skip navigation
The Great Escape

The Great Escape(1963)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Escape Thrown together by the... MORE > $7.46 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "The Great Escape"

    • Mobile
    • 5/28/18

    It is Memorial Day Monday 2018 . . . this superb cinematic classic is set to begin once again happily in two hours and thirty minutes. The powerfully dramatic aerial opening scene's perspective is greatly enhanced and embolden by the well-crafted score of Elmer Bernstein (composer of the wonderful score fifteen years later in the comedy gem "Animal House") and emphasizes the solemn delivery of over three hundred Allied officers to the Nazi's "perfect" prisoner-of-war camp in 1943. What unfolds for the next two hours and fifty minutes is the most tension-filled activity as these confined heroes devise and dig three tunnels to escape from their environs and further "harass, confound and confuse the enemy" as it is "the sworn duty" of captured officers to do so! Having seen this epic World War II story since its original theatrical release in 1963 at the Main Post Theater with my Father, a retired Lieutenant Colonel who served during the "Battle of the Bulge" in December 1944 as the forward observer for the artillery battalion in support of General George S. Patton and his United States Third Army as it advanced to intercept, crush and thrust back the Nazi's last, desperate assault on our freedom and liberty, I cannot but thank the Infinite for my parents and their generation for having the fortitude and dedication to thwart Evil at every turn!

  • The Greatest

    • Mobile
    • 5/18/18

    Do not miss this movie.

  • "The Great Escape"

    • Mobile
    • 5/18/18

    Having re-read my initial review about this A treatment of the heroic actions of the American and Allied officers imprisioned "for the duration," I feel even more strongly and with great fervor about the overwhelming dedication to duty and country of these men facing certain death . . . I was with my Father the opening weekend on this epic retelling at the Main Post Theater at Fort Bragg, North Carolina. My father was newly retired and attending The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill working towards his Ph.D. in Education while concurrently teaching English and Mathematics full time at the nearby High School. As I mentioned earlier in 2011, my Dad was the forward observer for the artillery battilion; therefore, he was with General Patton's attacking front lines of the U.S. Third Army. This action led to my Dad being shot by a Nazi in his K-rations. My Dad survived the activity, later awarded a Purple Heart and continued his duties with Patton's Third Army as they advanced into Germany. They freed many survivors dicovered at Nazi concentration camps as they went deeper into Germany. All of this and more is in one of my seven screenplays on my parents' life and the rest of the "The Greatest Generation."

  • The Great Escape on Criterion Collection DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 12/8/17

    Here's another World War II epic classic that deserves to be on Criterion Collection DVD. I like Steve McQueen, James Garner, Richard Attenborough, Donald Pleasence, James Coburn, Charles Bronson, and James Donald.

  • Great Escape = Great Movie

    • Movie Lady
    • 3/19/16

    I saw this movie for the first time at the drive-in with my parents when I was eight years old. I fell madly in love with, not Steve McQueen or James Garner or Charles Bronson, but with Richard Attenborough and became a confirmed Anglophile from that moment. I also loved the meticulous planning and organization of the escape and the brilliant ingenuity with which the prisoners solved the problems it presented. That admiration strikes me again every time I see it. The real men these characters represent were truly members of a great generation.

  • The Great Escape

    • Michael Whitty
    • 1/7/16

    The adventure and suspense of a World War II POW escape is given good stress of character and camerawork in "The Great Escape" a 1963 film depicting a true story from 1944 Germany. Steve McQueen and James Garner lead the American side and Richard Attenborough heads the British side. After the breakout Steve Mcqueen on a motorcycle is fun to see as he gives the Germans fits as he even jumps a fence. Filmed inside Germany the movie offers scenic backgrounds and an authentic atmosphere.

  • the great escape

    • kevin sellers
    • 12/17/14

    The title says it all. It's the ultimate go to the movies to forget your troubles by watching characters with greater troubles try to overcome them movie. Nothing deep or avant grade. Just a well told story with good characters. The auteurists hate it, of course, because it was not directed by Sam Fuller or Raoul Walsh, but I think we can rise above them, don't you? Give it a solid B.

  • The Great Escape

    • Goetan
    • 8/8/13

    The longest, most-expensive and entertaining POW films made. McQueen shines the most as an always-cool prisoner, as do Attenborough, Garner, Coburn and Bronson. Containing many elements of the sub-genre of POW films during WWII, Sturges direction is more original in the themes and every scene is a classic. The film is funny, gripping and awesome with a bittersweet ending. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • The Great Escape

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-3/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-3/5Score-4/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-3 1/2 out of 5

  • The Great Deseption

    • PETER
    • 7/22/12

    This movie was based on fact by filmed in fiction as there were no Americans who escaped from that time of the real incident.The rea lSteve MaQeen was a Canadian named Wally Floody ,who was the technical director for the movie. At least the escape technicality was right,but the rest of the film was pure Hollywood Fiction for the most part. And finally this is one movie that John Wayne didn't win..

  • The Great Escape

    • Ruth Buehler
    • 5/4/12

    One of my all time favorites. Also how Jill Ireland (then married to David McCallum) first met Charles Bronson.I always put it on, even though I've seen at least 20 times or more I cannot walk away.I think it set the standard for all other multi-star cast

  • The Great Escape

    • Mobile
    • 6/30/11

    A rousing interpretation of factual events, this well crafted depiction allows the the American and European cast to utilize an intense opening scene which then builds to ever increasing urgency as the American and Allied forces work to dig the escape tunnels while using multiple subterfuges to avoid detection by the Nazis. Steve McQueen, James Garner, Charle Bronson and James Coburn are excellent in their roles. My Father and I saw this movie on its initial showing and never missed an opportunity to view it the next thirty nine years. Dad survived being shot by a Nazi as Dad advanced with General Patton in his Third Army. My Father was awarded a Purple Heart after that action and Dad went on to compile a twenty year career and retire as a Lt. Colonel.

  • The Great Escape

    • Bill Robinsonr
    • 5/28/10

    I live for this week-end every year on TCM. The Great Escape's cast of characters is powerful. While McQueen (who is great) got top billing, I think James Garner actually stole this film with his charisma. Garner is always an even keel in any film he has done, but this one accentuates how reserved his nature airs on the side of believability. The cast is staggering, simply over the top where everyone was featured. James Coburn continued showing exactly how versatile he actually was. I give it ten stars.

  • THE GREAT ESCAPE (1963)

    • Jay
    • 7/7/09

    Tense and exciting prisoner of World War Ii thriller, and the cast is terrific - the main characters as well as the supporting cast. Engrossing, well made and very professionally done. Main flaw is it's a bit too long.

  • Strange listings

    • Brad Ewart
    • 2/7/09

    It seems strange that actors such as Steve McQueen and James Garner are listed only under Complete List of Characters. This is a great movie and I have seen it many times. When it first came out I was living in Guatemala. I saw it in English with Spanish subtitles. It is sad that some of the best characters get killed or recaptured in the end. C'est la guere.

  • Great Escape is Great Entertainment!

    • David W12
    • 3/29/08

    When you watch "The Great Escape" the following words take meaning:Grand!Wonderful!Great!This is a true classic motion picture. I own my own copy because TCM doesn't play it often enough. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is either dead or comotose. Period.I give it both hands up. This picture deserves more than a couple of thumbs.

  • THE COOLER KING

    • ST
    • 8/23/07

    THIS FILM IS ENTIRELY RICH IN CHARACTER WITH HOLLYWOODS BEST STARS OF THE 60S. A SERIOUS WAR MOVIE ABOUT CAPTIVES HELD IN POW CAMPS TO RETURN TO ENGLAND WITHOUT BEING DISCOVERED BY THE GERMANS. DO WATCH OUT FOR MCQUEEN IN A MOTORCYCLE CHASE.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.