • 10/16/11

    Saw this movie years ago, being looking for it ever since. then was at work when it finally came on today. Just happen to see it because they play tcm channel to the elderly. Love Tcm. its my favorite channel. Could you play it again just one more time. Thanks. I want to eventully own this classic tyme piece. Willl it become available on Dvd?

  • Youngblood Hawk

    • Angie Erickson
    • 10/16/11

    Really enjoyed this movie today. Glad to have checked it out. I had completely forgotten about James Franciscus, but do now remember. What a doll. Thank you TCM, for making my day. AngieE

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • GC
    • 10/16/11

    One of the classics. Thanks to TCM for airing this rarely seen masterpiece. Lots of fond memories, especially of the late actress Suzanne Pleshette, and Genevive Page, who both gave stellar performances. Hollywood doesn't make romantic scenes today as good as those between these lovely ladies' characters (notably Page's "Frieda Winter") and James Franciscus' "Youngblood Hawke." (I'm reminded of another classic -- Myrna Loy and Paul Newman in "From the Terrace.") The movie's synopsis was right...Hawke truly did "cast a spell" over these stunning women. Page's (Frieda Winter's) elegance and beauty will forever be remembered, and in my opinion, Pleshette is a Hollywood icon. Great stuff...definitely FIVE STARS!

  • A Chance to See Youngblood Hawke

    • Victoria
    • 10/15/11

    Thank you so much TCM for airing 'Youngblood Hawke'. Since it is not available on DVD, it is virtually impossible to see. Anything based on a Herman Wouk novel is worth our time. This one has an excellent cast including the frequently underrated Suzanne Pleshette. I just hope it is as good as I remember.

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • FM
    • 10/10/11

    Happy to hear it. Herman Wouk's book is terrific- I'm happy to see the movie will be shown as it has all but disappeared. Great cast, great story. thank you.

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • Nancy Cox
    • 10/3/11

    I'm so excited TCM is finally showing this as it is not released on DVD yet. I haven't seen this movie in years but really enjoyed it the first time I saw it. I love James Franciscus and Suzanne Pleshette.

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • Donna
    • 9/17/11

    I saw this movie a long time ago and really enjoyed it. Suzanne Pleshette is gorgeous in this film. I would love to see it on TCM and also released on DVD.

  • Delmer Daves Fine FIlm

    • David Atkins
    • 8/5/11

    Delmer Daves made 4 smash hits at WB all in a row starring Troy Donahue: A Summer Place, Parrish,Susan Slade and the ever romantic Rome Adventure. On this film Warren Beatty was initially cast,but refused to sign his contract so Jack Warner in a rage fired Beatty and cast James Fransiscus who does a fine job as Youngblood Hawke. The film works if you like Daves films and I do. Suzanne Pleshette then Mrs. Troy Donahue is cast as the female lead. Suzanne Pleshette does as always a first rate professional job. My question iswith the great track record of the Daves-Donahue movies why wasn't Troy Donahue then the biggest star on the WB lot as Youngblood Hawke? Genieve Page is fine as the leading lady a role Rita Hayworth was also considered.

  • Youngblood Hawke

    • Carolyn Reed
    • 6/14/10

    I saw this movie when it first came out & have read the book. It needs to be released on DVD. We get the same movies over & over & I haven't been able to find this one after years of searching. Please try to get this movie released on DVD.

  • Youngblook Hawke

    • Harriette Stewart
    • 3/24/10

    I picked up this paperback with several of its pages missing and I thoroughly enjoyed the novel. I will soon be recuperating from a minor medical procedure and I wish I had the film on DVD.

  • Youngblood Hawke long lost passion

    • Brenda Alark
    • 7/22/09

    Love this movie and this film should be release on DVD soon or at least shown on TCM so Many of us can injoy the passion and struggle of the two actors love for each other comes to light.

  • A novel and film for all time

    • Spaceflightengineer
    • 4/15/09

    That this excellent opus of a young and naive writer's burgeoning and manipulated career, and "greening" has yet to be placed on DVD is astonishing to this fan. Pleshette, Franciscus and a film by Delmer Daves- what could a true fan of potboiler romance films want??Please consider bringing this out to the home media.BP

  • 'Youngblood Hawke' deserves to be seen.

    • Victoria
    • 2/19/08

    This very worthy movie should be on DVD. It was co-written by the great Herman Wouk and is based on his novel of the same name. It has a great cast in which all the parts are played by either actors who should have been big stars (Suzanne Pleshette) or are excellent character actors (the list is very long). TCM- please broadcast this movie so we who love it can record it for ourselves.

  • my favorite movie of all time

    • carol sue williams
    • 1/23/08

    I love watching movies. Years ago I saw this movie and have never seen one I liked better. It is wonderful. The stars are excellent and the story is so believeable. I would love to have a copy of it and have searched and asked about it many times. PLEASE let me know if it can be gotten or if it is going to be shown, I don't always catch the listings.If you get a chance to watch it. DO, it is well worth your time and I think you will LOVE it too.

  • Youngblood Hawke is a Good Movie!

    • Joe Dougherty
    • 5/3/07

    I can not understand why this movie gets panned all of the time. It has a good story, by one of the great writers, marvalous music by Max Steiner and a very HOT Suzanne Pleshette as the star.It should be out on DVD so the new generation can see.

  • Great book - love to see the film

    • klg
    • 1/31/07

    Youngblood Hawke is one of my favorite books of all time - yet I have never seen the movie because it isn't available in any format. The cast looks great, and from all of the reviews I have read, it seems to be a very solid film. Please consider releasing it on DVD, or at the very least, showing it on TCM.

  • Entertaining Film

    • Movie Fan
    • 10/28/06

    I saw this film years ago and have been looking for it since to be shown on TCM and released on DVD. Both James Franciscus and Suzanne Pleshette put out good performances along with the supporting actors. Please consider releasing film on DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.