skip navigation
The Magnificent Seven

The Magnificent Seven(1960)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Magnificent Seven Seven American gunmen hire themselves out to protect a... MORE > $16.99 Regularly $16.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Magnificent Seven ( 1960 )

    • Carmine Finamore
    • 7/1/13

    I was pushing 9 years old in 1960 when i begged my dad to take me to see this great film! Forever happy he did!

  • The Magnificent Seven

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/12/12

    A "Magnificent" western adaptation of Akira Kurosawa's "Seven Samurai." Brynner & McQueen are part of a group called upon to defend a boarder town against Wallach's vicious bandito. Oscar-nominated score & great action scenes that highlight this film, which, like Howard Hawks' "Rio Bravo," explores the relationship between numerous men. Classic & entertaining. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Great performances

    • John Jackman
    • 11/16/12

    I have watched the Seven Samurai many times and it is blueprint with some changes that make The Magnificent Seven Americanized.I enjoy both movies in a slightly different way. All the supporting characters in both movies contribute in a very significant way that is sublte but very effective. They allow the stars to grasp bigger lines and make them believable within the context of this kind of story.These movies show the good guys to be a little less than 100% good and the bad guys to be men who are as Calvera says in the same line of work. I like watching this movie and also watching the Good, the Bad and the Ugly triology movies and their couter parts Samurai movies. They all have unique pieces that make them great by themselves and when all put together they form a whole set of outstanding visions in a code/style of living that probably did not actually exist but is still neat to watch anytime.

  • Real men, but not one of them a real man

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/21/12

    "The Magificent Seven" (magnificent music!) is like Sturges' later film "The Great Escape" - a little too neat and tidy; but entertaining, with some depth and meaning. Neither touch his earlier "Bad Day at Black Rock." I agree with Michelle's 9/30/08 post, especially her love of Bronson's scene with the three boys when he chastises one of them for calling their fathers cowards. Bronson's Bernardo O'Reilly reacts by severely spanking the child, then exclaiming "Your fathers are not cowards! Your fathers are much braver cuz they carry responsibility ... I have never had this kind of courage." One of the greatest scenes in the history of cinema.

  • The Magnificent Seven

    • Charlotte
    • 4/28/12

    MAGNIFICENT music!!!

  • Loved It!

    • Paloma
    • 4/27/12

    Great movie! I don't usualy watch Westerns but this one got my attention from the beginning and I could't stop watching until the end!

  • The Mediocre Seven

    • Paul Salapatas
    • 4/26/12

    I think that Yul Brynner's acting is somewhat 'Chuck Norrisish' at best,while Steve McQueen just tries to steal scenes, and a few other stars act a little cheesy in this remake of a Japanese film.I think it could have been better with somewhat different casting. Knowing that some will disagree,I will stick to my guns and say this film does not live up to the starpower potential that this story deserves. It gets an ok from me.

  • magnificent seven

    • jerry day
    • 11/17/11

    best western ever

  • Magnificent Movie (correction)

    • Vinny Castellano
    • 7/11/11

    I need to make an important correction. Robert Vaughn, one of the Seven, is still alive (age 78). He went on to star in The Man from U.N.C.L.E., a secret agent/spy thriller in the mid 60s. Occasionally, he can be seen in some TV dramas (Law & Order - some time in the 90s). At 95, Eli Wallach is still going strong. He received a lifetime award at this year's Academy Awards. ... great stars (both living and deceased) in a terrific movie !

  • Magnificent Western

    • Vinny Castellano
    • 7/8/11

    The Magnificent Seven contains all the essential ingredients for a great western. Aging gunfighters with a checkered past go on a mercy mission to liberate a Mexican village from vicious outlaws. They are joined by a young rookie who idolizes them. From the opening scene with Elmer Bernstein's stirring theme song, the movie is filled with great action, classic standoffs, poignant scenes, and philosophical lines. Yul Brynner leads the group which includes some of the best character actors of their time. Steve McQueen, Charles Bronson, and James Coburn launched their great careers with this movie. Eli Wallach, the lone living star, is at his best as the vicious, yet colorful villain, Calvera. Each gunfighter joins the cause for a different reason, and each finds his own personal redemption. Brad Dexter is the mercenary who appears to be in it just for the money, albeit he's told it's only $20. However, in his last act, he makes the ultimate sacrifice to save his cornered comrades.The Magnificent Seven is my all-time favorite western. It's a great action western with flawed, yet sympathetic characters and a timeless message about redemption that raises it to the level of a classic.

  • CORRECTION...

    • Steve S.
    • 9/3/09

    Elmer Bernstein score vice L.

  • Magnificent - perhaps!

    • Steve S.
    • 9/3/09

    A good adaptation of it's Japanesee counter-part but "Horst Bucholtz & Brad Dexter" - c'mon - you could have done better?And why doesn't Yul take a shot at Eli w/ a shotgun, upon their first confrontation - I know why - end of movie!Good western nevertheless w/ a brillinat score by L. Bernstein.!

  • Manly men!

    • Michelle
    • 9/30/08

    Does anyone else strut like Yul Brynner?! I usually don't enjoy westerns but this is definitely an exception. My favorite scene when O'Reilly tells the children that real courage is their fathers willingness to shoulder the responsibility of a family. Great film.

  • Fabulous, fun movie!

    • Laura
    • 7/9/08

    One of the greatest westerns of all time. The cast contains some of the best actors ever at their prime of life and the start of their careers. The story line is of the greatness, courage, and decency that each man, from poor rural farmers to jaded gunslingers, can have inside him. The script takes time to flesh out each character so that you end up caring about each one, even the farmers. While Chris is the only one that volunteers out of compassion (all the others are broke or on the run since at this time, the West is becoming "civilized"), each of the seven ends up truly caring about the villagers, and thus their giving of their lives to protect the villagers underscores the eternal dichotomy of the Old West Gunslingers. Take time to watch this movie.

  • Best movie of all time

    • Graham
    • 9/28/07

    This is my favorite movie ,I love everthing about this movie ,the cast,the music,the director,EVERTHING!! It has some of the BEST lines in movie history,like when Brit is aiming at the escaping bandit and shoots him off his horse then Chico says "That was the greatest shot I have ever seen!" then Brit Turns and looks at him and says "I was aiming at the horse." Lines like this are what make this so enjoyible.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.