skip navigation
Some Came Running

Some Came Running(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Some Came Running A veteran returns home to deal... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An odd film

    • denscul
    • 12/11/13

    As former vet, Sinatra's role seemed odd. He wore his uniform, was a Private, and was old enough to be a grandfather. Ok, he was a writer, and most of them are odd. Ever meet one? As for the plot, ok, because it was complex, but believable. Shirley Mac was great, Dean Martin seemed to be playing himself, if I actually knew him. Better flic than most produced today.

  • Truly Underrated Film

    • SeptemberZen
    • 12/3/13

    I've seen this film many times and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. It's not at all clear as to why some critics have deemed Sinatra's performance to be "weak" by comparison to his talent in other movies. Shirley MacLaine is the standout here to be sure, but Sinatra, Dean Martin, Arthur Kennedy and Martha Hyer more than do their part.The dramatic and heart-tugging storyline, performances and musical score will keep you engaged from start to finish. This film is almost always given 3.5 - 4 stars by other critics. For me, it's a 5-star film.

  • Some Came Running

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/28/12

    A frequently underated film from 1958. Sinatra gives a weaker performance when compared to MacLaine, Kennedy & Hyer who earned nominations for the film. Elmer Bernstein creates a terrific score to this good adaptation of the Jones novel. A terrific, engaging & powerful story. I give it a 4/5.

  • My Hometown

    • Hawkeye
    • 3/10/12

    This movie was filmed in my hometown of Madison, Indiana the summer before I was born (1957.) I have always enjoyed watching the movie, the stars, etc. but personally get a kick out of seeing all the scenes!

  • memories of youth

    • thomas
    • 2/9/12

    I saw this film as a child in the theatre on a wide screen when it was first released. I didn't know what it was really about but I felt it was powerful. 50 plus years latter, I understand the film but still vividly remember the initial experience. I miss the big screen but as always thank the national treasure that is TCM.

  • Marvelous MacLaine!

    • RedRain
    • 2/9/12

    This film breaks my heart and, for that reason, I don't view it as often as I do others. Shirley MacLaine gives the performance of her life and was rightfully nominated for the Academy Award as Best Actress. She is such a helpless ditz and is she is treated so shamefully. You want to cradle her in your arms and rock her to sleep. Sinatra is superb, as is Dean Martin who actually portrays what I always viewed as his real life self. It's a great film for seeing top notch acting and the story is a good one too. It's very much worth viewing but be prepared for an adult film with an ending that will stun you.

  • Some came running

    • mtm
    • 2/19/10

    The first time I watched this movie I was hooked! I try to watch it every time its on. I find it ironic my favorite Frank and Dean movie isn't a musical. The characters are truly flawed but trying to be better. I cried so hard the first time I saw it and cry every time since[only not quite as much}. Give this movie a chance and I bet you will agree it is a classic.

  • Some Came Running (1958)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/3/10

    Very interesting drama, great performance by Shirley MacLaine. TCM has a very interesting "behind the scenes" special on this movie. Good story, well directed. Good cinematography. The high production values are a plus. Martha Hyer and Arthur Kennedy give fine support.

  • It Keeps On Running

    • Paul Conrad Jackson
    • 9/30/09

    I showed this movie as a teenage projectionist at the Savoy movie house in Hull, Yorkshire, England. Long before I came to Canada. It has always been known as a monumental critical and commercial flop, but I have always liked it. Guess what? It grows on you. Must confess, Frank Sinatra has always been my favourite entertainer. OK, Dean Martin plays himself, as usual, and the dialogue is predictable. But all in all, taken as it is, Some Came Running is not bad entertainment at all. A good period piece, and quite whimsical.

  • Misunderstood near-masterpiece

    • Richard
    • 5/7/09

    Some Came Running stands on the cusp of two Hollywoods. It is part old fashioned melodrama and gradually turns into the sort of European "new wave" cinema that greatly influenced modern film making.The film never goes where you think it is going--and things unravel (not come together) at the end. In key moments, characters are mute-- but framing, lighting, and use of color tell us a great deal.Thus, Minnelli's film is both theatrical artifice and modern reality, and really requires more than one viewing to understand.

  • What a Great Period Piece

    • Chris
    • 7/12/08

    Dean Martin and Shirley MacLaine became legitimate movie stars in this movie. MacLaine's drunken rendition of "After You've Gone" is my favorite version of the song, even though she butchers it badly. Her character's loyalty to Frank Sinatra's character always touches my heart whenever the movie plays, which is a tribute to the young actress' talent. This is not the greatest movie in the history of cinema, but I enjoy it tremendously. Ain't that a kick in the head?

  • I absolutely love this movie

    • amanda 20
    • 2/29/08

    This movie is so accurate on how life sometimes is. No one's life is perfect.This shows that struggle...I loved it. It's my favorite movie now!!!

  • Tearjerker for a Rainy Sunday.

    • marksgirl5
    • 2/24/08

    Granted this won't go down as the greatest movie of all time, but I found some of the comments a little harsh.Shirley McClain was wonderful and everyone who know movies also knows Sinatra often rushed filming in most of the movies he had control over. But there were many times, like this one where he helped other actors careers.Because McClain was a female member of the "RAT PACK" Sinatra gave her the dying scene. That was supposed to be his seen but he let her have it and help make her career. Up there with other good tearjerkers

  • Frazzled story line

    • Mark
    • 4/24/07

    It is hard to get the sense there is straight forward plot. Frank is a little old for the women he's after. Bad costumes - he has a combat infantry badge but doesn't wear a combat patch on his right shoulder. Though I'm not sure why he kept running around town in uniform if he had been discharged.

  • a botched job

    • michael york
    • 4/24/07

    legend has it that frank sinatra tore out uge portios of the script to seep up the filming which makes sense because some of the more appealing performers do find their roles stunted especially martha hyer dean martin and arthur kennedy all were excelent but the sinatra/maclaine story makes no sense

  • Some Came Running

    • Meg
    • 5/27/06

    If there's anything I hate, loathe, despise and abominate, it's this movie. I am under twenty one, so maybe this movie carries less weight with me. MAYBE. I found Shirley MacLaine annoying beyond belief with her character's painfully fake feigned innocence. I happen to dislike Frank Sinatra as a singer, so the one good part of this movie was the absense of his harsh, throaty noise. It was fraught with stupidity and cliches which were not old, but ancient at the time of this movie's production. If you feel the perverse urge to see this production born of idiotity and ineptitude in movie making, view it as an unintentional laugh riot, despite a good effort by Mr. Sinatra.

  • Melo-

    • denny
    • 1/18/06

    Drama! It's a little much for me.

  • Great movie

    • Justine
    • 1/18/06

    I thought this was entertaining and thoughtful. Keep voting for this to come to home video.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.