skip navigation
Days of Wine and Roses

Days of Wine and Roses(1962)

  • Saturday, November 15 @ 08:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Days of Wine and Roses A husband and wife fight to... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Must-See

    • Natacha
    • 3/26/13

    Outstanding drama depicting how alcoholism destroys individuals and families, the lies alcoholics tell themselves, the utter futility of trying to stay in a relationship with an alcoholic plus the difficulty of breaking it off when you love someone and she needs your help but only she can help herself. I agree with other reviewers that Lemmon was a little over the top in the scene where he trashed his father in law's greenhouse and in the mens alcoholic ward at the hospital, but these scenes needed to show the intensity of what the character was going through. Only half of a positive outcome--a third, really, since they had a child who missed her mother. The film also does a fine job of portraying the blame game inlaws and others put on the spouse of an alcoholic. Jack Klugman did an outstanding job as Lemmon's AA sponsor.

  • Art Imitates Life.

    • denscul
    • 2/4/13

    There is nothing wrong with this film, of which I am aware, as an amateur critic. However, it is always painful to watch, and certainly not entertaining because it strikes so many memories of friends and relatives who threw away their lives during my 70 years. This film is like the training films they showed us when we were in the service. You know, the ones that were supposed to warn us of all those evils that lurked out there, and were just as dangerous as the combat you were about to face. Looking back, Alcohol is always there, and add to that drugs that are even easier to get than alcohol. The real agony in watching this film, is that you hope, but know that those who should see this film, will not, or will not pay any attention.

  • Days Of Wine And Red Noses

    • Jack Lee
    • 8/17/12

    Powerful!

  • Newspaper business

    • Jack The Hat
    • 12/15/11

    I worked in the newspaper business for thirty one years and watched my fellow workers die one by one from alcoholism, few reached the age of sixty. I wish that someone could discover why people end there lives this way? I might add that some in up in aslyums. Sad!

  • Jack Lemmon Magnficent in Blake Edwards Film

    • David Atkins
    • 1/30/11

    Jack Lemmon one of the last of the great Studio stars was groomed at Columbia with starring roles opposite Kim Novak, Doris Day, and Judy Holiday. On loanout to WB Lemmon won his first Oscar for John Ford's Mr. Roberts. Then followed a string of box office smash hits that brought Lemmon to the pinacle of stardom: Billy Wilder's masterpiece Some Like It Hot, followed byanother Wilder masterwork The Apartment. After his successes in Comedy little prepared us for the scorching performance Lemmon delivers in Blake Edwards solid treatment of alcoholism in Days Of Wine And Roses. Lemmon lost out that year to Greg Peck as Best Actor ( the award rightfully should have gone to Peter O Toole for his legendary Lawrence of Arabia). Imagine a year when so much great acting was on screen! Lee Remick is brilliant in a role turned down by Kim Novak.Remick was nominated but lost out to Anne Bancroft.That was the Bette Davis swore she had the Oscar in the bag but Joan Crawford campaigned against her. I would have voted for Kate Hepburn in Long Day's Journey Into Night.

  • Um filme para refletir

    • Daniele
    • 10/31/10

    Este filme uma das obras primas dirigidas por Blake Edwards e que trata de forma cruel e chocante o drama do alcoolismo e como o lcool pode destruir a vida de um casal. Um classico.

  • Wow! Great Film..

    • Lather
    • 5/16/10

    I saw this film as a Child around 13 years old.. Now at 40 to see it again.. What a film.. It affected me as a kid and again as an adult.. So dark and so sad..as close to true addiction on film as possible. A MUST SEE!! Lemon is GREAT as ALWAYS.. This film and lost weekend fit together so great if your looking for a sobering double feature weekend!

  • Ray Milland, You've Got Company

    • Dave Lucas
    • 5/16/10

    Drug dependency and alcoholism have provided many memorable screen dramas, "The Lost Weekend" being the best example. In 1962's "Days of Wine and Roses," Blake Edwards (best known for comedies) helms an adaptation of a TV drama written by JP Miller, who adapted his own teleplay for the big screen. Jack Lemmon, whose Jalem Productions company co-produced with Martin Manulis (of TV's "Dobie Gillis") plays the role originated by Cliff Robertson, that of Joe Clay, a San Francisco public relations agent with a drinking problem. After meeting teetotaler Lee Remick, he drags her down the drain with him as the two of them sink deeper and deeper into addiction. Lemmon and Remick both got Oscar nominations, but Lemmon goes a bit over the top in the heavy-duty dramatic turns (i.e., trashing his father-in-law's greenhouse in a drunken stupor, his scenes in detox). The rest of the cast is solid, and the film ends with no happy resolution, as Remick is reluctant to give up drinking and Lemmon unable to take her back unless she does. Overall, a good film, but slightly dated and a bit simplistic.

  • A Powerful Drama

    • Elder Guru
    • 3/16/10

    What else can be said, Jack Lemmon and Lee Remick wuzrobbed! However, the Academy made up for the blunder byrewarding Jack with his second oscar for "Save The Tiger"which, in my opinion, was so-so. Alcoholism should beconsidered the most harmful drug addiction on the face ofthis earth! TCM, give this movie more than just one showing.

  • This Film Hits Home

    • Minky
    • 11/3/09

    In my own family there was alcoholism. I had an aunt and uncle (he worked for a beer distributor) which made it easy to obtain alcohol. The early days were happy days but everything went down hill quickly. My aunt eventually became mentally unbalanced. The marriage lasted until my aunt died but it was an extremely unhappy one as far as marriages go. others in my family died because of alcoholism. This film is as close to reality as one can get.

  • Days of Wine and Roses (1962)

    • Jay
    • 7/6/09

    Very Powerful drama, brilliantly acted by Jack Lemmon and Lee Remick - in her best performance ever. Believable told and very professionally done. The score is excellent, good cinematography. An amazing film that is very memorable.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.