skip navigation
The Voice of the Turtle

The Voice of the Turtle(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Voice of the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Classically fun romance

    • deHart
    • 8/10/13

    The first time I saw this was on television when I was about 16. It seemed a bit silly at the time but I just loved every minute of it - great cast at their best. I've only seen it twice since then and keep hoping it will come out on DVD and be shown more frequently on TCM. It would be great to hear what Robert Osborne has to say about it.

  • Voice of the Turtle (One for the Books)

    • J
    • 8/28/11

    This movie is wonderful ...I wish tcm would bring this one out on DVD!

  • The Voice of the Turtle

    • Annie
    • 5/8/10

    I keep checking back to see if this movie is currently scheduled. It's a fun and sweet romantic story that I wish I could add to my collection of classic movies. Ronald Reagan and Eleanor Parker have such great chemistry and I really enjoy the simplicity and character of this film. Please release this video on DVD!

  • The Voice of the Turtle (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/2/10

    Wonderful classic comedy, it is one of Eve Arden's best roles and performances. The performances are fine from everyone. A light and amusing story, good score.

  • A FEEL GOOD MOVIE for all!

    • Vina
    • 10/1/09

    There are no words to describe it, really, except that is a movie that can make your day special or happy. It's a simple story about love, life and even friendship. If you're a fan of Ronald Reagan as an actor, then you're gonna love him here! And Eleanor Parker, oh, what loveliness! Eve Arden's comical remarks are simply marvelous, too!

  • Ronald Reagan month without one of his best?

    • James Duncan
    • 3/6/09

    The Voice of the Turtle is a winning film that not only features Eleanor Parker at her most vulnerable and appealing, but showcases Ronald Reagan's charm and humor perhaps better than any other film -- even King's Row, great as he is in that! The script, from a Broadway success, is good, the support (notably Eve Arden and Wayne Morris) is top-notch, and the wartime NYC setting is classic. I love the old term "marketing" that Eleanor Parker uses when she goes out to fetch groceries for her unexpected guest.I never voted for Reagan as a political candidate -- never could -- but I love him in this film and I'm deeply disappointed that it's been left off the roster for his tribute month.

  • We need more Eve!!

    • Suzanne
    • 4/5/08

    I could watch this movie over and over. This is a 'good feeling' movie. Eve Arden's wise cracking, looking directly into the camera and the scene with her trying all the hats! I love Eleanor Parker in anything she does but she's really funny here, I love how she keeps making all the glasses have just the same amount of milk, juice...reminds me of my sister when she was young. Ronald Reagan is a personal hero and of all his roles that I've seen, this is my favorite. Maybe because it's all on the light side even though in the background is WW2. I love him in the kitchen munching that carrot while whipping up those eggs. And of course quoting the passage that the title comes from and Parker's reation to it; "Turtles don't have voices!" We need this on DVD, ASAP!

  • SUPERB EVE ARDEN!!

    • liz
    • 8/26/07

    This is a wonderful, heartwarming movie. All the actors are great but Eve Arden, with her comical comments and glances is really magnificent! I really wish this was available on DVD. It is a movie I could watch over and over again. Thank God for TCM so that we get to see so many quality films uncut and commercial free. TCM makes life a lot sweeter!!

  • Great Movie!!

    • Silvia
    • 8/25/07

    Best movie Ever. This is the type of movie you want to watch in the dead of winter with a fire and covered up in a blanket with a cup of hot coco. It makes you feel all warm inside.

  • GREAT MOVIE!

    • Stan
    • 3/16/07

    Nothing fancy here; just a simple little movie that is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. Ronald Reagan is in one of his finest role.

  • Great Romance Movie!

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 3/13/07

    You can curl up on a nice rainy cold day on your couch and watch this movie, its great! I love the story line, Eleanor, Eve, Ronald, excellent!Why is this not on DVD?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.