skip navigation
The Big Circus

The Big Circus(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Big Circus A ringleader tries to keep his... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Big Circus

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/26/12

    "The Big Circus" (1959) is a fine film from bargain-basement studio Allied Artists, which mostly produced low-budget crime dramas in black & white, of which the most famous is "Al Capone" starring Rod Steiger and one of my all-time favorite gangster films. TBC is a very lavish production in color, widescreen and with a spectacular cast featuring Victor Mature, Rhonda Fleming, Peter Lorre, Vincent Price, Gilbert Roland, Red Buttons, David Nelson and Kathryn Grant. The producer and screenwriter of TBC is Irwin Allen, who would produce the TV sci-fi shows "Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea" and "Lost In Space" in the 60's, and the blockbuster films "The Poseidon Adventure" (1972) and "The Towering Inferno" (1974), earning him the name "The Master of Disaster". TBC's almost as good as C.B. DeMille's circus classic "The Greatest Show On Earth" (1952). Please show it again soon TCM. I saw only the first 5 minutes and the last hour of TBC when it aired on Sunday night 6/24/12.

  • The Big Circus

    • LNORMAN
    • 3/6/11

    Thank you so much. I have waited since I was a little girl over 40 years ago to finally see this movie again. I have written and written, asking why the movie has never been shown.Now it is finally out on DVD. Thank you for hearing me for so many years.The Big Circus is an excellent movie EXCELLENT!!!!!!

  • The Big Circus

    • Lance
    • 7/30/10

    This a very good film that doesn't get a lot of publicity. I've seen it countless times on Sunday afternoons in the old days before cable. Pick it up..you'll enjoy the acting of Victor Mature, one of the old greats that doesn't get a lot of credit.

  • My 25-year wait is over!

    • Dick Redman
    • 9/3/09

    Finally! I have searched for any kind of a copy of this movie for years. It has been since the 1980s that I have even seen it on television. What a great film, with both Peter Lore and David Nelson acting against type. Everyone does a superb job in their roles, and while it may not be the best circus film ever presented, it's got something for everyone. As a car-Buff, I even loved seeing Hank's Chrysler parade car from the late 50s. When was the last time (if ever) you saw one of those? Interestingly, I had read that one of the reasons the movie was never released was because of Gilbert Roland's scene walking across Niagara Falls on a wire. What, was this supposed to lure hapless fools into trying it themselves? Anyway, for whatever the reason, the wait was worth it!

  • Great Movie

    • luz Rivera
    • 4/11/09

    I just love this movie and I would like TCM to show it on tv. It has been many, many years when I first saw this movie. I believe that the viewers would enjoy it. The movie has a lot of know actors.

  • great circus movie

    • brinda
    • 2/17/09

    The first time I saw this movie was withmy mother in 1959 at one of the great movie housesdowntown LA she loved the circus so muchand her favorite star in the movie wasvictor mature, beside the great curcus the movie had you on the edge of your seat, because it is also a "who done it"and has a great surprise ending. I would love for my children to see this, my mom got to go to the ringling brothers circusin 1989 before she passed away and takenmy grandchildren. Great movie and stars.hope to see soon on tcm, my favorite channel

  • THE BIG CIRCUS

    • sally
    • 8/12/08

    This was one of the best circus movie and should be released to the public to enjoy.

  • One Great Circus Movie

    • Paul Bobe'
    • 1/28/08

    This Circus movie will bring back the child in you. It will make you remember all the little things about your childhood. It a classic. With a cast of greats like Victor Mature, Gilbert Roland, Randa Fleming, Vincent Price. It can't be anything but a classic. Please vote to get this movie available on DVD. You won't be sorry

  • The Best Circus Movie Ever

    • Peter McGarvey
    • 11/5/07

    The Big Circus never takes itself seriously. It is a mixture of mystery, high adventure (tight rope walking across Niagara Falls) and comedy (Red Buttons and Peter Lorre.C.B. DeMille's Greatest Show on Earth may have unjustly won Oscars but The Big Circus is far more entertaining.If you would like to see the Big Circus on DVD please come to my blog http://www.gapopensource.com and express your views

  • Circus

    • bruce
    • 7/28/07

    as a big circus fan since i saw my first ringling bros at age 5 . vincent price & peter lorre refreshing not in really serious roles. more comedic at least for peter lorre.

  • A Great Family Movie

    • MIKE MARTIN
    • 4/11/07

    One of my all time favorites from my childhood. I great cast and a great plot. A circus owner fighting all the odds to stay in business. My favorite scene is Gilbert Roland wire walking across Niagra Falls.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.