skip navigation
The Great Waltz

The Great Waltz(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Waltz Composer Johann Strauss risks... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Great Waltz (1938)

    • Robert S
    • 9/2/13

    Great, Great movie!!! I've seen it several times, never complete, but I was lucky to find a video copy in a store years ago, and enjoyed the full version. The story is beautiful and so enjoyable. Direction and photography are superb, and the scenes so wonderfully assembled... Actors and actresses so good, all of them. Louise Rainer deserves a special mention, for her performance in such a difficult role. But what no reviewer has noticed here is the caliber of Militza Korjus, both as an actress and as an opera singer. I would dare to say that she is the main character in the movie, she eclipses all the others, with her personality, her brilliance... and her superb voice -- Why is she mentioned as "supporting" actress? I wonder. She is the best coloratura soprano I have ever heard -- and I've heard many! Her vocal acrobatics, perfect pitch, and the emotion embedded in her voice are nothing less than astounding. One scene that is particularly amazing is when she is singing while dancing with Johann Strauss. I wonder if it was recorded in one step, or separately the dancing and the singing. In the movie, it seems that really, she was singing while dancing--which is an incredible feat. I'd love to see this movie available in DVD, with details of its history and production added as a bonus feature.

  • Great Waltz

    • DFS
    • 7/23/11

    This is a wonderful movie. Great story, great music, great cinematography - a great waltz! Thanks for airing it.

  • The Great Waltz

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ****

  • The Great Waltz

    • Mary
    • 2/18/11

    Everytime I see that this movie is playing, I watch it. I have seen it many times and I hope one day TCM will offer it to the public to buy. I would like to add it to my collection. Thank you for the great old time movies.

  • the great waltz

    • karen anthony
    • 2/2/11

    what a wonderful movie. I would love to have a copy in my dvd collection. To have such a beautiful movie as well as autobiographical is worth having. I hope you will make it available to your viewers. thank you

  • The Great Waltz 1938

    • MAB
    • 8/18/10

    This movie was fantastic. The love story departs from the real life of Johann Strauss; but the producers acknowledge that fact at the introduction. No matter, Strauss' artistic skill and legacy of music are showcased while the story provides an endearing framework. The movie is exceptional & highly entertaining. The cast, songs, orchestral arrangements, music selections, costumes and scenery are exceptional. I loved all of it and will continue to view it whenever possible. It's very enjoyable to listen to the excellent singing and the Strauss waltzes.

  • The Great Waltz

    • RJL
    • 5/9/10

    The happiest film I have ever experienced.

  • Thanks for the memory

    • Ms. Carolyn Eigel
    • 1/15/10

    The Great Waltz reminded me of somethingpositive my father did for me when I was a young girl. About that summer, I was taking piano lessons in St. Louis. TheGreat Waltz (The Municipal Opera edition)was appearing that summer. Dad told me that if I learned to play that piece(a simplified edition), he would take meto see that production. I did and he did. Thanks for the reminder. It helps me get through life if I can pull up positive stuff that someone (especiallyparents have tried to do for me or my brother. It helps the gratitude quotient.

  • First movie

    • Don Peterson
    • 12/3/09

    This was the first movie my future bride and I went to see together. We had dreams in our hearts and the music of Johann Strauss enriched those dreams so I have never forgotten them.I had just been discharged from the Navy in 1946, WWII, and met this wonderful woman, also a beautiful singer. The singing by Miliza Korjus and the songs chosen for her to sing were especially meaningful, even to this day. We have been married 61 years this year and both of us remember this film with warm pleasure.I tried to record the TCM presentation, but the recording failed as the recorder had become defective. We are still watching to see if it is presented again, for our great pleasure.

  • This Musical Movie on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 11/22/09

    I would like to have this movie on DVD. I like Luise Rainer. Besides, this film did win an Academy Award for best cinematography

  • dubbed voice for male singer

    • Ethel Mathey
    • 2/10/09

    Whose voice was dubbed for the male operatic singer?

  • FABULOUS, SIMLPY FABULOUS!!!!

    • Julia Pryor
    • 2/4/09

    I AGREE WITH THE PEVIOUS COMMENTS, IT IS A FABULOUS MOVIE. I JUST WATCHED IT AGAIN. PLEASE, PLEASE PUT IT ON DVD SOON. THANKS TCM.

  • Miliza Korjus in The Great Waltz

    • Hope Hamilton
    • 8/26/08

    Singer Miliza Korjus is incredibly fabulous in this movie, though she is not well know to current audiences. Why is it not available on DVD? Opera lovers will buy this readily. Please be sure to include subtitles and/or captions when you do eventually put it on DVD. Whenever it is available on DVD you will increase sales greatly if you notify opera companies all over the world. Thank you.

  • a magnificent movie

    • Stuart Williams
    • 7/10/08

    Have seen it so often I can;t count the times. Love it each time, music and camera work is fantastic. Please put it on dvd.

  • I love Viennese waltzes

    • Alex
    • 2/13/08

    I first saw this movie in Victoria BC Canada in 1939 when I was 15 years old. It was my introduction to Viennese waltzes and Johann Struass's music. I loved it and I have loved Viennese waltzes ever since.

  • Miliza korjus

    • seidy
    • 1/17/08

    Miliza Korjus was born in Poland, but she was estonian not russian.

  • Great Movie

    • Jennine Neault
    • 11/24/07

    I first saw this movie in 1950, again in 1960, 1970, 1980 and again 2007. Love the picture,the costumes, the photography but most of all the music of Johann Strauss. I have a CD of his music in my car. I wish I could buy this movie on DVD. Thank you for showing it.

  • The Great Waltz

    • Kean
    • 11/20/07

    An enjoyable and wonderful movie to watch! Never seen the movie before and enjoyed watching every minute of it. I enjoy listening to classical music and this movie increased my desire to learn more about Strauss. The gun did have me wondering who would get shot. I am just glad it didn't happen.

  • The Great Waltz

    • D. Landskroener
    • 11/20/07

    Strauss has always been my favorite composer but this movie just inspired my heart with more love for his music. It was the first time I had seen the movie and I have to rate it as one of the best classical musicals ever done!! Thanks TCM for showing it.

  • Wonderful Music

    • C Cruz
    • 11/20/07

    I have seen this movie on various occassions over the years and everytime I remain fixated on its wonderful music, the production with the costumes of that era place you in the europe of that time and transfixes you with Strauss's beautiful waltz's

  • The Great Walts

    • C Amato
    • 5/1/07

    Wonderful movie, story, music, costumes. The Polish singer Korjus has an amazing range.I would like to buy this movie, and pass it to my Granddaughter who is currently studying opera. When will this be available for purchase?

  • Magical film

    • gloria
    • 10/7/06

    I saw THE GREAT WALTZ when I was a child, and I fell in love with Vienna and Johann Strauss'beautiful music. I dreamed of visiting this magical place one day, but have yet to realize my dream. I content myself in reliving my fantasy every time I've had the good fortune of seeing this film, but most of all it reminds me of my beloved dad who taught me to appreciate classical music and especially violin music. He played this instrument. gb

  • great music - good ol classic

    • diane schoepf
    • 6/22/06

    Just visited Vienna and remembered this movie from years ago watching with my Mom. Enchanting actors and music. Sorry I can't find a copy.

  • Gotta Love It

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/7/06

    Just to think of it makes me smile. MGM's great big bio-musical with overblown scenes and situations played out against extravagently detailed monster sets Oscar-winningly photographed. There are thousands of extras, lavish costumes, great music, and a glamourous bovine soprano waltzing and shrieking. What's not to like? My kind of movie.

  • Miliza Korjus

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 2/17/06

    Miliza Korjus name may not be a famous name. But she is absolutely effervescent in The Great Waltz. She lights up the screen. No wonder she got an Oscar nomination.

  • Luise Rainer...

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/13/06

    The great Luise Rainer elevates this Hollywood bio fantasy. Her humanity is evident in all of her scenes.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.