skip navigation
Shall We Dance

Shall We Dance(1937)

  • Sunday, November 9 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Shall We Dance - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still trying !

    • Alice
    • 12/26/13

    It's hopeless ! I've tried and tried to choose a favorite Fred and Ginger film. I own the whole collection and still watch any and every Fred and Ginger film you air. With each film, no matter how many times I have watched it before, I ask myself if that one could be my favorite. I guess I am a hopelessly lost fan. Not a bad past-time. Oh well ! Please, TBN, keep showing all of these wonderful, classic, gems.

  • Shall We Dance? (1937)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • a sexy comedy

    • tom
    • 6/17/10

    I think this movie is a better comedy than musical. Fred's performance is pure slapstick with Ginger playing the "straight man." And those zany character actors just keep the laughs coming. Ginger just goes along for the ride, that's why I love her.

  • SHALL WE DANCE JAZZ BIG BAND ERA

    • RICK
    • 2/25/10

    THIS FILM IS VERY GREAT. FRED IN THIS SLAP THAT BASS MEAN JAZZ GREAT. BUT GINGER SEEM TO HAVE ANY FUN IN THIS ROLE. SHE WANTED A DRAMATIC ROLE BY THIS TIME WITH ANOTHER TEAMATE FOR SURE THIS MOVIE IS BETTER. GREAT TCM CHANNEL

  • Marvelous.

    • GenevieveRose
    • 2/10/10

    This is the funniest Fred Astaire movie I have ever seen. The laughs just keep right on coming! The story, the script, the cast--everything is bliss.

  • Flawed Masterpiece

    • Riccardo
    • 11/1/09

    The music by the Gershwins is superb...Fred and Ginger's dancing is on their top standard...the only problem is that there's not quite enough of it. As has been said by others, Fred's main romantic dance should not have been with the contortionist Harriet Hoctor, but with the by then, superbly vital Ginger Rogers. The screenplay is particularly zany and smart in this film...and it all holds together quite well, except for its one major flaw.

  • Shall We Dance (1937)

    • Jay
    • 6/22/09

    Brilliant Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movie. It's fun, as they all are with exceptional dancing and choreography. And as with all their films, the supporting cast is outstanding. A classic joy from start to finish.

  • Fred and Ginger in top form

    • ted roberts
    • 8/16/08

    Silly plot, but the music and dancing are absolutely stunning. Astaire & Rogers, it doesn't get any better than this. Great supporting cast.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.