skip navigation
Father Is a Bachelor

Father Is a Bachelor(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Father Is a Bachelor Five orphans... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $20.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • love William Holden!

    • deb544
    • 5/9/14

    Just started watching the movie & I could tell it was WH behind the blackface paint. Glad he washed it off, he's too pretty to be covered up. Also knew he wasn't the singer. Don't really care & this movie is turning into one of my favorites! I will tell my son about this movie, he also likes the older films.

  • Excellent movie choice

    • suzi
    • 8/1/09

    I have loved this movie for years! Have invited people to watch it through the years and they all have LOVED the movie and continually watch it.....

  • A Wonderful Film

    • Campbell
    • 4/27/08

    This was a delight to watch. William Holden was so young and so good with the children. We would love to watch it over and over. Many scenes brought back dear memories. Please release this for purchase. Thank you so much.

  • Wish this was in my home DVD library.

    • Anne
    • 4/22/08

    I would like to know how many requests it takes to have this movie released on DVD? I found this such an entertaining movie and would buy it if only it was out there to buy! Thank You TCM for airing this movie.

  • A Delightful Change of Pace

    • Florence
    • 4/18/08

    It's a change of pace from what is playing in the theaters right now. And it is a delightful change of pace from later Bill Holden movies.Holden received kudos for playing the angry man and probably fought being cast in movies like Father Is a Bachelor. But I admit to being tired of the cynicism that was a part of many of those later movies, even the romantic comedy Paris When It Sizzles. I prefer him in The Remarkable Andrew, An Apartment for Peggy and Father Is a Bachelor. It's a rest for me from the cynicism and anger I find in the world today.It took a light hand to play the part. Likewise, supporting players. The director needed to want to leave the audience smiling at the end of the movie. Which means that I would rate this movie a 10 for fans of this genre. I'd give 10s as well to Holden and his co-stars and the director, not for superb performances, but for recreating a time and a place that no longer exists either in real life or in the movies.

  • It put a smile on my face.

    • Susan
    • 4/18/08

    This was such a warm, delightful movie to watch. Please play more like this one.

  • Who sang for William Holden

    • gloria
    • 4/18/08

    I see that one viewer said that Buddy Clark sang for Holden. How does this viewer know that. My sister and I, upon hearing him sing, said that it was Andy Russell doing the singing. Does anyone else agree with us?

  • I found the Voice !

    • JP
    • 4/17/08

    Buddy Clark 1912 - 1949 was the singing voice of William Holden in Father Is A Bachelor.

  • father is a bachelor

    • grace wixson
    • 4/17/08

    Did Bing Crosby actually do the vocals?Always a fan of both William Holden and Bing Crosby. Loved this film; saw it for the first time today. THANKS Mr. Turner

  • William Holden sings

    • Jim Gallagher
    • 1/4/07

    Does anybody know if William Holden did his own singing in Father Is a Bachelor, or was is it dubbed? Please let me know, if you have any background. I don't recall him singing in any other films.

  • Cute, funny movie

    • Sandy
    • 2/17/06

    Not only was Bill Holden a talented serious actor, but a good comedic actor as well. This cute little movie is one of my favorites of the great Bill Holden. He gets caught up in a family of children without parents and whose names are the months of the year. One of the funniest scenes of the movie is when he tries to make a dress for one of the little girls. I hope they will finally put this movie on video as I would love to have a copy and I wish TCM would have a William Holden Day for this multi-talented actor.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.