skip navigation
Gypsy

Gypsy(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gypsy A domineering mother pushes... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Glamorous and Compelling

    • Jennifer
    • 4/3/14

    Natalie Wood sparkles in this poignant and entertaining film on the life of Gypsy Rose Lee, the most famous stripper of all time. Much more than the story of a stripper, this movie is the ultimate stage mother saga. Rosalind Russell turns in one of her most powerful performances as Mama Rose, a would be entertainer who lives vicariously through first one daughter vaudeville sensation "Dainty June" and then Louise, who seems completely without talent until she steps onto a burlesque star. Karl Malden delivers a compelling performance as Rose's long suffering boyfriend who is also the girls' manager. The most memorable parts of the film are the musical numbers composed by the incomparable Stephen Sondheim. Jennifer Leigh WellsAuthor of "Rebecca: The Making of a Hollywood Classic"

  • Roz and Natalie Light the Lights in Gypsy!

    • Lynn
    • 12/17/11

    Fabulous musical with outstanding performances by Rosalind Russell as Mama Rose and Natalie Wood as Gypsy Rose Lee. A great supporting cast, music by Jule Styne and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim add to make this film a moving winner.

  • Roz Russell Great

    • David Atkins
    • 2/27/11

    Roz Russell was a big movie star and when WB cast the film instead of assigning the role to Broadway star Ethel MermanJack Warner went with Roz Russell. Musicals had a hard time overseas and WB need the box office pro Ms. Russell. Ms. Merman like her friend Mary Martin simply did not make the transition from Broadway to Film. (Ms Russell herself was quoted as saying Merman should have had the role). No one could belt a tune like Ethel Merman and her Broadway performance is of legend, but WB needed a star to open the film particularly overseas, and found one in Roz Russell who does a very fine job as Mama Rose, perhaps a bit too ladylike but fine just the same. WB star Natalie Wood also stars and Mervyn LeRoy who had a body of work from Chain Gang to Mary Mary at WB directs.

  • Roz Russell shines as Mama Rose!

    • nlumiere
    • 5/9/10

    This is the best filmed adaptation of one of the greatest Broadway musicals. Rosiland Russell (despite having her singing dubbed by Lisa Kirk) delivers the goods as Mama Rose, and how! She gives a great performance, and the rest of the cast ably assists her. The musical direction is excellent, and Mervyn LeRoy directs with energy and assurance, giving us a wonderful entertainment. Five stars!

  • Gypsy

    • Fredella
    • 2/11/10

    This movie is important to me because it reminds me of when my sisters and I were little and watched "Gypsy" for the first time. Our favorite part is the number performed by the 3 strippers. They are so adorable!!! My sisters and I would pretend we were performing the number. The film is top-rate from a professional standpoint, but from a personal place, it's more than a movie. It's the three of us still remember.

  • Natalie Wood At Her Finest!!!!

    • Marcia
    • 10/15/09

    Natalie Wood is superb in this film. All-Star cast. If you like musicals this is one of the best!!!!

  • If you've never seen GYPSY...

    • steve
    • 7/29/08

    This is a pretty good place to start. One of the scariest stories ever musicalized.Vibrant performances(wasn't Natalie Wood full of surprises!) and a great score richly served, though it's a shame we lose the hit song "Together Wherever We Go" - it's on the soundtrack recording.On the minus side, fabulous color and decor don't equal great camera or editing(during 'Rose's Turn', Roz turns to laser-zap us and the director can't just let it be - cut to an unnecessary closeup, Damn!) also the screenplay has P.O.V. problems (Herbie doesn't come from showbiz - Uncle Jocko was someone else; also Rose has two brief narrative voiceovers, then it vanishes for the remainder -- who's telling this story anyway? It's really about Louise,the title role)...But a HUGE plus: we get the irreplaceable Faith Dane reprising her Broadway role as Miss Mazeppa - the real thing!! Enjoy the movie but try to see a good live production,even without Miss Dane.

  • Awesome!

    • Brian F.
    • 7/26/08

    This is not only a movie musical about the history of entertainment but an historical piece itself! The combination of this incredibly talented cast, superb screenplay and score, direction, costumes, arrangments, choreography, scenery, color photography and so much more: movies have never again be filmed like this; so true to the original B'way smash! Watching this great film is like sitting in a front row seat in a N.Y theatre! It's exciting, entertaining, heartfelt and simply...DAZZLING! Thank you TCM!!!

  • this a reminder of our movie

    • mary
    • 6/1/08

    This movie is awesome and I'm glad that I'm and my Mom can't wait to see Gypsy again and that can't be remembering this again for notices that can be shown for new people and new musical lovers it was great seeing the changes of Natalie Wood in a new musical transformation.

  • Thats Entertainment

    • Joel
    • 5/26/08

    One of the better Broadway to Hollywood transfers. Contrary to all the moaning about Merman being passed over, Roz was great and had the face for the screen. Natalie Wood takes off in the last 40 minutes of the film.

  • Wrong bio on the movie.

    • Anthony Giudice
    • 12/26/06

    The story is of a mother who pushes who one daughter into becoming an actress and the other daughter into burlesque.

  • And What a Turn It Is!

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/7/06

    An excellent filmization of the stage musical with great numbers (that play better than on the stage) and odd conceits (tell ME they didn't intend for train station to look as if it was anything BUT a set). Dainty/Baby June numbers are perfect and Wood's emergence as a stripper is thrillingly executed.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.